Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:12 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 6:26 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:41 pm
Posts: 142
If you have a rooted device with the SDE method so you can change system files you can "fix" the camera by changing a boot parameter

In the init file for your device you can change this line

setprop ro.board.camera_hflipped yes

to

setprop ro.board.camera_hflipped no

and then restart and it should no longer be flipped

The init files are all in the root / directory and are named
init.A101IT.rc, init.A70H.rc, init.A70S.rc, etc

You only need to change the config file for your device.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 11:14 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:07 pm
Posts: 653
Or you add

ro.board.camera_hflipped=yes

Into /system/build.prop


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 12:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 19
Nice find! Although BarcodeScanner 3.53 also seems to work now with front-faced cameras.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:45 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:32 am
Posts: 144
Thank you very much to all above post for sharing.

_________________
ARCHOS101-16GB/16GB MicroSD-2.3.20


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:31 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:57 pm
Posts: 76
There is a setting in the latest version of Barcode Scanner that will auto reverse....

If you use this barcode scanner:

http://www.appbrain.com/app/barcode-sca ... nt.android

you can reverse the "camera image" and it does scan....


Last edited by fuzzer on Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 2:28 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 3:02 pm
Posts: 41
Which camera app did you use? I can only find Shop Saavy but it does not have flip image:

EDIT: found it in appslib, but even with flip image turned on, the image isnt' flipped and I can't scan anything.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 4:28 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:15 am
Posts: 17
Location: Madison, WI. USA
L0stS0ul wrote:
If you have a rooted device with the SDE method so you can change system files you can "fix" the camera by changing a boot parameter

In the init file for your device you can change this line

setprop ro.board.camera_hflipped yes

to

setprop ro.board.camera_hflipped no

and then restart and it should no longer be flipped

The init files are all in the root / directory and are named
init.A101IT.rc, init.A70H.rc, init.A70S.rc, etc

You only need to change the config file for your device.

I apologize in advance if this seems like something obvious but...
How exactly do you view the init file? Any links to a quick "how to" would be appreciated.

I booted up my Archos in developer mode, connected it to my computer with the USB cable. (Choosing the option to mount it.)
I expected to see the init.A101IT.rc file at the root directory when I used my Windows file explorer to look at the Archos's drive, but although I see other things (like the rootfs.img.gz), I do not see the init file.

I tried searching the forum for a dummies guide for accessing the init file and didn't come across anything.

Thanks in advance for the help.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 11:08 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:07 pm
Posts: 653
What you see from the computer is not the root of the device.

You need a fileexplorer that has root privilegs like rootexplorer.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 7:02 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:15 am
Posts: 17
Location: Madison, WI. USA
FZelle wrote:
What you see from the computer is not the root of the device.

You need a fileexplorer that has root privilegs like rootexplorer.

I downloaded rootexplorer to my tablet.
Rebooted using SDE then launched rootexplorer to browse the root directory.
I see..
ini.golfish.rc
init.rc
I still don't see a file named init.A101IT.rc ?

Could it located somewhere else on the tablet? (I have a 101 internet tablet.)

edit: the two init files I found (noted above) are readable in my text editor.
There is another file in the root directory named "init" but that one is not readable in a text editor. It is 109.29k


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:10 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:15 am
Posts: 17
Location: Madison, WI. USA
Found the file.

etc/init/init.A101IT.rc


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited