Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:32 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 493 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 25  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 6:54 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 4:58 pm
Posts: 261
Location: Hellendoorn
Disclaimer: You apply this firmware on your own risk. This is an experimental ROM, which works for me till now. That doesn't guarantee that it works for you. This firmware is only for the A7HT Version 2!

7htv2_22.11 19 April 2011

- Based on experimental 22.10
- Removed the big/ugly icons
- Replaced the soft-buttons with the Eclair buttons. (home, vol-up, vol-down, back, menu)
- Fixed the Titanium Backup problem
- Replaced the dalvikvm for performance (thanks Lefeudedieu)
- Market still needs market fix to show "all" apps (see below)
- Replaced launcher with ADW.Launcer

Issues:
- Some apps only install from market when internal and flash memory are mounted by PC.
- USB mounting of flash-drives e.g. not always working properly

Download : 7htv2_22.11

7htv2_22.10 15 April 2011
Experimental 22.10 ROM. If you don't like experimenting just use the 22.07 or froyo.08 ROM. Still working on some issues, I will release a better tested ROM (7htv2_22.11) next week, based on this one.

* Based on Craig CMP 738A 2.2 Rom of 14-APRIL-2011 (froyo1.00 MASTER.eng.gump.20110331.162508)
- Unencrypted system.img
- Fixed sensor orientation
- Fixed the problem video's not playing
- Added Google Market
- Rooted
- Changed Low Memory Killer settings

Improvements:
- No airplane mode in shutdown menu.
- No market fix needed
- Adobe Reader is working
- Touch screen calibration in Settings menu

Known Issues:
- Some apps only install from market when internal and flash memory are mounted by PC.
- USB mounting of flash-drives e.g. not always working properly
- some very big/ugly icons for apps

Download : 7htv2_22.10

7htv2_22.07 18 March 2011
WARNING, due to the rw partition, you can have issues with other roms you try to install after installing this 22.07. Solution seems to be formatting the internal data. (Or flashing a rom with the RKAndroidTool)

- based upon Birdiebnl's excellent 22.05 build

* Created a read-write system partition (160MB).
* Changed location/setup bootanimation stuff.

Note: On first boot the 160MB read-writable partition will be created. This takes some time and also means that the first flash/boot will take longer.
Note2: Normally your internal memory (approx. 6.5 GB) is not touched. For this read-writable partition I need 160 MB from this 6.5 GB. This means that when going from 7htv2_22.06 (or lower) towards this 22.07 rom, /flash will be repartioned/reformatted and you will lose your data on /flash. For subsequent roms your data is then safe again as the 160 MB has already ben claimed (unless you go back to a lower version).
Note3:RootExplorer behaves a little weird with the r-w system partition. ES File Explorer works fine once you select the rooted option (from settings).

Download : 7htv2_22.07

Version 7HTV2_22.06 14 march 2011

- based upon Birdiebnl's excellent 22.05 build.
- working adhocable.
- lowmemorykiller settings (set to 1536,2048,4096,5120,16384,16384).
- possibility to copy other boot animations (if you fancy that) [1].
- A couple of scripts for gscript [1].
- the MVPS hosts file.

Download : 7htv2_22.06

Version 7HTV2_22.05 12 March 2011

- Removed aufs.ko, because it seems to introduce instability
- Added Android Id Changer (and fixed the rom so the app works)
Handy to have, so you can use always the same android_id
- New market app (but still the same problem, to get it working see below)
- Added Airplane Mode Toggle Widget, if you accidentaly switched the airplane mode in the shutdown menu, you can get wifi back to work by tapping one time on this widget
- Other dalvikvm
- Debugged init.rk28board.rc, it had a lot of errors

Download : 7htv2_22.05

Version 7HTV2_22.04 05 March 2011 (released by hvdwolf)

Rooted and added adhocable and a couple of other apps like rootexplorer and so on. Also added some minor modifications to a couple of settings. To get the market fully working you have to follow the instructions below.

Download : 7htv2_22.04

Version 7HTV2_22.03 05 March 2011

Sensor working correct, and Market working. To get the market fully working you have to follow the instructions below.
Also removed the adobe fonts, so the system.img is more then 30Mb smaller, so there can be added things in future releases. (thanks to hvdwolf)

I think this version is a very usable version, with all things working.

Download : 7htv2_22.03

To get the market working (thanks to LeFeu):

1) start the market and wait everything is synched. (wait for the synch icon to disappear in status bar)
2) go to settings->applications
3) Clear the cache of the Market. (Not the data!)
4) Clear the data of the Google Framework Services
5) reboot and go to Market, it should now work fully

Version 7HTV2_22.02 04 March 2011

Not released, based on a new Froyo firmware for RK2818.
Improvements to market and sensor, but not working fully.

Version 7HTV2_22.01 04 March 2011

First version, a lot of things seem to work! (video playback for example)
One thing that doesn't seem to work is the sensor.
Even the gMail is working. Market doesn't seems to work correctly, it don't find much applications, maybe fingerprint is wrong, will work on that.

Download : 7htv2_22.01

Image

Some info about versions:
Android version : 2.2.1
Build number : froyo1.00 MASTER.eng.temp.20110225.134212


Last edited by birdiebnl on Mon Jun 20, 2011 6:35 pm, edited 28 times in total.

Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 5:47 pm
Posts: 38
:D This is great news


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
That's nice. Did you compile it yourself?
How's the performance?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:47 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 4:58 pm
Posts: 261
Location: Hellendoorn
hvdwolf wrote:
That's nice. Did you compile it yourself?
No, it is based on a froyo image for RK2818 which i found on internet.
hvdwolf wrote:
How's the performance?
Performance looks okay, don't have tested very much although. I'm currently looking for the sensor and the market. Probably again something with androidid and fingerprint.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
birdiebnl wrote:
I'm currently looking for the sensor and the market. Probably again something with androidid and fingerprint.

The fingerprint only determines which applications you see in the market. Applications are tagged as general (+90%) or for a specific brand and sometimes for a specific model.
And the fingerprint is then combined with a couple of the ro.build.xyz options to detemine which version of Android is running on the phone/tablet.
The fingerprint of the HTC should display almost everything, but you could also use the one for the Samsungs or the Google phones. They are available via "google search".

From the picture I assume that the screen buttons are also working?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:29 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 4:58 pm
Posts: 261
Location: Hellendoorn
hvdwolf wrote:
The fingerprint of the HTC should display almost everything, but you could also use the one for the Samsungs or the Google phones. They are available via "google search".
That is the problem ;-) I thought it was clever to put another one into this rom (a 2.2) not being the samsung one... I already found the one for the Samsung Galaxy Tab, will try that one. There seems also to be something wrong with the androidid, so trying to fix that one also.

hvdwolf wrote:
From the photo I assume that the screen buttons are also working?
Yes, it is working perfectly.
Only thing not working is the sensor. Further everything seems to work fine. For the sensor also found some information, hopefully i can release a .02 soon with these things fixed.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:04 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:24 pm
Posts: 114
That's great news! I'm looking forward to have froyo in my tablet. Please keep your creditable work!

_________________
Nokia N810, Archos 7 V2, Kindle 3


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
I just created a dump of the system.img, so I can start to modifying it, like rooting it and change the framework.jar.

Some observations and questions:
- Like you already mentioned: sensor doesn't work, market doesn't work, gmail works.
- I rebooted the tablet and then I got a strange screen: it was locked. It took some time before I understood how to unlock it. Drag the "lock bar". The reboot as such is pretty fast.
- When I connect it to my macbook, I don't get a USB connection. Any idea how I can accomplish that?
- When restaging it back I had to remove the SDcard, copy my 2011.12 image onto it, shut it off, switch it on, unlock the screen ;), and then the update.img was detected on the SDcard.
- Do you have some more info about this rom?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:40 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 4:58 pm
Posts: 261
Location: Hellendoorn
hvdwolf wrote:
- Like you already mentioned: sensor doesn't work, market doesn't work, gmail works.
I now have an version with market working, and also some improvements on the sensor: It works, but it works 90 degrees wrong ;-)

hvdwolf wrote:
- When I connect it to my macbook, I don't get a USB connection. Any idea how I can accomplish that?
You have to touch the notifications in the statusbar, and then switch it on. (USB connected; Select to copy files to/from your computer)

I think i'm very close to a very usefull Froyo image for our A7HTV2.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 2:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 4:58 pm
Posts: 261
Location: Hellendoorn
Just finished a new 2.2 froyo rom (7HTV2_22.03, see first message in this topic), with the market and the sensor working.
To got the sensor working some editing in the framework/view .smali files was necessary.

I can also confirm that the RKAndroidBatchUpgrade tool and driver is working correct on Windows 7 (64bits), with one rom I "bricked" my A7HTV2, and recovered with the RKAndroidBatchUpgrade tool.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
Great work!! Thanks!
I will start working to get it rooted and pack the Adhocable stuff and so on onto your rom.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:24 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:24 pm
Posts: 114
Guys, that looks just great! I'm looking forward your rooted froyo indeed.

_________________
Nokia N810, Archos 7 V2, Kindle 3


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:36 pm
Posts: 14
Looks indeed great :) downloaded it tested it and it's great. But as soon when I want to install angry birds it says installation unsuccesfull.. so I downgraded back to eclair cause I love angry birds :D As soon angry birds is working on this froyo rom I''ll download it again :)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:59 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 4:58 pm
Posts: 261
Location: Hellendoorn
LJui wrote:
But as soon when I want to install angry birds it says installation unsuccesfull..

Seems like you did found a major issue with this rom. It may have to do something with the possibility in Froyo to install apps on SD. Don't know if i can fix this one :-(


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 6:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 4:58 pm
Posts: 261
Location: Hellendoorn
birdiebnl wrote:
LJui wrote:
But as soon when I want to install angry birds it says installation unsuccesfull..

Seems like you did found a major issue with this rom. It may have to do something with the possibility in Froyo to install apps on SD. Don't know if i can fix this one :-(

The output from adb logcat for this issue:
Code:
I/PackageHelper( 1341): Size of container 18 MB 17236900 bytes
D/VoldCmdListener(  706): asec create smdl2tmp1 18 fat {} 10039
E/Vold    (  706): Error opening devmapper (No such file or directory)
E/Vold    (  706): ASEC device mapping failed (No such file or directory)
E/PackageHelper( 1341): Failed to create secure container smdl2tmp1
E/DefContainer( 1341): Failed to create container smdl2tmp1


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 9:44 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
I took birdiebnl's 7HTV2_22.03 rom and made it rooted and added adhocable and a couple of other apps like rootexplorer and so on. I also added some minor modifications to a couple of settings.

You can download it here.

I took a quick look at the angry birds issue but didn't see and couldn't find a solution.
Note also that the last addition of the fullscreen/normalscreen in my 2011.12 eclair rom are not (yet?) in this rom.

For correct Market functioning follow Birbienl's explanation in the first post.

I also modified the boot logo:
Image


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 10:28 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 4:58 pm
Posts: 261
Location: Hellendoorn
birdiebnl wrote:
LJui wrote:
But as soon when I want to install angry birds it says installation unsuccesfull..
Don't know if i can fix this one :-(
There is a workaround (not a nice one, but just share it with you):
When an application doesn't want to install, connect your archos to your PC with USB, so you have mounted the archos (and eventually the sdcard) to your PC. Then install again. Now the install will be succesfull.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 10:35 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:24 pm
Posts: 114
birdiebnl & hvdwolf: GREAT WORK!

I have installed your 22.04 version and the frozen yogurth on the A7HTV2 looks really much better!

(If you need a beta tester for other version, don't hasitate to ask me.)

_________________
Nokia N810, Archos 7 V2, Kindle 3


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:11 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:24 pm
Posts: 114
birdiebnl wrote:
When an application doesn't want to install, connect your archos to your PC with USB, so you have mounted the archos (and eventually the sdcard) to your PC. Then install again. Now the install will be succesfull.

Not always. That trick doesn't work for me (just by the Angry Birds).

EDIT: It works. Only what I had to do is to restart my PC and than re-mount Archos with the USB.

_________________
Nokia N810, Archos 7 V2, Kindle 3


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:22 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:18 am
Posts: 2
Respect Guys! I recently bought this Tablet and probably in last 4 days i installed about 4 different versions of ROm's Nice support! +) REspect! Keep up the good work!
Also when i turned it on today! my Wi-fi doesn't want to turn on! but i guess a restart will fix it! Also is there a way to manually partition the tablet? and what about modified recovery tools (i need touch support in the recovery and ability to boot linux )


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 493 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 25  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™