Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 2:48 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:56 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:06 am
Posts: 35
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
to mn555 & sper56

:doubt:
Yes, now I know - after deep testing, this solution is not permanent, but only temporary and partial.
This solution is working only until you restart Archos. Then Archos adapts and refuses WiFi connect again. Then you must make any change in router settings, for example change WPA2(AES) to WPA2(mixed) and vice versa, and delete old one and set new wifi connection point in Archos.
This is terrible situation (like my english).
I have sent messages to Archos support several times, but whithout any response. They are sleeping on their laurels or what. :evil:

For all:

PLEASE, contact Archos support: http://www.archos.com/support/support_t ... pport.html
and send them requirement to fix this problem. Send it them again and again and again.
They obviously do not read this forum...
:|


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:49 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 9:30 pm
Posts: 115
Flooding the Archos support with lots of bug reports from one person is not really helpful.
Every duplicate report they they have to handle is time they don't have to help (or at least try) to support somebody else.


And yes, I'm somewhat biased as I work in IT support myself (NOT for Archos, so please don't send me any bug reports!)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:54 am 
Offline
Archos Staff
Archos Staff

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:05 pm
Posts: 165
ViktorN wrote:
to mn555 & sper56
PLEASE, contact Archos support: http://www.archos.com/support/support_t ... pport.html
and send them requirement to fix this problem. Send it them again and again and again.
They obviously do not read this forum...
:|


I read you and we are working on this issue.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 10:17 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:06 am
Posts: 35
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
bragon wrote:
I read you and we are working on this issue.


OK, Bragon.
Finally, thank you for your message. But we are talking about this problem several days without any response from Archos tech team.
And if there was no any response, please understand us that our patience is at an end - and we are desperately looking for any way to solve the problem. Problem with WiFi connection is realy crucial.
Thanks for your understanding
Best regards
Viktor


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:26 am 
Offline
Archos Staff
Archos Staff

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:05 pm
Posts: 165
ViktorN wrote:
bragon wrote:
I read you and we are working on this issue.


OK, Bragon.
Finally, thank you for your message. But we are talking about this problem several days without any response from Archos tech team.
And if there was no any response, please understand us that our patience is at an end - and we are desperately looking for any way to solve the problem. Problem with WiFi connection is realy crucial.
Thanks for your understanding
Best regards
Viktor


I replied on the main ICS thread concerning Wi-Fi. I know that Wi-fi connection is crucial and we are doing our best to fix the issue asap.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:51 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:06 am
Posts: 35
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
bragon wrote:
I replied on the main ICS thread concerning Wi-Fi. I know that Wi-fi connection is crucial and we are doing our best to fix the issue asap.


Thank you very much.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:42 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:19 pm
Posts: 1387
@ViktorN

I understand that wifi is crucial to the use of your tablet and I hope the issue is soon resolved for you. However,this is a forum maintained by individuals and not by Archos. Although we are fortunate that we have some Archos staff members who review these forums, they have no obligation to read or respond to posts made here.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 1:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:06 am
Posts: 35
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
butterflygirl wrote:
I understand that wifi is crucial to the use of your tablet and I hope the issue is soon resolved for you. However,this is a forum maintained by individuals and not by Archos. Although we are fortunate that we have some Archos staff members who review these forums, they have no obligation to read or respond to posts made here.



I have sent detailed description of this problem to Archos support mail several times. But without any relevant response...
(their only general response: "reset device and delete all applications" I do not find relevant answer)
Thanks for your understanding


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 4:53 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:49 pm
Posts: 81
bragon wrote:
ViktorN wrote:
bragon wrote:
I read you and we are working on this issue.


OK, Bragon.
Finally, thank you for your message. But we are talking about this problem several days without any response from Archos tech team.
And if there was no any response, please understand us that our patience is at an end - and we are desperately looking for any way to solve the problem. Problem with WiFi connection is realy crucial.
Thanks for your understanding
Best regards
Viktor


I replied on the main ICS thread concerning Wi-Fi. I know that Wi-fi connection is crucial and we are doing our best to fix the issue asap.


Glad we have awesome people like you lurking these forums. Thanks bragon for the update!

_________________
Visit my thread http://goo.gl/pR9Ig


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:43 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:14 am
Posts: 13
My fresh experience with A80 G9:

It seems to be authentication dependent and router dependent. I am unable to connect my home router Edimax BR-6204g using all variants of WPA encryption (using SSID "HUGO" with just capital letters from very beginning). When I went tablet to my friend with different router I was able to connect using WPA2 PSK without any problem.

I have upgraded my router firmware to the latest one and my experience is the tablet is able to connect using "open access" OR WEP encrypted (using HEX key). I don't need to restart tablet nor change anything on router.

I am offering to Archos staff any kind of non-destructive testing. Just let me know. :)

Cheers!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:13 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:43 am
Posts: 138
Location: USA
moronoxyd wrote:
Flooding the Archos support with lots of bug reports from one person is not really helpful.
Every duplicate report they they have to handle is time they don't have to help (or at least try) to support somebody else.


And yes, I'm somewhat biased as I work in IT support myself (NOT for Archos, so please don't send me any bug reports!)

x10 I bet! ...more time reading about same issue in multiple locations by same posters waste time (ours & Archos IT)

Don't get me wrong. I think its ok to open threads threads on new subject and discuss solutions, just try to keep on track

_________________
G9 80 16GB 1.5GHz


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 1:36 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 2:34 am
Posts: 4
Good Day

I would like to add a new element to this issue.

I fired up my new 101 g9 250 yesterday and am encountering the same problems. I am on 3.2.79. My problems are a text book case of the same symptoms on previous posts. I have a number of devices on my router. They are all connecting with no problems. A few minutes after I log on and use the wireless with my Archos g9, it knocks everything off line on the wireless side. After I reboot my router, it is back to normal. The modem (internet) is not affected by this issue. As long as I do not turn on the wireless on the tab my connectivity is good. It looks like this problem is not solely attributed to ICS.

FYI: I am running ICS on my transformer and it does not cause any problems. I also have a 101 16gb. Works well!

Hopefully this will get sorted soon.

Archos 101G9 250gb OMAP 4460 ES1.1
Build number HTK75D
Board Version A101H-V5 (T1)
Thanks

P.S. I am looking forward installing the cinema plugin.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 10:13 am 
Offline
Archos Staff
Archos Staff

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:05 pm
Posts: 165
Please check out the test firmware posted here viewtopic.php?f=84&t=64013 that aims at addressing the Wi-Fi issues.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 5:14 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 5:10 pm
Posts: 7
ViktorN wrote:
Archos 80 G9
I have got a problem with Wifi now. :-7
After upgrade to 4.0.4 I cannot establish wifi conection.
<my SSID name>
Signal strenght: Excellent
Security WPA2 PSK

OK, when I click to "Connect", there is now:
Signal strenght: Poor (Why "poor" now??? It doesn't matter if I am 1 meter or 20 meters far from my Wifi router)

I write password (of course the correct password) and then it shows me:
<my ssid name>: Obtaining IP address... - Saved, secured with WPA 2 - Conecting... - Obtaining IP address... - Saved, secured with WPA 2 - Conecting... - Obtaining IP address...
It looping still and after several cycles it ends with: "Avoided poor internet connection"
It says "Signal strenght: Poor". Why? It doesn't matter if I am 1 meter or 20 meters far from my Wifi router. Wifi analyzer tells me: "Signal strenght is excellent".
My other tablet (lenovo) works and can connect to wifi router immediately.
There is no any WiFi interference.
Terrible...

This is log from my WiFi router:
0day 06:09:59 wlan0: A wireless client is associated - 00:DA:DC:6A:85:82
0day 06:09:59 wlan0: WPA2-AES PSK authentication in progress...
0day 06:10:02 wlan0: A STA is rejected by 802.1x daemon - 00:DA:DC:6A:85:82
0day 06:10:03 wlan0: A wireless client is associated - 00:DA:DC:6A:85:82
0day 06:10:03 wlan0: WPA2-AES PSK authentication in progress...
0day 06:10:06 wlan0: A STA is rejected by 802.1x daemon - 00:DA:DC:6A:85:82
0day 06:10:06 wlan0: A wireless client is associated - 00:DA:DC:6A:85:82
0day 06:10:06 wlan0: WPA2-AES PSK authentication in progress...
0day 06:10:09 wlan0: A STA is rejected by 802.1x daemon - 00:DA:DC:6A:85:82
0day 06:10:10 wlan0: A wireless client is associated - 00:DA:DC:6A:85:82
0day 06:10:10 wlan0: WPA2-AES PSK authentication in progress...
...
...
where "00:DA:DC:6A:85:82" is mac address of my Archos (I have changed some numbers here for security)
what happened in my Archos tablet with WiFi procedure during the firmware update?

got the same problem, no solution found :(


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 8:15 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:06 am
Posts: 35
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
bragon wrote:
Please check out the test firmware posted here viewtopic.php?f=84&t=64013 that aims at addressing the Wi-Fi issues.


Thanks.
Unfortunately - exactly the same situation. Wifi doesn't work still :doubt:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 9:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 6:44 pm
Posts: 9
bragon wrote:
Please check out the test firmware posted here viewtopic.php?f=84&t=64013 that aims at addressing the Wi-Fi issues.

Firmware is tested. The behavior of the wi-fi has not changed :( . (viewtopic.php?p=394647#p394647)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 9:36 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:06 am
Posts: 35
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
I was testing it on several WiFi routers, but without positive results. So the upgrade didn't help, and the problem with WiFi connection persists.
After I change the security settings, Archos successfully connects sometimes, but this connection is only short-term. After a moment, again connection interrupts and then it is not possible to establish a connection.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 10:21 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 5:10 pm
Posts: 7
the new firmware is out since yesterday ( 22 Mar. 2012). has anyone tested this already?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:06 am
Posts: 35
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
karpie wrote:
the new firmware is out since yesterday ( 22 Mar. 2012). has anyone tested this already?


yes
The WiFi connection problem is not solved. :doubt:


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:57 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
viewtopic.php?f=84&t=64013&p=395777#p395777

bragon wrote:
All: official 4.0.5 is out. It contains some minor additional fixes but nothing new on the Wi-Fi front compared to the test firmware.
For the fritzbox and speedsport owners (Atheros based AP): we are working on the issue with our Wi-Fi chipset provider, we have over the air captures of the issue. Please stay tuned.

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited