Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Sun Oct 26, 2014 7:57 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Camera problem
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:00 pm
Posts: 1
The camera on my 101 g9 Turbo seems to be working. It seems however that after a minute or so of video chat (either gtalk or Skype) the image freezes. Any app trying to access the camera from that point fails to connect to it. Restarting the tablet reenables the camera but it suffers the same problem again. Has anyone got a fix for this one?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 1:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 1:02 pm
Posts: 1
Same issue here (non turbo). Even find that when I open the camera app it doesn't work.

need some urgent help as this is an Xmas present for someone!


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:03 pm
Posts: 5
same issue here too...camera doesn't respond anymore even after a reset, tried all kinda video conferencing software. Seems to me the last firmware issue. anybody how it can be solved.
101 G9 non turbo


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 3:55 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:33 pm
Posts: 64
been trying to read barcodes but the camera refused to cooperate. looks like the driver probably still needs work. The 101 seems to reboot a lot too. still it is a nice bit of kit and icecream sandwich will only make it better.

Already missing root can't use titanium backup without it.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 8:24 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:03 pm
Posts: 5
@bknight: so you sure it's purely a software glitch which gets solved with coming firmware update? Otherwise I am going to send it for a replacement, any advice!! Should I wait for an update from archos?
I wonder why they put a product on the market or at least a new firmware without looking at it's weaknesses. I have checked every video conferencing software and nothing works and after their usage the tablet needs a hard reset to get the camera working again.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 8:52 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:33 pm
Posts: 64
just updated firmware to 3.2.78 released 19th of December.
and the barcode app which couldnt get the camera working now works.
the firmware i did have was 3.2.56 from 14th of October
there has been 7 updates since September the original release date.

http://update.archos.com/9/gen9/changes ... d_gen9.htm

It would be nice if everything worked perfectly on the first release but it never does look at the update history for xp for example with 3 service packs over its life plus countless patches. It is just the way it works with software.

Try the latest firmware and see if it helps your issue. If it doesn't let archos know and hopefully they will find a fix for it, also get in touch with the app developer, it may be an issue with the app as much as the os.

Archos should be concerned about your issue and they will work to fix it, they have a lot invested in the g9 devices.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 9:02 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:03 pm
Posts: 5
thaks for the advice. I bought my archos two days back, and during its first start-up, the latest firmware was installed. So i have 3.2.78 on my device. Would you please confirm if video conferencing is working on your device with this latest firmware?
I would be giving this to someone as a present within few days so i'm trying to get this sorted out without sending it back to archos, otherwise it would take long before it's in my hands again.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 9:26 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:33 pm
Posts: 64
what software are you using? i can install it and give it a try


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 9:31 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:33 pm
Posts: 64
just getting skype update 13th december will try it out


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:03 pm
Posts: 5
ive tried skype, gtalk and fring, nothing works, at least for me. Only thing which does work is the voice.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:38 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:33 pm
Posts: 64
Seems to work here admittedly i was talking to my g/f about 4 foot away with the 13th/12/11 version of skype rather annoyingly it insists on running on boot up and being signed out but skype still running i could do without.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:46 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:03 pm
Posts: 5
returned my archos and got another 80 version yet with another issue with the screen "known ripple issue". For me it's end of the road with archos, wud wait until products are reliable enough.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:11 pm
Posts: 3
I bought my Archos 80 on Amazon on Dec, 3 2011.
I started the camera application and saw only the black screen with the menus to the right of it.
Then, several seconds later, I got the message: "Sorry, Activity camcorder (in application Camera) is not responding. Force close / Wait". Nothing worked.
I rebooted the device, but it didn't help.
I updated the firmware to the latest version, but nothing happened.
No camera itself, neither applications like Skype and etc. which use camera, don't work :((

I wrote to the Archos Support, they ask "write your zip code", "write your phone number", then again "write your zipcode", then "send us yout proof of purchase"..... Seems like they are eating up the clock and don't want to help! I started writing them on Jan, 2, and still have no advices what to do. :(


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:16 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:11 pm
Posts: 3
Well, today is a happy day!

The Archos Support told me how to solve the problem with the Camera!

Here is the quote:
Quote:
Turn off the device and wait 10 seconds.
Press and hold the volume + button while powering on the device.
Keep the volume + pressed until the Recovery mode starts (white screen).
To move from one option to another, use the volume buttons. To select an option, press the ON/OFF button.

Try the following option:
Repair System: Attempts to repair the file structure on the internal memory.
This does not erase any data.

If that does not correct the issue try:
Format: Formats the device completely.
(This option was called Full Reinitialization on older generation products)


Now the Camera works and Skype video calling works too!

Thank you so much, ARCHOS Support team!


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:16 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 1019
Tatiana_G wrote:
Well, today is a happy day!

The Archos Support told me how to solve the problem with the Camera!

Here is the quote:
Quote:
Turn off the device and wait 10 seconds.
Press and hold the volume + button while powering on the device.
Keep the volume + pressed until the Recovery mode starts (white screen).
To move from one option to another, use the volume buttons. To select an option, press the ON/OFF button.

Try the following option:
Repair System: Attempts to repair the file structure on the internal memory.
This does not erase any data.

If that does not correct the issue try:
Format: Formats the device completely.
(This option was called Full Reinitialization on older generation products)


Now the Camera works and Skype video calling works too!

Thank you so much, ARCHOS Support team!

And how did the camera come to life again? Did you read out the Archos message to your device? (kidding), or did you follow one of the two suggestions? If so, which one, the first or the second?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:15 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:11 pm
Posts: 3
Following only the 1st suggestion was enough :)


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Camera problem
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:21 pm
Posts: 2
@Jamie41 Thanks for that, I tried it and it worked for one picture so I went in to try another picture and it said "Can't connect to camera".
So after that I tried it again, to no avail.
It never worked the second time...
Please help me.
Thanks,
Austin.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™