Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 12:01 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3g stick speeds?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:09 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:07 pm
Posts: 8
Been considering getting the archos 3g stick to go with my 80 g9.

I have been tethering on my mobile phone to access the internet and its not the best, i am trying to stream live NHL hockey games via the gamecenter and I do not get very good speeds (but when watching them on my phone its fine).

I did a speed test on the archos will connceted to my phone via wi-fi and got speeds of 0.95mb download.


Does the 3g stick offer faster speeds?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: 3g stick speeds?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:34 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:06 am
Posts: 27
Location: Netherlands
Yes, it does. If you're speaking about Megabit and not Megabytes.
It's supposed to be able to deliver 7,2 Megabit down.

I do have a T-Mobile (low) 3.6 Mbit connection and have no problem watching online videos / streams.

_________________
Archos 101 G9 Turbo 16GB 1,2GHz


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: 3g stick speeds?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 11:50 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 7:12 am
Posts: 130
have you been able to get a 3g stick to work with t-mobile? i have at&t, the stick reads my sim card, (i'm using it in my laptop until the g9 101 250gb arrives) and it tries to dial but fails. i called archos usa, but they told me the dialing protocols here in the us were incompatible with the european protocols used on the 3g stick. i haven't gotten much further than that...


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: 3g stick speeds?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:30 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:06 am
Posts: 27
Location: Netherlands
I do think you have a problem outside Europe using the 3g stick; as you have noticed; I live in the Netherlands...
My bad for not telling earlier!

_________________
Archos 101 G9 Turbo 16GB 1,2GHz


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: 3g stick speeds?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 5:05 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 7:12 am
Posts: 130
i got it to work here in the u.s.! boo yeah!


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: 3g stick speeds?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:09 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:03 am
Posts: 1
I want to more details about 3G stick,

Please help me. =D>


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: 3g stick speeds?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:08 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 7:12 am
Posts: 130
I ordered the stick from the u.k. and am using the at&t sim card from my non-smart phone which has a $15 a month unlimited data plan. The faq page for the g9 101 on the archos site had a section on the 3g stick that helped me get the settings/dialing rules sorted out. I think t-mobile is the only other u.s. carrier that uses sim cards, which is what the stick uses. By my figuring, you'll need the stick and a sim card and data plan for at&t or t-mobile. Each carrier has a set of dialing rules including a "phone number", account name, and password to get you logged in. (I found them online and have been using them to tether via bluetooth successfully for over a year without any nasty letters from at&t)


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™