Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:55 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 11:55 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 11:49 pm
Posts: 1
Hi,

I followed all topics in this forum for installing the Android market, and tried all possible versions of gApps4Archos.apk and gApps4Archos2.apk but non of them worked. My reader is running Android 2.1update (Eclair), kernel 2.6.25, build V0.18.ECLAIR

Has anybody found out how to get the Android market working on this device ?

Note: The AppsLib is working allright, that's not the problem, however I want to install the google Android market.

Thx.


Last edited by thirdfloor on Mon Apr 11, 2011 7:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 16
thirdfloor wrote:
Hi,

I followed all topics in this forum for installing the Android market, and tried all possible versions of gApps4Archos.apk and gApps4Archos2.apk but non of them worked. My reader is running Android 2.1update (Eclair), kernel 2.6.25, build V0.18.ECLAIR

Has anybody found out how to get the Android market working on this device ?

Thx.


I got my 70b on Friday and have the same problem.When I try to connect to the Android app site my Android device is not listed So anyone out there able to help us?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 6:03 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 5:50 am
Posts: 2
i have had the similar problem. i also tried arctools. it says it failed. then says it's successful and to reboot. but after reboot, it's not there. i tried to go directly to the website of android market; it asks for your gmail account to get apps. only thing is that my gmail is associated with my droid phone, and so all the apps get loaded to my phone.

MY guess is that archos does not want us to have access to google apps. They probably want to be able to make sure that certain apps work on their platform before allowing it in. They also maybe get some money from purchases. The problem there is that they are failing in this capacity. And, on their website, they don't even have the archos ereaders listed in terms of what apps will work with what product. Consumers are going to gravitate to the service that does the best job. so, archos team, get your butts in gear, or else let us onto the other companies platforms.

here are my main issues with my archos 70b:

1. appslib is supposed to be specific for archos, i gather. however, as mentioned, they do a poor job allowing apps in to this service that do not work on the archos 70b. and then on the other hand they are compeltely missing great apps that are available via google apps market that likely would work on the archos ereaders. i would like to have the skyfire browser app for example.

2. the main function i bought this for, was to read ebooks. but, as detailed in another thread, the book covers rarely show up (yes, i've tried calibre - which doesn't recognize archos devices at all -- memo to archos mngmnt - contact calibre and beg for their program to recognize ur stuff). And 2, you can't clear the book reading history. Also, 3. It would be cool if one were able to modify the home screen. i rarely watch videos or play music on my ereader. i do like the browser and photo icons. but i would prefer to put something else in over music and video. i don't want to hack and root. 4. Not sure why but Aldiko doesn't work for me. Can't get books into it -- and when i did get one in, it never went past the front page. Kicked me out when I tried to turn a page.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 10:28 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 12:32 pm
Posts: 5
As reported by a user in HTCMania, this model is externally and internally equal to BQ Voltaire and you can upgrade it with the latest firmware, that includes Android market and Google apps.

More info and instructions to upgrade it at:

http://www.htcmania.com/showthread.php?p=2294646


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 1:27 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 10:48 am
Posts: 20
That is great! Too bad my Spanish is not that well....


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 1:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 10:48 am
Posts: 20
Maybe a noobquestion, but how can I detect the firmwareversion on my device?
Btw, the firmwareversion on the BQ site seems to be for android 2.1...
You think android market will work on 2.1?
Or is 2.1 allready running on the 70B?
I found out the Voltaire is a TABLET, not an E-READER


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2011 9:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 5:36 pm
Posts: 282
Location: France
Or is 2.1 allready running on the 70B? ==> of Course.
Tip : read ALL the parameters lines. You will find what you are looking for.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:29 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:25 pm
Posts: 5
Hi

I just bought my Archos 70b Ereader, but I don't have wifi at home (just internet via an ethernet cable).
How can I get apps from the Appslib and Android market onto my ereader? Can I install the apps on a sd-card and insert this card into the reader?
Who can me help me here?

Many thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:19 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 5:36 pm
Posts: 282
Location: France
apelute wrote:
As reported by a user in HTCMania, this model is externally and internally equal to BQ Voltaire and you can upgrade it with the latest firmware, that includes Android market and Google apps.

More info and instructions to upgrade it at:

http://www.htcmania.com/showthread.php?p=2294646

Several French owners did it : it works.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:27 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:22 pm
Posts: 1
Die HTCmania link heb ik gevolgd en ook ik kwam op die Spaanse site uit, waar ik me moest registreren. Hoe hebben jullie dit opgelost, zodat je de apk kon downloaden?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited