Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:28 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:54 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:11 am
Posts: 7
honestly, im not sure where i should post this because it is about both the 28 and 32. but its mainly about the 28. basically, i lost my ipod nano in june. i dont mean like look through your dirty clothes lost, i mean like i never found it so i think i left it somewhere :( . long story short, i had never heard of archos until i started looking for another pmp. i had considered the itouch, but the price tag deterred me along with the fact that i like to give other electronics a try, because i like the challenge of learning something new and i want to pay for more than a name and pretty commercials. i was immediately interested in the 28, because its small and cheap. but because my nano was an 8 gb, my amount of music is trimmed to fit 8 gigs, not 4 (and i havent found a single place to buy the 28 8 gb). i wanted to go cheap, but i saw here that the 28's screen isnt the best for what little movies i may watch, and is kind of dark. does anyone who ownes the 28, 32, or both think that the 32 is worth the extra cash? Thanks, and i think its really cool you all support a company and product line like this :) .


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2010 1:28 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:13 pm
Posts: 221
I think the 32 is worth the extra 50 for a couple of reasons:
-Twice as much RAM, which will makes the 32 faster than the 28 and less likely to have in-app crashes
-A bigger screen with "higher resolution" (400x240 is so so, so i can only imagine how bad 320x240 would be)
-Better battery life
(32- ÔÇó Music playback time6: up to 24 hours
ÔÇó Video playback time6: up to 6 hours
ÔÇó Web surfing6: up to 8 hours

28- ÔÇó Music playback time5: up to 16 hours
ÔÇó Video playback time5: up to 4 hours
ÔÇó Web surfing5: up to 6 hours )

-

_________________
Mr. 32


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2010 1:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:31 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Michigan, USA
32 also has bluetooth
28 does not

_________________
Archos 70S
Samsung GalaxyS WiFi 5.0


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:11 am
Posts: 7
thank you both, and honestly i had thought of all of that. Except the ram, i had been looking for an hour last night trying to find that! so can you tell me how much it is? i think the 28 is almost 256, so id say 512 maybe?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2010 7:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:13 pm
Posts: 221
drmoneejd wrote:
thank you both, and honestly i had thought of all of that. Except the ram, i had been looking for an hour last night trying to find that! so can you tell me how much it is? i think the 28 is almost 256, so id say 512 maybe?


32(along with the 43,70 & 101) are 256MB
28- 128MB

_________________
Mr. 32


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 5:10 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:11 am
Posts: 7
oh wow. im really new to the andriod scene(never even played with one), so is 256 good for an andriod device?and thanks, the 32 it is. i dont know if i should get it yet, or if the price will come down any time soon.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:13 pm
Posts: 221
drmoneejd wrote:
oh wow. im really new to the andriod scene(never even played with one), so is 256 good for an andriod device?and thanks, the 32 it is. i dont know if i should get it yet, or if the price will come down any time soon.


256 is acceptable. I definitely would not go below it though. The price on the 32 might go down a bit (the cheapest i saw it for was 139.99 on amazon a while back)

_________________
Mr. 32


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 7:38 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:31 pm
Posts: 589
Run to Sears.com right now. The 32 is $129.99 this week.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 3:29 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 3:26 am
Posts: 16
got the 28 tonight for $86 from sears and played with it for 8 hours.gotta say i love the size compared to my virgin mobile intercept.its tiny small.im gonna keep it for certain task it can handle since im a patient person,but i have to be honest.128 megs of ram is not enough.i had 2 freezing problems that i think is my fault.holding down the power button 10 seconds restarted it.i wasn't working it to bad so i know it needs more ram.another thing is the screen is to touchy.i mean anytime i just scroll the drawer,i tap random apps and start them.it makes me think its defective cause its so so sensitive.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 8:26 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:22 pm
Posts: 5
there is also an 8gb version on all archos gen8 the 32 is the only one where you have only one
storage size (8gb)

and you could also boost up 64 mb more with virtual ram wich will use the 4 or 8 gb (i did with a lot of trouble) if you like but that will take some time to install so i realy hope there will be an option for that in the next filmware :)
read more about virtual memory here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtual_memory


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited