Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 6:12 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Windows Compact 7
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:23 am
Posts: 16
What would be required to put Windows Compact 7 on the Archos gen?

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=0a8709b5-bd03-4387-8a10-bf3f9aa94ede&utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3a+MicrosoftDownloadCenter+%28Microsoft+Download+Center%29&pf=true


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Windows Compact 7
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:50 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 9:32 pm
Posts: 26
I was wondering the same thing as it would be pretty good to dual boot Android and Windows Compact 7, hopefully someone will know :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Windows Compact 7
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 5:02 pm
Posts: 159
ETJ wrote:
I was wondering the same thing as it would be pretty good to dual boot Android and Windows Compact 7, hopefully someone will know :)


Err x86 I think. Compact is just win7 for rom based devices as opposed to installing on hdd.

Don't think Ms will support arm cpu's till windows 8.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Windows Compact 7
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:26 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:31 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Michigan, USA
mr-mac wrote:
ETJ wrote:
I was wondering the same thing as it would be pretty good to dual boot Android and Windows Compact 7, hopefully someone will know :)


Err x86 I think. Compact is just win7 for rom based devices as opposed to installing on hdd.

Don't think Ms will support arm cpu's till windows 8.

Windows Embedded Compact 7 does support ARM CPUs. The following is directly from http://www.microsoft.com/windowsembedded/en-us/evaluate/windows-embedded-compact-7.aspx
Quote:
Windows Embedded Compact 7 Overview
Small Footprint minimum 500KB, 700 Components
Processors ARM, MIPS, x86
Real-time OS: SMP 32-bit native unified kernel real-time Operating SystemNew symmetrical multiprocessing support
Run Win32 Apps: Customized Win 32 Applications

_________________
Archos 70S
Samsung GalaxyS WiFi 5.0


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Windows Compact 7
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:55 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 5:02 pm
Posts: 159
Ah yeah the name for windows ce now.

Not full fat windows.

Would like ce on it myself.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Windows Compact 7
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 2:56 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:35 am
Posts: 551
The real issue with this is that you'll never get any reasonable video acceleration.
I'd love to get this on my Archie too.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Windows Compact 7
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2011 11:30 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:35 am
Posts: 551
SO i downloaded ce 7 yesterdad and started playing with it. I also just installed the SDE and uruk on my a101.
I think the real issue here is getting the SDE to boot the NK.bin from the ce7 build. If anyone has any ideas on this let me know as I am interested in trying to get something working here.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Windows Compact 7
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2011 8:51 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 9:32 pm
Posts: 26
Has anyone managed to get anything working yet regarding this, I'm bit of a novice really and don't know any coding but I might learn some and see if I can do anything :)
ETJ


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Windows Compact 7
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:28 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:23 am
Posts: 1
I'm sorry for posting so late, but he Zune HD has an arm processor (tegra apx 2600) and is based off of windows ce 6. If I were to upload the boot file, would this help?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Windows Compact 7
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 7:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:40 pm
Posts: 274
Location: The Woodlands, TX
techguy71 wrote:
I'm sorry for posting so late, but he Zune HD has an arm processor (tegra apx 2600) and is based off of windows ce 6. If I were to upload the boot file, would this help?


Good idea - I run Liberate on my Zune HD, which allows access to the WinCE desktop. Would be cool to have on a 101.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Windows Compact 7
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 2:49 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:23 am
Posts: 16
I'm not very experienced in the realm of mobile linux but am when it comes to standard intel-based hardware. I don't fully understand the booting procedure of tablets but if the bin is an issue then can't you just load it from the AOS boot-loader or something similar?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited