Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:16 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 5:42 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 5:36 pm
Posts: 7
I downloaded the free version of aldiko ereader 2.0 last night on archos 70 and after using it for a while I liked it. This morning I decided to download it on archos 101 but could not find it any where on market, applslib etc. It was still there on my achos 70. But when I tried to open the app and it had disappeared ! Wow, talk about Big Brother not just watching but controlling your device.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 5:36 pm
Posts: 7
OK. It showed up again on archos 70. I used Astro to back it up, then copied the backed up file to desktop, copied the file from desktop to the backup folder on archos 101 and 'installed' it. So problem solved. I now have Aldiko 2.0 on both of my devices.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:21 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:42 pm
Posts: 62
My version of 2.0 kept disappering from the main screen of my new 101. Foolishly I decided to upload another version and have lost the 2.0 version. Do you have any link to this version?
Thanks


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 10:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 3016
Location: Sweetyland
Me too. I looked for 2.0 free because I already have 2.0 Premium, and wanted to compare them. Somebody here said it was on Appslib, but I went there and it's not there.

I went to the Aldiko website and it says "Coming soon".

Hmm ...


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 4:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 10:48 am
Posts: 199
Well Aldiko 2 is available as the paid version on Market and free version made for Archos devices on AppsLib.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 4:42 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 3:16 pm
Posts: 328
Aldiko 2.0 from Appslib before it disappeared. I'm running it on my 101. :)


http://www.4shared.com/file/D3SwxR5U/Aldiko20.html

_________________
Follow me on mytabletlife.com.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 4:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 3:16 pm
Posts: 328
noc wrote:
Well Aldiko 2 is available as the paid version on Market and free version made for Archos devices on AppsLib.


No longer shows for the 101. I guess I got in before they removed it. Also checked Appslib from my PC and it does not show the 101 as being compatible. It does show the 70, 32 and 28 as being "in testing".

_________________
Follow me on mytabletlife.com.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:50 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:19 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Aldiko seems to have learned their customer communication skills from Archos. They all need to go back to school. On the Aldiko page that says "coming soon", they also have an email list you can subscribe to be be the "first to know". Well, I subscribed to that list and have never received a single email. Meanwhile, builds were being posted to Market and Appslib.

BTW, I got the impression that it's pre-release versions, not the official final build, of 2.0 that's being posted. So, some of this coming and going may reflect Aldiko pulling pre-release builds that weren't really ready for prime time. That would also make some sense of the lack of any notifications on that "first to know" mail list.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:58 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 10:48 am
Posts: 199
They haven't notified people as the free version of Aldiko 2 has yet to hit the market. Pro customers are already aware that 2 is available for them and the AppsLib version is really only for Archos devices.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 3016
Location: Sweetyland
And just to confuse the issue further, I have 2.0 Premium, and have had it for a couple of weeks. The latest revision, just a few days ago, fixed the archos margin problem.

I think they're just tinkering with the new version before releasing it to Archos users, i.e. via Appslib, as noc said.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:53 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:42 pm
Posts: 62
Thanks for posting the link - i've so much time trying to get back to where I started


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:38 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 8:37 am
Posts: 302
I found and installed it but had to remove it because it showed as taking up huge amounts of system app space, like 88 where Copilot was my next highest at 24. There's no way a reader should take up that kind of space. I'll give it another try once it reappears in Market.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 7:21 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:24 pm
Posts: 74
I managed to get this from Appslib and am very happy with it. Checking in Settings | Applications | com.aldiko.android shows it as 8.32MB, which isn't all that large for the functionality :D

Dave


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 7:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 10:48 am
Posts: 199
I think Nook is the largest ebook reader at about 16 Meg. No where near the functionality of Aldiko but I do find Nook's actual page display and page turning animation makes for a better experience.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:40 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:40 pm
Posts: 247
Location: New Jersey, USA
blazingwolf wrote:
Aldiko 2.0 from Appslib before it disappeared. I'm running it on my 101. :)


http://www.4shared.com/file/D3SwxR5U/Aldiko20.html


I installed this from blazingwolf last night. Today, the Market presented me with an update to Aldiko 2.0. Now, I'm not sure if I would have seen that if I hadn't already installed. But maybe it is now visible to those with the 101.

_________________
A5IT | A101 | G9 80


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 7:28 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 3016
Location: Sweetyland
"The Market" isn't the problem. Appslib is the problem. It's Appslib which has the Archos version.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 8:06 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
glowcohen wrote:
blazingwolf wrote:
Aldiko 2.0 from Appslib before it disappeared. I'm running it on my 101. :)

http://www.4shared.com/file/D3SwxR5U/Aldiko20.html


I installed this from blazingwolf last night. Today, the Market presented me with an update to Aldiko 2.0. Now, I'm not sure if I would have seen that if I hadn't already installed. But maybe it is now visible to those with the 101.

Google Market has the non-Archos Aldiko 2.0 . This version has issues on Gen8 devices. On any Gen8 once you have Archos Aldiko installed, either 1.2.10 or 2.0.0 then the Market will offer an update to its own non-Archos Aldiko. I ignore it.

The Archos AppsLib is set to not find Archos Aldiko for A101. In fact all Gen8 devices except the A101 show as compatible on the Archos AppsLib Aldiko web page.

sweetypie wrote:
"The Market" isn't the problem. Appslib is the problem. It's Appslib which has the Archos version.

I describe it this way:

To me, Aldiko Ltd. has a problem with coding Aldiko 2.0.0 for the Archos 101. Rather than offering a buggy version for the A101, the AppsLib hooks allow A101s to be "protected" from Archos Aldiko 2.0.0 by not seeing it. If Aldiko Ltd. fixes Archos version 2.0.0 to include proper execution on the A101, then I'm sure it will show on A101s in AppsLib again.

Hopefully this explanation clarifies Market/AppsLib Aldiko a little. If you want to know exactly why it works this way let's get an explanation from the developers for the Market, AppsLib, and Aldiko.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 6:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:40 pm
Posts: 247
Location: New Jersey, USA
Thanks for the clarification. I started using the new 2.0 version from Market and all seems fine so far on my 101. Is the issue that I will get the bottom of page cutoff later in the book?

_________________
A5IT | A101 | G9 80


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 6:27 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
I don't know if cutoff is an issue with the LATEST non-Archos Aldiko which went out of beta today.

Has anyone using the Latest version from the Market seen any problems with it on the A101:
1. Landscape vs Portrait?
2. Page cutoff?
3. Page drift?

If you have the Archos Aldiko then is the Market Aldiko update free?

Thanks,

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 7:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:40 pm
Posts: 247
Location: New Jersey, USA
Update was free. Note: I had been unable to see Aldiko on Market yesterday, I think today's is an updated version.
As a test I just downloaded War and Peace, spot-checked formatting including end of book, all looks good to me.

_________________
A5IT | A101 | G9 80


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™