Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Tue Jun 27, 2017 6:16 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 10:36 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 10:27 am
Posts: 11
Hello, I'm French, excuse me for my approximate english ...
I have bought an ARNOVA 7 this week, I flashed with the more recent firmware (juily 18).
I discovered this forum because I was searching custom firmware for my ARNOVA7 (i have only found original firmware).
My first question is : Is the Archos 7 HT the same that Arnova 7 ?
My second question is : It it possible to flash Arnova 7 with a custom firmware Archos 7 HT (V1 or V2, or ...).

Thank you in advance for your answers ...

Best regards,

:D :D :D


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 1:44 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
It looks the same and also has a resistive screen, but the "Tech Specs" don't say anything about the CPU. I just downloaded the Arnova 7 firmware to check. Even if it is a "standard" 7HTV2 it comes with Froyo instead of Eclair.

Please go to the menu-> Settings; About your phone.

What does it say with regard to model number, kernel version and so on?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 3:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 10:27 am
Posts: 11
Thank you for answer ...

Here are all the informations I can see.

Model number : AN7
Firm version : 2.2.1
Kernel version : 2.6.25
Build number : MASTER.eng.root.20110702.888888

I have already download original firmware, Anova and Archos ... how can I do to check if it's Froyo or Eclair ???

Thank you.

:D :D :D


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 5:16 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
monstrofort wrote:
Here are all the informations I can see.

Model number : AN7
Firm version : 2.2.1
Kernel version : 2.6.25
Build number : MASTER.eng.root.20110702.888888

It's definitely Froyo (2.2.1) but still on a very old kernel (2.6.25) which might even be the same kernel as we are using on the A7HTV2 and A7HTV1.

monstrofort wrote:
I have already download original firmware, Anova and Archos ... how can I do to check if it's Froyo or Eclair ???

Only by " opening" the firmware or by flashing it to your tablet. But please don't do flash right now (until you want to reflash with the Arnova rom).
The A7HTV2 tablet is still eclair, I checked this afternoon, and your info proves that the AN7 rom is Froyo.

I simply think that they have dropped support for the A7, both the V1 and V2, and that the Arnova 7 is simply the follow up of the A7HTV2.

I will work on it somewhere this week to see if I can build a Froyo custom rom for both the A7HTV2 and the AN7.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 5:37 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 10:27 am
Posts: 11
Thank you for your response, I will be waiting about your news ...

Can I do something to help you ?

How can I "open" the firmware ??? Is there a software which I can use to "open" firmwares ???

Thank you.

Best regards,


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 7:18 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:27 am
Posts: 29
Try to flash it with a custom firmware and then tell us if you have a brick or a tablet ;)

Both devices are based on the same CPU RK 2818, I think it should be OK

The firmware for Arnova 7 is based on Froyo and the firmware for A7Home tablet is base on Eclair.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 7:46 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
monstrofort wrote:
How can I "open" the firmware ??? Is there a software which I can use to "open" firmwares ???

Look at my 2 articles on the wiki:
- Dump your Home Tablet rom and create a custom rom
- Example script for custom rom


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 7:57 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 10:27 am
Posts: 11
Thank you for answers ...

For IpadFan :

Hummm,
Thank you for the tip ... but if the result is a brick ... this will be the most expensive brick i bought (90Ôé¼) ... ;)
Instead of a brick i prefer a tablet ... it's most funny (and at this time I do not have wall to build, and build a wall with 90Ôé¼ brick, this could be the most expensive wall that I never saw... ;) ;) ;) )
Thank you ...

For hvdwolf

Thank you for the links ... I run to take a look at these articles ... :D :D

Anymay, I want to thank you all again for your answers, and I think I will enjoy myself with you on this forum ...

Best regards,


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 12:15 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
IpadFan wrote:
Try to flash it with a custom firmware and then tell us if you have a brick or a tablet ;)

Both devices are based on the same CPU RK 2818, I think it should be OK

The firmware for Arnova 7 is based on Froyo and the firmware for A7Home tablet is base on Eclair.

No, it's not! Please do not use an A7HTV2 rom on the Arnova7, or an Arnova7 rom on the A7HTV2. It "might" work as I don't know how compatible the 2 chips are, but I give you a 99% estimation that you will brick your tablet.

The Arnova 7 is an RK2918 chip, not a RK2818 chip. I reworked the update.img from the Arnova7 and the build.prop file inside the Arnova rom mentions it clearly.
For the Arnova 7 (RK2918):
Code:
<snip>
ro.build.product=rk29sdk
# Do not try to parse ro.build.description or .fingerprint
ro.build.description=rk29sdk-user 2.2.1 MASTER eng.root.20110517.095404 test-keys
ro.build.fingerprint=rk29sdk/rk29sdk/rk29sdk/:2.2.1/MASTER/eng.root.20110517.095404:user/test-keys
# end build properties
#
# system.prop for rk29sdk sdk
#
<snip>


And for the HT7V2:
Code:
ro.product.model=rk2818sdk


The RK2918 chip is the follow up of the RK2818 and has far more builtin CPU optimization, neccessary for Dalvik.
It simply means that the roms are not compatible. You can't load an A7HTV2 rom on an Arnova 7, and vice versa: You can't load an Arnova7 rom onto an A7HTV2.

It's relatively easy to make a custom rom for the Arnova7 from the standard Arnova7 firmware rom.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:02 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 10:27 am
Posts: 11
Hello,

Thank you for the reply, but I would never do that.
I prefer to wait for your approval ...

I had a look on your 2 wiki articles ... but I must confess that it's really to hard to me to understand ... and I don't really have time when I get home (late) ... all my colleagues and my boss are on vacation and I am alone at office ...

Best regards,


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:26 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 10:27 am
Posts: 11
Hello, I fond this on forum :

viewtopic.php?f=59&t=55437

Maybe, my Arnova 7 is the same that the Archos 7C Home Tablet ...

Model Number: A7CHT
Android Version: 2.2.1
Kernel Version: 2.2.65-desktop liuu liuu @ # 3
Build Number: froyo1.00 Master.eng.temp.20110127.104732


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 8:42 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
monstrofort wrote:
Hello, I fond this on forum :

viewtopic.php?f=59&t=55437

Maybe, my Arnova 7 is the same that the Archos 7C Home Tablet ...

Model Number: A7CHT
Android Version: 2.2.1
Kernel Version: 2.2.65-desktop liuu liuu @ # 3
Build Number: froyo1.00 Master.eng.temp.20110127.104732

No, it's not.

The 7CHT is a RK2818 chip with capacitive screen.
The Arnova 7 is a RK2918 chip with resistive screen.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 10:42 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 5:47 am
Posts: 16
hvdwolf wrote:
And for the HT7V2:
Code:
ro.product.model=rk2818sdk
Really? My copy of the latest ROM from Archos actually says this:
Code:
ro.product.model=A70BHT
ro.board.platform=rk2808sk
birdiebnl 21.4 says the same thing.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 11:19 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
wrzwicky wrote:
hvdwolf wrote:
And for the HT7V2:
Code:
ro.product.model=rk2818sdk
Really? My copy of the latest ROM from Archos actually says this:
Code:
ro.product.model=A70BHT
ro.board.platform=rk2808sk
birdiebnl 21.4 says the same thing.

Really? That's not correct even if it says so. It's not a big thing as it's only a description, but it is the wrong description. The rk2808 is for the version 1. The rk2818 is for the version 2. Really!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 12:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
I just tried to create a rooted froyo rom for the A7HTV2 based on the froyo rom of the Arnova7. It bricked my A7HTV2 completely. I had to use the full unbrick method (wiki) to get it working again.
Then I used the kernel of my own "old" custom froyo rom and did it again with the other modified images from the Arnova 7 rom on the A7HTV2 and bricked it again completely, which required another full unbrick (wiki).

So children: please don't do this at home. :)

It's quite clear that the Arnova7 and the A7HTV2 are completely incompatable.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 7:13 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Posts: 30
hvdwolf wrote:
wrzwicky wrote:
hvdwolf wrote:
And for the HT7V2:
Code:
ro.product.model=rk2818sdk
Really? My copy of the latest ROM from Archos actually says this:
Code:
ro.product.model=A70BHT
ro.board.platform=rk2808sk
birdiebnl 21.4 says the same thing.

Really? That's not correct even if it says so. It's not a big thing as it's only a description, but it is the wrong description. The rk2808 is for the version 1. The rk2818 is for the version 2. Really!


Interesting but here is some more data:
My Archos 7HT says it is a A70BHT on the firmware page but the label on the hardware device itself says: R70HB. This came from Tiger Direct with a label added on the outside that said it had Android 2.1 Eclair. The OS is 2.6.25, I upgraded this from the Archos site to version 1.0.1.

It makes me wonder if Archos has somehow gotten 2.1 to work on older hardware or made some sort of hardware modification to the older version. It would seem that the only difference in 2808 chip and 2818 chip is the clock speed.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
DaleDe wrote:
It makes me wonder if Archos has somehow gotten 2.1 to work on older hardware or made some sort of hardware modification to the older version. It would seem that the only difference in 2808 chip and 2818 chip is the clock speed.

I don't know whether Archos did anything to the older Version 1 tablets. I can hardly imagine that: Why not promoting it then?
The rk2808 and rk2818 chips definitely differ (and so is the new rk2918 in the arnova).
If you check the techical white papers from Rockchip (Google is your friend) you can see the differences.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:17 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Posts: 30
hvdwolf wrote:
I don't know whether Archos did anything to the older Version 1 tablets. I can hardly imagine that: Why not promoting it then?
The rk2808 and rk2818 chips definitely differ (and so is the new rk2918 in the arnova).
If you check the techical white papers from Rockchip (Google is your friend) you can see the differences.


I will try and research this but so far Google hasn't found exactly what I want. Need to dig deeper I guess. The rk2918 is certainly a completely different animal but the other two seem to be at least related. Archos seems to have abandoned this whole series on their web site although support still shows them. Perhaps they have some older inventory to unload. Anyway I am happy with mine for on $99.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 10:14 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
Hitcher99 wrote:
Hello

I have tried to Build an Custom FW with ROOT for the Arnova 7 G1 = RK 2818
1. unpacked the update.img
2. unpacked the system.img
3. Added SuperUser.apk to system/apps
4. repacked & encrypted system.img
5. packed the wohle image with the modified system.img with AFPTool.exe
6. Copyied the new update.img to the root of my Arnova 7
7. Unpluged the USB from the Device
8. Arnova says it found an Update, ok i followed the Updade Progress everything went fine.. 3.2.1 reboot --- > NO ERRORS by Flashing
9. After the reboot.. to boot the OS.. it only goes into the Recovery Mode and is stuck.. i cant do anything, like all buttons were Disabeld.. The Only button that works is the reset button.. but this does only an reboot, and lands again in recovery mode..

So is my Arnova complety bricked?? or is there any chance to rescue it ???

Did you use rkcrc to add the "magic" CRC to the images?

Your tablet is more or less bricked but you can "restore" it.
First you need the official rom from Arnova to flash.
Then lock your device and press the reset.
Follow my article here and also watch the video. It's for an A7HTV2 but your Arnova should be the same.

If you're still interested we can make a rom together. I already made a rom for the A7HTV2 from the official Arnova rom. Creating a custom rom for the arnova should be simpler.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ARNOVA 7
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:29 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:54 pm
Posts: 34
hvdwolf wrote:
DaleDe wrote:
It makes me wonder if Archos has somehow gotten 2.1 to work on older hardware or made some sort of hardware modification to the older version. It would seem that the only difference in 2808 chip and 2818 chip is the clock speed.

I don't know whether Archos did anything to the older Version 1 tablets. I can hardly imagine that: Why not promoting it then?
The rk2808 and rk2818 chips definitely differ (and so is the new rk2918 in the arnova).
If you check the techical white papers from Rockchip (Google is your friend) you can see the differences.


I don't think the Arnova 7 uses an RK2918, the performance of the tablet are more in line with an RK28xx.
The different traces of rk29 in the firmware are probably related to an SDK, not to the cpu.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited