Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 5:49 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 493 posts ]  Go to page Previous 121 22 23 24 25 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 9:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 12:00 pm
Posts: 4
Is there anyway to get the wallpaper to sctretch to fit instead of cropping.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:14 pm
Posts: 3
hvdwolf wrote:
zinksilver wrote:
Can someone answer my question, please? :/

Within 24 hours? Don't be so pushy. Read the forum rules.
Next to this: Repeat your question (by quoting it). In this case there was only one post in between but your pushy incomplete way makes it neccessary for users who might want to help you first to search to "whatever did he ask anyway". That's not inviting.
I don't have a clue and that's maybe the exact same reason why others haven't answered yet.
The only thing that comes to mind: if you skin your replacement laucher, be it QQ, ADW, Go or whatever launcher, then the softkeys might be replaced as well, depending on the skin. Did you check that?


Sorry for being pushy (sometime ago). I skinned ADW and Launcher Pro and everything's changed but the Softkeys remain the big/ugly/fat default ones from Archos. I wonder if it's only happening with me? :(


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:36 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 1903
Location: Nomad
The soft buttons aren't found in the launcher. Take a look in the framework. ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 8:05 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
Harfainx wrote:
The soft buttons aren't found in the launcher. Take a look in the framework. ;)

Thanks for correcting me. You are completely right.
In framework-res.apk you can find the icons. The apk is simply a zip file with a different file extension. You can change the icons but you need to resign the framework after packing (rezipping) which means that you need the complete SDK. Simply replacing some icons and repack the apk will brick your tablet. (I did this a couple of months ago when playing with this but completely forgot about it. Ones memory works weird (or it doesn't work at all sometimes)).


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 12:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 3
Hi,

I flashed this rom and it seems to be working fine. However, I cannot view any media through the Video/Picture viewers, and explorer crashes when I try to use internal memory.
Any fix for this?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 12:21 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 3
seems disabling USB storage fixed this.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:50 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:47 pm
Posts: 2
Run this rom on a ARCHOS7c, too ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:24 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 5:20 pm
Posts: 13
golf16v wrote:
Run this rom on a ARCHOS7c, too ?


No, wrong thread.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:32 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 5:20 pm
Posts: 13
My A7HTV2_22.22 has done some updates.

Like new Adroid Market version and superuser etc. and all is working well.

Right now Android would update su but it only starts the update procedure an then it breaks with an error, "could not update su".

I suspect the su is writ protected. Right?
If yes, whether or how I could update su with the current version?

Many thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:18 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
mortal wrote:
My A7HTV2_22.22 has done some updates.

Like new Adroid Market version and superuser etc. and all is working well.

Right now Android would update su but it only starts the update procedure an then it breaks with an error, "could not update su".

I suspect the su is writ protected. Right?
If yes, whether or how I could update su with the current version?

You can't. su is part of the system image as a linux tool and not an apk. It simply means that you can't update it. The only way is by creating a new rom that contains the new su.
Currently your only option is to uninstall the SuperUser.apk upgrade
or wait for a new rom from birdbienl
or change to my latest froyo rom.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:49 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 5:20 pm
Posts: 13
Many thanks hvdwolf. Understood.

Just I think to do an upgrade to yours. Because it seems to be more uptodate.
And as I can see (in the threads) it could works in the same condition as the one from birdiebnl.

And great job both. =D>


PS: It works with updated superuser.apk and without updated su. But I don't know why.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 8:41 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 3:52 pm
Posts: 7
Hi birdiebnl

I remember that in a previous release of your rom, we had process which write snapshot file on sdcard. How do you disable it?

Thanks in advance


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 2:40 am
Posts: 7
Hey guys, I have a video question.

I watch high rez stuff on my tv at home and sometimes copy content to my sd card to watch when I'm out, but I think I'm having a file size issue.

I'm getting an error on file playback for large files on my archos, what is the max video size file I can playback, and if anyone knows, is there a decent down-converter to convert my high rez video to something appropriate for the tablet.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,

Matthew


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 10:30 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Turin, Italy
MatthewArchos wrote:
Hey guys, I have a video question.

I watch high rez stuff on my tv at home and sometimes copy content to my sd card to watch when I'm out, but I think I'm having a file size issue.

I'm getting an error on file playback for large files on my archos, what is the max video size file I can playback, and if anyone knows, is there a decent down-converter to convert my high rez video to something appropriate for the tablet.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,

Matthew

The largest video file I've played was a 1.02 Gb. But, maybe that's the problem, it was converted from the original avi to a mpeg4, with original resolution. I use AVS Video Converter.

_________________
A7HTv2 - HvdWolf Eclaire ROM


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 1:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
MatthewArchos wrote:
Hey guys, I have a video question.

I watch high rez stuff on my tv at home and sometimes copy content to my sd card to watch when I'm out, but I think I'm having a file size issue.

I'm getting an error on file playback for large files on my archos, what is the max video size file I can playback, and if anyone knows, is there a decent down-converter to convert my high rez video to something appropriate for the tablet.

4GB is the file size maximum.
Your screen is 800x480. If you do not watch full screen even slightly smaller.
In the case I do want to watch a HD movie on my HT7V2 is use handbrake, a multiplatform converter to make it a 2 channel audio, "screen size fitting" mp4. I always decrease the quality a little (from 20 to 23-25) as it does not matter anyway on this small screen.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:57 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:54 pm
Posts: 2
Hvdwolf...

Can you summarize the difference between your ROM and this one? I have used this one for a while now, and am wondering if there is a benefit to changing - or possible pitfalls.

Yours seems to be updated more recently. Is there anyone else here who has experience both ROMS and can compare?

Thanks!!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:09 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
Maestrophil wrote:
Hvdwolf...

Can you summarize the difference between your ROM and this one? I have used this one for a while now, and am wondering if there is a benefit to changing - or possible pitfalls.

Yours seems to be updated more recently. Is there anyone else here who has experience both ROMS and can compare?

Thanks!!!

birdiebnl's rom is a mixture of several froyo roms.
My rom is an adapted Arnova7 froyo rom.
His rom is in some areas slightly faster then mine, possibly due to that same mixture with some optimized components.
My rom is much stabler than birdiebnl's rom possibly due to the fact that an Arnova7 is actually an Archos7HTV2 but with froyo, and it's simply based on one froyo.

We both modified the same jar to enable full screen mode.
I modified the framework.jar as well, as the shutdown message and sleep message were interchanged.

We both pack a few other apks simply based on personal taste.

That's about it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:16 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:12 pm
Posts: 1
Birdibnl,

The multiupload link of 7HTV2_22.22 is broken !


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:38 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 7:05 am
Posts: 105
Yeah, I'd like to try birdi's last Froyo since his Eclair worked so well. Anyone know what happened to Birdi and if there is any other links with his Froyo rom?

_________________
Jim, I'm a Dr not an Archos hacker!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 11:27 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 7:05 am
Posts: 105
I made contact with BirdieBNL and he emailed me this new link to his most recent Froyo rom:

http://www.xs4all.nl/~birdieb/archos/7htv2_22.22.zip

He said he is still using it himself. Birdie is a total gentleman and scholar! Thanks a bunch!

_________________
Jim, I'm a Dr not an Archos hacker!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 493 posts ]  Go to page Previous 121 22 23 24 25 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited