Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 9:40 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:31 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 1903
Location: Nomad
So I decided to give this a teardown. First, I must say that I am impressed with the build quality of this device. This thing was not exactly the easiest in the world to take apart. The internals are all very solid, but there are surprisingly few "guts" inside this thing.

All images posted here will be smaller in size, but you can click the image to be taken to a larger image

First we'll start out with some software screenshots.


Product key is blanked out (sorry folks, not showing you that)
Image

Quadrant Info
Image

SetCPU CPU Info
Image

SetCPU RAM Info
Image

HARDWARE INSIDES!

Full System
Image

Back Plate
Image

Back of the screen
Image

Image

Image

Screen Model?
Image

Image

Back USB Port
Image

Back Board
Image

Power Button (I like the new power button setup)
Image

Power Button in place
Image

Webcam
Image

Speaker
Image

Antenna
Image

Volume Rocker (Notice that it is screwed in so it holds in place very well)
Image

Metal Plate off the front of the board
Image

Back of the board (plate off)
Image

Close-up of RAM
Image

Back of board components
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

(Posting this over at XDA also)

_________________
Oppo N1 | Nexus 10 | OUYA | HTC M8


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
Oh thank you Harfainx!
You have been holding out on us.

Great pics!

Now where is Charbax with those vids? :badgrin:

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Staff
Archos Staff

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:06 pm
Posts: 123
Location: Denver, CO
I hope you can put it back together. =D>


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:25 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 1903
Location: Nomad
Craig@ARCHOS wrote:
I hope you can put it back together. =D>


Everything just pops back together! All I had to do was reconnect a few cables. The hooks on this thing are very strong, and the outer frame is amazingly well-built.

My son is currently watching "Horton Hears a Who!" in 1080p on it. Popped it all back together and fired it up without any problems.

_________________
Oppo N1 | Nexus 10 | OUYA | HTC M8


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:40 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 9:23 am
Posts: 26
Very interesting pictures , thank you very much for sharing them with us :)
Now when i can get my 1.5 turbo also ? :?:


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:26 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:05 pm
Posts: 1
Great pics and teardown!
Is that an extra slot next to the RAM? Could it be that 1GB ram will be available in the future tablets?
Hmmmmmm :roll:


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:49 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 7:12 am
Posts: 130
i think the 1gb ram rumor has been confirmed. too bad the board couldn't have been designed so that creative souls could do their own memory upgrade.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 8:30 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 62
Location: The Netherlands, Bussum
Nice! Build quality also looks pretty good. How difficult was it to get it apart? Any tricks involved?

_________________
G9 A101/8GB 1.5GHz 1GB, ICS 4.0.25


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 9:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:42 am
Posts: 22
Great job Harfainx!

Some notes, though. The DRAM memory chip is actually the large Elpida chip in the middle of the board. The chip in the upper area must be the flash memory. See this teardown for a similar usage of the Elpida memory chip: http://www.chipworks.com/en/technical-c ... a-droid-3/

But where is the CPU? Well, after reading the above link, it seems that the OMAP4 processor is actually stacked underneath the Elpida memory chip (!)

So, definitely, no custom memory upgrades for this kind of systems :)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:38 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:36 am
Posts: 344
Location: Gaithersburg, MD, USA
So I'm wondering... where would the hard drive be in these devices?

_________________
G9 101 250gb 1.5ghz/1gb
A5IT500gb


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:06 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:35 am
Posts: 12
How do I get it open?

I do not think Archos will reply to my request of service at their cost so I think I will have to fix them myself.
I do not want to break anything while trying to open it. I have only found one obvious screw under the stand, are there more hidden away?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:18 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:19 pm
Posts: 98
Location: England
There are 4 rubber feet on the back. Prise these off (I prised mine off with a fingernail) and you will find a screw underneath each one.

_________________
A101 G9 16Gb Turbo|An 10 G2


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:29 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:05 am
Posts: 242
Location: U.S.A.
Your pics show 2 antennas, but you did not seem to backtrack as to which is used for Wifi or GPS. Some tablets have 2 for Wifi and another for GPS.

As far as I'm concerned the GPS on ALL Archos G9's is pretty much worthless (takes minutes compared to under 5 second for my LG Android smartphone). There are others that have had even worse problems (think with the metal casing on the orginall Asus tablet) that have found that just connecting a wire to the GPS antenna point brought outside the device made a huge improvement. Same for adding a wire brought outside the case for Wifi. So, I wonder if doing something like that could help on these Archos G9 devices?

Also, it would have been nice if you had flipped over the batteries so you could tell us just what the Amp or MilliAmp Hour ratings of the batteries really are?

_________________
Archos 101 G9 8G classic (512M RAM)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 9:37 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:10 pm
Posts: 4
Very old thread, but this guys seems to know his stuff!.

I have a problem with my Archos 101 G9 8gb Turbo. I can not get the wifi or Bluetooth to turn on... looks like the hardware is faulty! Any solution? I have tried to format it and re-fresh the firmware, have tried custom rooted roms and stock roms even tried to downgrade to 3.8 which worked as far as the software but the hardware was still the same. Thought it might be incompatible software guess not!

I have opened up the unit, checked the wiring can not see any issues? Can not see anything relating to wireless apart from the black and white wires linked to the metal antennas.

Can anyone help?

Hope someone out there is technical in the gadgets!


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™