Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:29 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 8:09 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:44 am
Posts: 15
I've got a 43 and it shows the splash screen and then goes black.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 9:16 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:47 am
Posts: 82
Doesn't work on Gen8 devices.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 5:07 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:02 am
Posts: 66
from what I heard it stop working when the gen 8's went to froyo. Mini works but looks bad on a 7 inch screen, it might look okay on a 4.3 inch screen, but I'd rather use mini on the 28 or 32


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 1:47 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:34 pm
Posts: 82
Be patient; Opera has announced an Opera Mobile version that is better suited for tablets. Personally I'm looking forward to it, I think that Dolphin HD, as good as it is, it's not Opera :)

http://my.opera.com/chooseopera/blog/20 ... ts-preview


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 5:26 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:34 pm
Posts: 82
Mmmm, Opera for tablets looks good:

http://www.intomobile.com/2011/02/16/ha ... d-tablets/

*Waiting patiently*


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:22 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:34 pm
Posts: 82
Opera Mobile is here, available in the market.

http://labs.opera.com/news/2011/03/22/

This time it works like a charm on my A70 (with 2.0.71 firmware), no black screens like the previous version.

The menu buttons still look a bit big for the A70. I would expect that the "tablet optimized UI" would fix that, or have it as an option. So my guess is that I'm getting the "mobile" version, and the tablet-optimized UI is enabled only in other environments, in bigger screens (A101 owners, report :) ) or in Honeycomb only.

However, Opera Mobile is still the good browser you might already know from other platforms: very fast and usable.

Dolphin HD is most probably going to take the boot; with Opera Mobile / Mini and the stock browser, I'm covered! 8)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 9:17 am
Posts: 11
FYI, Opera Mini 6.0 is also out now.

Thanks for the notice about Opera Mobile 11, avel. Since the last version didn't work, I didn't have it installed, so wouldn't have known that there was an update.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 8:45 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 3:43 am
Posts: 26
is there any way to force opera through a configuration file to use the tablet ui on a70


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:17 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:34 pm
Posts: 82
If there is, I haven't found it yet; I keep on looking. :)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 3:55 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 9:17 am
Posts: 11
mdcykkk9 wrote:
is there any way to force opera through a configuration file to use the tablet ui on a70


You can look through Opera's config by browsing to "opera:config"... but I've been through that extensively, looking for something else, and haven't spotted anything that sounds like what you're looking for.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2011 2:54 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:34 pm
Posts: 82
FYI, I have reported to Opera the issue with the A70 not getting the tablet UI.

I'm pretty confident they will fix it soon.

Do you A101 owners get the tablet UI? If not, let me know, so that I can give the Opera guys an update.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:32 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 8:37 am
Posts: 302
I get it on my 101. Its a bit frustrating to have it behave differently between my 70 and 101. I much prefer the 'tablet' layout used.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:32 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:34 pm
Posts: 82
Ah, thanks. Then my report is correct.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 10:52 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:21 pm
Posts: 1
My Archos 32 arrived on Friday, and so far I am pleased with it. I installed Opera Mobile and Opera Mini from Applib. I then installed the Firmware upgrade and Opera Mobile stopped working.

I went to

http://www.opera.com/mobile/download/versions/

and downloaded Opera Mobile 11 for Android file onto my Archos (used the USB cable for convenience), clicking from the file manager allows instillation.

Also removed Opera Mini 5.1 Beta and put on Opera Mini 6.

Both browsers run great on my Archos, and are far superior to the versions on Applib.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:16 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:34 pm
Posts: 82
Archos 70 IT users, rejoice!

Today's update of Opera Mobile and Opera Mini brings us the nicer tablet interface.

Kudos to the Opera team for taking care of the issue I reported to them.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 3:31 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 3:18 pm
Posts: 52
Opera mobile 11.1 corrected some issues with 11.0.

I had dumped Opera 11.0 for Boat Browser during my personnal browser testing a month ago and now I'm back to Opera with 11.1.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2011 2:14 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:29 am
Posts: 119
Using the latest version of opera mobile and I absolutely love it, desktop versions of websites load blazing fast!

Definitely recommended it!


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™