Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:25 am

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:12 am 
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

It was suggested that I repost this to the general G9 forum since all G9 are set up the same way.

I'll try to be as brief as possible but I'm new to Android and this took me about 3 days to get this far.

Archos 101 G9 Turbo
Android 4.0 ICS
32 GB SDHC memory card

It started with the internal memory filling pretty quickly as I used the tablet. Turns out that the Camera app is storing my pictures and videos to the tablet's internal memory, not my SD card.

I've read that there should be an option in the Camera app that lets to configure whether it stores to internal memory or the SD card. This Camera app has no such option. It insists on storing to the rapidly depleting internal memory.

I've learned that the Camera app is storing pictures and videos to the tablet location /sdcard, which sure sounds like it should be the SD card. It's not. For some reason on this tablet, /sdcard really points to the internal memory so the pictures are ending up in /sdcard/dcim while the real SD card remains empty.

My guess, for whatever reason, Archos has decided to emulate an SD card within the internal memory, probably so the user doesn't need a physical SD card to use the various apps. Perhaps it also allowed Archos to not include a SD card in the box, saving them a couple of bucks.

Note that /mnt/storage and /mnt/data also points to the same emulated fake sd card.

So where is the real SD card in the file system? It turns out to be here: /mnt/sdcard which apparently no app uses. Looking there, I can see the test files I put there using a Windows card reader.

Ok, now the question. How can I undo this? How can I get the Camera to use the real SD card? Whatever file path Camera is using is not pointing to the real SD card.