Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 8:14 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 75 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:47 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:02 pm
Posts: 23
It's finally out! Froyo for Voltaire/70b

Download: http://www.mediafire.com/?3vndcu7wzd8wu1z
This firmware is for BQ Voltaire, but also works on Archos 70b (Guarantee lost!)

scrolling in market place works only if you turn the reader (don't ask me why)

Changes:
-removed mibqyyo app
-added Superuser
-rooted


How to flash:
-Download and unzip: http://www.mediafire.com/?0il94p8vgjw4pv0
-fully charge your reader
-switch off your reader
-remove SD card from reader
-connect USB cable
-press and hold right arrow key. Switch on the reader.
-now new hardware is detected. If you are prompted for drivers take them from the zip-file
-RK28XX Device will be installed
-start RKAndroidBatchUpgrade
-in the program window a green box should appear
-click on the button (...) right of image box and select the firmware image (.img)
-click upgrade
-the green box starts flashing yellow and counting percents
-wait until "UPGRADE END 1 OK 0 FAIL" in the log window appears
-now the installion continues on the reader ("Formatting ...")
-after formatting the reader restarts and the BQ Android should appear
-wait (takes some time)
-Calibrate and Setup
-be happy :D


THIS FIRMWARE UPDATE IS USED AT YOUR OWN RISK.


Last edited by jefi on Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:57 am, edited 3 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 11:18 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 4:53 pm
Posts: 7
Hello, Is this is the official firmware?, Have you tried? Can you put this firmware without root? Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 11:46 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:02 pm
Posts: 23
Quote:
Can you put this firmware without root? Thanks.

Sure: http://www.mediafire.com/?nhbkefu85oxi1b9
This is the original unrooted BQ Voltaire firmware
Quote:
Have you tried?

Yes, I'm running my rooted version on my Archos 70b. Looks nice.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 5:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 4:53 pm
Posts: 7
Tousand thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 6:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 6:03 pm
Posts: 10
Thanks! On my Archos 70c works good, but why total internal memory it's only 539MB? In original rom was 2,5 GB?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 7:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:02 pm
Posts: 23
Quote:
but why total internal memory it's only 539MB? In original rom was 2,5 GB?

460MB for Apps
2,2GB for user data


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 8:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 6:03 pm
Posts: 10
That's right. There is more than the original firmware. At that there was only 200MB for Apps.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 1:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:30 am
Posts: 5
Hi everybody, hi jefi,

thanks for the Voltaire 2.2 rom, I flashed it yesterday and it works fine.

Nevertheless, I found one missing feature and one problem:

In the old BQ 2.1 image, /etc/hosts is a symlimk pointing to /sdcard/hosts. This makes it easy to place a modified hosts file onto the sdcard to block advertisings. In the new 2.2 image, /etc/hosts is a regular file, therefore it is no longer possible to use a hosts file on the sdcard. Perhaps it might be useful to change /etc/hosts into a symlink within the 2.2 image ?

The second problem is the included ebookreader app "EbookViewCommzhong.apk" preinstalled in the 2.2 image. Within this app, each of the ebooks located on the sdcard is recognized and displayed twice in the library. Can anybody of you confirm this problem ?

My idea was to use FbreaderJ instead of the builtin ebook reader, but only the older version "FBReaderJ-1.0.12-ae70b1.apk" available here in another thread works with the two buttons of the archos 70b. If I install the actual FBReaderJ version 1.1.10, the buttons are not recogniced. According to their site http://www.fbreader.org/ , using a file "<Books Directory>/keymap.xml" should make it possible to configure FbreaderJ to use the buttons. I tried with the following file, but did not manage to get it to work:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<keymap>
   <binding key="22" action="volumeKeyScrollForward"/>
   <binding key="21" action="volumeKeyScrollBackward"/>
</keymap>


Does anoyone of you has already successful managed it to use the neweset FbreaderJ together with an adapted keymap.xml file oh your archos 70b/c ?

C.U. NanoBot


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:25 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:02 pm
Posts: 23
Quote:
In the old BQ 2.1 image, /etc/hosts is a symlimk pointing to /sdcard/hosts. This makes it easy to place a modified hosts file onto the sdcard to block advertisings. In the new 2.2 image, /etc/hosts is a regular file, therefore it is no longer possible to use a hosts file on the sdcard. Perhaps it might be useful to change /etc/hosts into a symlink within the 2.2 image ?

Yes, I forgot this in that Firmware. I will add the symlink in v2

Keymap:
Try this keymap.xml (it's the old Voltaire)
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<keymap>
   <binding key="&lt;VolumeDown&gt;" action="volumeKeyScrollForward"/>
   <binding key="&lt;VolumeUp&gt;" action="volumeKeyScrollBackward"/>
   <binding key="&lt;PadLeft&gt;" action="volumeKeyScrollBackward"/>
   <binding key="&lt;PadRight&gt;" action="volumeKeyScrollForward"/>
   <binding key="&lt;Back&gt;" action="cancelMenu"/>
   <binding key="&lt;Enter&gt;" action="processHyperlink"/>
   <binding key="&lt;PadCenter&gt;" action="processHyperlink"/>
</keymap>


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:30 am
Posts: 5
Thanks for your hint, but using the keymap.xml file from the old firmware was the first thing I tried, and it does not work. As far as I unterstood from the sources of FbreaderJ, the format of the keymap.xml file has been changed between the old and the actual version. Therefore I got me an app from the net which displays the keycode of the key pressed, which shows me 21 and 22 for the buttons, but I can't get it to work.

Hopefully, BQ should recognize the misbehavior of the original ebook reader app and should release a bugfix for that soon. For me, the builtin reader app is sufficient, I only tested FbreaderJ because of the bug EbookViewCommzhong.apk


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 7:08 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:02 pm
Posts: 23
hm, try key number 105 and 106.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2011 12:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 12:31 pm
Posts: 5
jefi, many thanks for the version 2.2. Two problems appear with me. The eReader isn't recognized at a USB connection any more (eReader -PC). Under 2.2 the evacuation of the App should work on SD, (however, doesn't go, SD as FAT32). Are there solutions for it?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:21 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:02 pm
Posts: 23
In 2.2 you have to enable USB-Mode in the status bar (touch the usb icon)
I haven't tried transfer an app to sd card yet...


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:41 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 12:31 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks for the fast answer. With me it only works when USB debugging is deactivated. The USB memory must be activated to the connection with the PC. Then you can access the SD card and the eReader-memory.
The App App2SD don't work.Do I have to formating the SD-card in ext3 ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:05 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 8:59 am
Posts: 7
hi all..I'm a new member and I would like to upgrade my new Archos 70 b with your nice instructions

Anyway I have a (stupid) doubt....what does you mean when you write
Download and unzip: http://www.mediafire.com/?0il94p8vgjw4pv0
-fully charge your reader
-switch off your reader
-connect USB cable
-press and hold right arrow key. Switch on the reader.
-now new hardware is detected. If you are prompted for drivers take them from the zip-file

.....do you have to insert the unzipped file in the SD card of the archos before to connect it to pc? or you have simply to leave the unzipped file to pc and to connect the tablet with USB?
Thanks in avance for your help...my archos is pretty new and I don't want to brick it :D :D :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:13 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 8:59 am
Posts: 7
and...........another question..which driver have I to choose for a Vista PC ..between the unzipped amd64 or x86 unzipped files?
thanks again :oops:


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:53 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:02 pm
Posts: 23
@marcy65: choose the x86 drivers. You don't have to copy anything to your reader. This will be done by RKBatchUpgrade. Better remove the SD Card from your reader.
@eddy:
Quote:
Do I have to formating the SD-card in ext3 ?

I don't think so...


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 1:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 8:59 am
Posts: 7
:p
yhanks a lot for your answer ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:27 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 8:59 am
Posts: 7
Thanks again for you help...everything done yesterday and ok =D> =D>

one problem still remain: youtube videos...I've tried with market youtube applicatio or from internet but in any case I could only hear the sound with black screen (no video at all) :evil: :evil: :evil:
what do you think about? missed codecs or plugins? if yes...which ones?
thanks in advance again.............................


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2011 8:40 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:02 pm
Posts: 23
Error in YouTube app: it works only in fullscreen mode (turn reader)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 75 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited