Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 6:13 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: I want to root my A32
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 5:18 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 2:24 am
Posts: 82
I am getting pretty mad at my baby, because it is extremely slow nowadays and is so limited in terms of the Android Market. I constantly run out of app space, things that start at boot are unnecessary, and I would like to further customize my Android experience.
Can rooting do these actions:
1. Overclock to over 1Ghz
2. Control what starts at boot
3. Change fingerprint (or whatever it's called) to an Android device for more compatibility
4. Change the partition for apps space
5. Other ways to use more RAM than what is provided (probably a pipe dream)

Also, do I need a new ROM or is it direct, or can I stick with my stock ROM?
I know this is a lot to ask, but this needs some more life.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 5:46 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 1903
Location: Nomad
1-4 yes, 5 no.

You can use a rooted stock ROM, you don't have to use a custom one.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:24 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:46 am
Posts: 88
Location: Philadelphia, PA
n1nj4ofshr3d wrote:
I am getting pretty mad at my baby, because it is extremely slow nowadays and is so limited in terms of the Android Market. I constantly run out of app space, things that start at boot are unnecessary, and I would like to further customize my Android experience.
Can rooting do these actions:
1. Overclock to over 1GHz
(a.)Yes with SetCPU on a stock, or UrukDroid customized kernels (The max is 1GHz but some people have stable devices with 1.2GHz kernels, (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1205134).
2. Control what starts at boot
(b.)yes
3. Change fingerprint (or whatever it's called) to an Android device for more compatibility
(c.)yes
4. Change the partition for apps space
(d.)Yes with UrukDroid, you have a choice of 512mb, 1gb, and 1.5gb.
or with Harfainx's stock rom way. (viewtopic.php?f=76&t=54637)
5. Other ways to use more RAM than what is provided (probably a pipe dream)
(e.)UrukDroid increases the free memory space, or memory swap but prefer you not to unless you have an sd card that you don't need. Memory Swap uses the external memory as virtual memory but since sd cards aren't built for read and writing like ram does it can kill your external memory device faster. Or with stock rom root you can use Swapper 2.

Also, do I need a new ROM or is it direct, or can I stick with my stock ROM?
(f.)Yes you can use a stock rom. I heard that Archangel still works after a few tries (which doesn't need SDE), but Archos gave a Dual-Boot support for Archos Gen-8 Devices. This is with SDE (http://www.archos.com/support/support_t ... us&lang=en) that can be used to install stock Rom root (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=930197). Also UrukDroid. (http://code.google.com/p/urukdroid/).
BUT TO LET YOU KNOW ONCE SDE IS INSTALLED IT WILL VOID YOUR WARRANTY SO IF YOUR DEVICE BREAKS YOU WON'T BE GETTING A REPLACEMENT.
I know this is a lot to ask, but this needs some more life.
(g.)Juice Defender is the best I've known.

To find more info on urukdroid or stock root is here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=930197
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=895599


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 10:36 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 2:24 am
Posts: 82
Another question, may sound dumb:
Can the resistive touchscreen be turned to multi-touch?
Is the multiple touching of the screen hardware or software?

[EDIT]: I didn't want to use another reply for this:
I've decided to use UrukDroid, and I need help finding the latest version and kernel and other files.
I'm driving myself crazy figuring out what to do. I had this aggravation when I was installing Linux on my Dingoo A320.
Also, I don't know where to start. I'm not very smart with Android hacking :x


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:22 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 2:24 am
Posts: 82
Is there a full-blown tutorial for installing UrukDroid somewhere?
If anyone can tell me how to do this, that would be great.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:29 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:31 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Michigan, USA
http://code.google.com/p/urukdroid/

_________________
Archos 70S
Samsung GalaxyS WiFi 5.0


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 8:15 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 2:24 am
Posts: 82
I just installed UrukDroid, and now I'm having a pretty bad issue.
Whenever the multimedia scan finishes, everything goes insane and the screen goes black except the notification bar and I have to reboot. What happened?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:28 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 2:24 am
Posts: 82
I've finally got UrukDroid up, but I don't like it. There are so little options that can be changed, and they are useless to me. The only one is that with Uruk, my 32 is a lot faster, but that's only because of the overclock from an app. The extra app memory is a little much, and basically split my storage space in half.
So, I'm just going to stock root.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:44 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:40 am
Posts: 476
n1nj4ofshr3d wrote:
Another question, may sound dumb:
Can the resistive touchscreen be turned to multi-touch?
Is the multiple touching of the screen hardware or software?

No.
Hardware.

_________________
A7-160gb/A7o-8gb


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited