Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Mon Apr 21, 2014 5:31 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:28 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:19 pm
Posts: 1387
rushmore wrote:
Craig@ARCHOS wrote:
butterflygirl wrote:
Tried 3.2.46 again today.

1. Camera looks fine.
2. Google Talk is on device.
3. 1 out of 4 reboots sd card not mounted.
4. Hard drives no longer work for me on 3g port, nor do they work on micro usb port with OTG cable, even with external battery suoplying power to HDD.

Reverted back to 3.2.22 again. Note that if you go back to 3.2.22, you need to "Reset multimedia library" in Repair & formatting. Otherwise, you get an error message about a problem with internal storage when using the Archos video and music players.

I'm really going to be bummed if I have to choose between firmware updates and external HDD support.


No. 4: This is a regression in the firmware and is being analyzed.



That is great news! :) Assuming it is fixed, of course ;)


+1000


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:36 am
Posts: 164
Location: Greece
Craig@ARCHOS wrote:
butterflygirl wrote:
Tried 3.2.46 again today.

1. Camera looks fine.
2. Google Talk is on device.
3. 1 out of 4 reboots sd card not mounted.
4. Hard drives no longer work for me on 3g port, nor do they work on micro usb port with OTG cable, even with external battery suoplying power to HDD.

Reverted back to 3.2.22 again. Note that if you go back to 3.2.22, you need to "Reset multimedia library" in Repair & formatting. Otherwise, you get an error message about a problem with internal storage when using the Archos video and music players.

I'm really going to be bummed if I have to choose between firmware updates and external HDD support.


No. 4: This is a regression in the firmware and is being analyzed.

So Craig we will have the option to plug in HDD's, usb sticks etc? =D> =D>


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 11:41 am
Posts: 10
Way to go Craig!!
keep up with the good work!

Actually do you know when it will come out in Hong Kong?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:19 pm
Posts: 1387
Can someone test their bluetooth headset on Gen 9? The sound on mine cuts in and out on both firmware 3.2.22 and 3.2.46. I have a pair of Sony bluetooth earbuds and have had no problem with them on Gen 8. (They work on gen 7 just fine for audio only, but there is a lag when watching video)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 8:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:19 pm
Posts: 1387
New (kinda) issue for me:

Folder play mode:

1. works when playing video from Video folder on internal storage
2. does not work when playing video from sd card or from external drive.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 3:51 pm
Posts: 1268
Location: US
butterflygirl wrote:
New (kinda) issue for me:

Folder play mode:

1. works when playing video from Video folder on internal storage
2. does not work when playing video from sd card or from external drive.



Seems like the firmware broke as many things as fixed. USB host is gone and media reading issues with external mapping.

Some more firmware regression going on here. Maybe Craig will have this fixed too.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:42 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:19 pm
Posts: 1387
rushmore wrote:
butterflygirl wrote:
New (kinda) issue for me:

Folder play mode:

1. works when playing video from Video folder on internal storage
2. does not work when playing video from sd card or from external drive.



Seems like the firmware broke as many things as fixed. USB host is gone and media reading issues with external mapping.

Some more firmware regression going on here. Maybe Craig will have this fixed too.


I've had this issue with all firmwares. Just finally figured why it would play the folder sometimes and not others.

Found another problem in 3.2.46 - Volume (at least when playing videos) randomly gets louder and softer.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 4:24 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Archos-Wo ... 25?sk=wall

Quote:
Archos Worldwide
Ok guys, we have heard you :).
On the next version of the firmware the USB port on the back of the device will be open to use for any USB device.
Some limitations however, because it was made for the 3G Stick - it will only be powered when the '3G stick' option is on in the settings (also in quick settings) and battery life can be impacted when it is in use (kind of to be expected) and that it will shut down a few min after the tablet goes into sleep mode.
Don't forget that you can still use the micro-USB to USB host cable if your USB device does not fit into the slot made for the 3G stick.

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 4:28 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:19 pm
Posts: 1387
zandoli wrote:
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Archos-Worldwide/136186653079325?sk=wall

Quote:
Archos Worldwide
Ok guys, we have heard you :).
On the next version of the firmware the USB port on the back of the device will be open to use for any USB device.
Some limitations however, because it was made for the 3G Stick - it will only be powered when the '3G stick' option is on in the settings (also in quick settings) and battery life can be impacted when it is in use (kind of to be expected) and that it will shut down a few min after the tablet goes into sleep mode.
Don't forget that you can still use the micro-USB to USB host cable if your USB device does not fit into the slot made for the 3G stick.


Hallelujah!! This was the last day for me to decide whether or not to keep the device. It's now a keeper :)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 4:30 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 6:37 pm
Posts: 39
very nice news! :D

But how come they don't hear us talking about 1GB ram? :-s ](*,)


Top
   
 
 Post subject: RAM on Turbo 512 MB
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 4:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
Can you guys handle the bad news now?

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Archos-Wo ... 25?sk=wall

Quote:
Archos Worldwide ÔÇÄ@ Jo├úo Fernandes - RAM in turbo models and Classic models is 512MB coupled with the special memory management that is done for a smoother experience. And this RAM management has been improved even further with the latest firmware.



Quote:
Archos Worldwide ÔÇÄ@ Danny Angove - yes, there is a price difference of about Ôé¼30 between Classic and Turbo. But don't forget that the Memory changes too - from 8GB flash on Classic to 16GB flash on Turbo.

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 10:37 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
@Butterflygirl

Can you test whether one can charge the G9 w/ firmware 3.2.22 while using host port on the back?

That would be an added benefit.
I do not think it it is possible to charge the flash drive units when the micro USB host cable is connected.

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:49 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:19 pm
Posts: 1387
zandoli wrote:
@Butterflygirl

Can you test whether one can charge the G9 w/ firmware 3.2.22 while using host port on the back?

That would be an added benefit.
I do not think it it is possible to charge the flash drive units when the micro USB host cable is connected.


I ran a 1 TB hard drive off the 3g port all day today watching videos and had it charging through the micro usb. :D

I was using a standard cable as opposed to Archos' cable to charge, so the battery was running down faster than it was charging, but still lasted me throughout the day..


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:57 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
Nice!
Thank you much for confirming.

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:13 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 2:26 am
Posts: 1
is it possible to downgrade back to firmware 3.2.22? If it's possible how can i do that? TKS


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:19 pm
Posts: 1387
hientran41 wrote:
is it possible to downgrade back to firmware 3.2.22? If it's possible how can i do that? TKS


Yes, it is possible. Just copy or download the firmware file to your Archos and then tap on it. It will check for validity and then reboot to install.

If you need a copy of the firmware go to the download link on Archos' website, copy the link and then paste it into your browser. Change the 46 in the link to 22 and then navigate to the page. You shoul download the earlier firmware. It is 157mb and. 46 is 160mb. You should probably keep a copy of the firmware stored somewhere else in case you need it again. It will disappear from the device when install it. I have a copy of both firmwares on my sd card and copy to internal storage if I want to change firmwares. Do not rename the file when download it or it won't work.

You will need to reset your media library after you revert back to. 22.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
@butterflygirl

Has Archos added MSC USB in honeycomb settings?

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:19 pm
Posts: 1387
zandoli wrote:
@butterflygirl

Has Archos added MSC USB in honeycomb settings?


Don't see it in the storage settings. Would it be somewhere else?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
Honeycomb does not natively support MSC. I was just checking whether Archos added it.

What do you use to transfer files?

Samba?
MicroSD?
USB host?

Can one transfer files, other than media, via MTP?

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:14 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:19 pm
Posts: 1387
zandoli wrote:
Honeycomb does not natively support MSC. I was just checking whether Archos added it.

What do you use to transfer files?

Samba?
MicroSD?
USB host?

Can one transfer files, other than media, via MTP?


I transfer files either with my micro sd card, the OTG cable and my Transcend card reader or with usb host on the 3g port. I haven't actually hooked it up to a computer yet or tried network shares.

EDIT: Hooked it up with non-Archos micro usb cable to XP computer at work. It recognizes it in Windows explorer as a portable media player. Trying to open the Internal storage in Windows explorer is like wading through cold molasses. I wasn't patient enough to wait for it to open. I assume you could sync files with Windows Media Player, but haven't tried it. This isn't as important to me because I would prefer to use it "computer free" as much as possible. I have only played with adb a little bit when first getting the market on the A5IT, so I'm not sure how to do that on this Archos. I have to learn it one day :doubt:


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™