Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:15 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 5:23 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
The Button Savior (Root) app just shows how easy it is for Archos to implement on their devices.

I have tried on my A5IT and now there is no need to long press power button to exit 'fullscreen' apps.

Really hope Archos implements soon 8)

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 8:35 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 1903
Location: Nomad
This actually gives me an interesting idea.

Now there is work to be done! :badgrin:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
Do you care to spill the beans Harfainx?

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:29 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 1903
Location: Nomad
I'm going to try to either remove, or hide the soft-buttons that are located in the /system/framework/framework-res.apk, then we can use a hidden soft-key set (the one you linked to).

Of course it would be a sloppy fix, but it would allow us to use the full screen, and not have the soft-buttons on the side all the time.

Unfortunately, it's Christmas so I won't be working on anything today. :lol:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2010 1:27 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
Sounds great! =D>

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 5:46 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:35 am
Posts: 551
Harfainx wrote:
I'm going to try to either remove, or hide the soft-buttons that are located in the /system/framework/framework-res.apk, then we can use a hidden soft-key set (the one you linked to).

Of course it would be a sloppy fix, but it would allow us to use the full screen, and not have the soft-buttons on the side all the time.

Unfortunately, it's Christmas so I won't be working on anything today. :lol:

I assume you are doing this with the rooted sde based fw from xda?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2011 12:47 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 1903
Location: Nomad
I tried a few methods, but I always end up in a boot-loop. It doesn't seem to want to take a framework modification.

I'll have to attempt other methods of getting rid of the soft-keys.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:20 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:57 pm
Posts: 76
Anyone try this with either the SDK root or the Archangel root?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 9:43 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:53 am
Posts: 26
looks like there's a hidden setting for your rooted Achos101 to hide your soft keys....check out the thread at XDA: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=940198


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 11:10 am
Posts: 2
Try 'Buttons for RW Rooted Archos' app from the market.
Quote:
Buttons for RW Rooted Archos
Description:
This application for advanced users requires an Archos 43 / 70 / 101 with an rw rooted ROM (search the web for: rw root gen8), but NOT Urukdroid. If you have Urukdroid or a non-rw root, this application will not work--the changes you make will not stick.
Buttons for Archos will let you change the width of the buttons on the bottom or right of the screen (or remove them entirely if you wish, by setting the width to zero) as well as to rearrange the contents of the buttons.
You can even add new buttons with contents like "Camera" or "Volume +". These buttons should work, but they will have no icons due to limitations in the OS.

It says will not work on urukdroid.It works fine on my Urukdroid 1.5(A70S 8gb) .Change the width to '0' and the soft key button menu bar will disappear after reboot.I reboot several time the changes is still there.

Image

Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited