Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Wed Nov 20, 2019 11:38 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 129 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 57 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:14 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:49 pm
Posts: 81
Version 4.0.7 - June 19th, 2012

Applications: fix no audio when launching video capture impacting applications like Skype
Display: graphics performance enhancements
Hard drive based products: avoid potential loss of hard drive when 3G USB port is switched on with no peripheral attached
Wi-Fi: fix some more disconnect cases happening on some access points

Download: Download Archos 80/101 G9 OS v 4.0.7 (190674Kb)

_________________
Visit my thread http://goo.gl/pR9Ig


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:44 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:49 pm
Posts: 81
Some personal notes...

Just did full format now testing 4.0.7...results soon

seems like..home screen scrolling is smooth
Webpage scrolling...seems must smoother! People should test and see
Wifi is...good
Tabs on google chrome...easier to close (no weird touchscreen issue)


Stock OMAP4460 - 1.5ghz
Quadrant test 1 - 2476
Quadrant test 2 - 2533

_________________
Visit my thread http://goo.gl/pR9Ig


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:57 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:36 pm
Posts: 407
That's all?
Yeah that's all. Stop screaming, get your stuff and go back to work.

(From David Guetta - Love is Gone)

Anyways - thanks, Archos.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:50 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 2:47 am
Posts: 24
Done the upgrade a couple of minutes ago, went smoothly. 1st impression, browser is faster loading pages and scrolling... Way much faster... Just me or anyone else notices this?


And thanks Archos!!! Hope that we still receive ICS 4.0.4 or even 4.0.5 in the next months ;) Before Jelly arrives...


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:03 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 10:59 pm
Posts: 65
just instaled and for the first time i can say...
the best firmware ever!!!! yeah they did it yahoo check this out =D> =D> =D> =D> =D>
Image
all of these web-pages and no slowdowns or delays just awesome
no wifi problems so far :D :D :D :D :D :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:20 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:12 pm
Posts: 56
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Just tried the update from 4.0.6 to 4.0.7

Download went OK, but when I told it to install, I got a prompt to connect a USB cable ?! :?

So I connected the cable, it said something about a checksum and then I got :
Unfortunately, firmware update has stopped

Now what ?
This is on a brand-new G9 80 upgraded on-line (without a cable) to 4.0.6 a couple of days ago ..

EDIT: where does it keep the .aos file that was downloaded ??

_________________
A80G9Turbo 1.5GHz - 1GB RAM - 16GB


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:17 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:49 pm
Posts: 81
Goner wrote:
Just tried the update from 4.0.6 to 4.0.7

Download went OK, but when I told it to install, I got a prompt to connect a USB cable ?! :?

So I connected the cable, it said something about a checksum and then I got :
Unfortunately, firmware update has stopped

Now what ?
This is on a brand-new G9 80 upgraded on-line (without a cable) to 4.0.6 a couple of days ago ..

EDIT: where does it keep the .aos file that was downloaded ??


Just download it from their website, go into recovery, update firmware there

_________________
Visit my thread http://goo.gl/pR9Ig


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:55 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:12 pm
Posts: 56
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
sper56 wrote:
go into recovery, update firmware there

Where is 'recovery' ??

I now followed the How to install a firmware. instructions ...
Downloaded firmware on my PC, attached Archos by USB cable, copied over the firmware file. From there the instructions are useless ; while the cable was still attached, the Archos detected the file and asked to upgrade. So - as instructed - I detached the cable ... tablet then instructs to connect the cable !!
Anyway, the upgrade started this time (optimizing appllication .. of 53) and I'm now on 4.0.7
I hope the next upgrade will go as smoothly as 4.0.6 (from Android 3.2 to 4.0.3)

_________________
A80G9Turbo 1.5GHz - 1GB RAM - 16GB


Last edited by Goner on Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:58 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:49 pm
Posts: 81
Goner wrote:
sper56 wrote:
go into recovery, update firmware there

Where is 'recovery' ??

I now followed the How to install a firmware. instructions ...


turn your tablet off, hold volume down and power button at the same time, then update firmware

_________________
Visit my thread http://goo.gl/pR9Ig


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:27 am
Posts: 29
Quote:
Download went OK, but when I told it to install, I got a prompt to connect a USB cable ?!


Yes, you need usb cable for dc-in while the update is done, you can unplug it as soon as the update has started.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:27 am
Posts: 29
sper56 wrote:
Goner wrote:
sper56 wrote:
go into recovery, update firmware there

Where is 'recovery' ??

I now followed the How to install a firmware. instructions ...


turn your tablet off, hold volume down and power button at the same time, then update firmware


Not needed if the tablet run Android, Recovery mode must be used only when the system is damaged (very few cases) I rarely use it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:10 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1795
Location: Honolulu
A simple install thru wifi appeared to work fine for me, without reformat ect. Now i am back on the wonderful dolphin browser without wifi or scroll glitches so far.

It did some sort of android app conversion... does that mean this android 4.03 base was upgraded over the last release?

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 12:17 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 9:17 pm
Posts: 12
Installed and unfortunately there is no improvement in the crippled GPS functionality.
Other than that not seeing any difference yet...good or bad.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 12:44 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1795
Location: Honolulu
Ken S wrote:
Installed and unfortunately there is no improvement in the crippled GPS functionality.

Wow, i popped into gps status app and after a minute inside it lit up like an xmas tree with about 5 of 8 sats and tons of data. Never saw that before this release. That said, i got a couple wifi stutters.

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:18 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:15 am
Posts: 44
viking wrote:
Wow, i popped into gps status app and after a minute inside it lit up like an xmas tree with about 5 of 8 sats and tons of data. Never saw that before this release. That said, i got a couple wifi stutters.

Try again tomorrow: GPS always worked for me after a reset, but the next day (after waking up from standby) it did not work any longer.

I also wonder why Archos still based the update on ICS 4.0.3 though 4.0.4 is available since March already?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:56 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1795
Location: Honolulu
After a sleep i get even more sats; i have never reset. Only weird thing is pitch... i think it wants me to tilt based on the equator reference instead of local.

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:03 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:15 am
Posts: 44
Alright, here comes my review for the new firmware version 4.0.7:

1) Fixes mentioned in the change log:
  • Audio Bug (e.g. Skype): Had been fixed in 4.0.6 beta 4 on May 22nd already. Nothing new here.
  • Graphics Performance: Had been improved for 4.0.6 beta on May 22nd already. First impression is that the performance is even a little better now, but this might also be related to rebooting the tablet after the firmware update was installed.
  • Harddrive Issues: Cannot comment, as my tablet contains flash memory.
  • WiFi Disconnects: I had some issues with 4.0.5, but not with 4.0.6 any longer, so I cannot comment on any further improvements.

So is this all Archos has addressed within the last 7 weeks since the official firmware version 4.0.6 was released?
And why not base the updates on Android 4.0.4, but still use 4.0.3 ? :(

2) Problems that still exist for my tablet (Archos 80 G9 Turbo, 1.5GHz, 16GB RAM):
  • No improvement for GPS (major bug): The "GPS status" app finds up to 8 satellites but there is no fix. Then the satellites start to "disappear" again, until none is left.
  • No improvement for the "browser bug": If I set the pre-installed web browser to "open links in new background tab", it crashes for some web sites (like ebay.com) after some second whenever I try to open a link in the background. (Works well for some other web sites, so this seems to depend on the content of the page, maybe related to the use of Java script.)
  • No improvement for the localization (minor bug): My tablet is set to German, but some menu items in the settings and pre-installed apps (like "photo frame") obviously have not been translated and still appear in English. - This is especially annoying for built-in the calendar app, where you get a mixture between German and English for the display (Problem exists also for language setting "French", so developers at Archos should see that, too.)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:44 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:12 pm
Posts: 56
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Nightsurfer wrote:
  • No improvement for GPS (major bug): The "GPS status" app finds up to 8 satellites but there is no fix. Then the satellites start to "disappear" again, until none is left.
Is that really a bug in the firmware ?
From what I read on the forum, there seems to be a number of (faulty ?) GPS units that simply do not work as they should ...

For the record : my GPS works fine. I've used it with Cygic navigation in the car and accuracy is great.

_________________
A80G9Turbo 1.5GHz - 1GB RAM - 16GB


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:14 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 4:31 pm
Posts: 10
Still has the bug where video audio drops-out \ stutters using bluetooth headphone if you pause and then play the video.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:01 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:49 pm
Posts: 81
To all with problems with GPS, yes some GPS chips are faulty, however GPS worked on honeycomb for some, so it's obviously not a faulty chip in that case.

I have heard people who have had GPS problems. I have heard two solutions, it's worth a shot:

1) Uninstalling Google Maps > not sure if they just uninstalled updates or if they were rooted and completely removed
2) Reformat > this has helped many people. Especially those who came from honeycomb. If you have not formated since honeycomb, I strongly recommend it if you have problems. It could be a problem with the firmware or a rogue app



GerritRG wrote:
I did a clean install (formatted the "disk") of ICS 4.0.6 and then GPS works!

FW 4.0.7 is available now!!!

_________________
Visit my thread http://goo.gl/pR9Ig


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 129 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 57 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited