Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 4:49 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: A101 keeps rebooting
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 12:23 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:15 pm
Posts: 6
I updated my firmware to 2.3.26 last week. Ever since then, every time the screen goes off, the device gets stuck in an endless reboot cycle. Needless to say, it's killing my battery and a huge nuisance. Is anyone else experiencing this? Is it a bug in the firmware? I'm pretty much stock...only have a handful of apps installed (I actually reset it to factory before updating the firmware)...using ADW launcher. Any ideas would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
caseymnpc


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: A101 keeps rebooting
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 2:58 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 2:55 pm
Posts: 17
hi,

I had the same problem..
Solution was that i placed on archos firmware from archos page..
http://www.archos.com/support/support_t ... g=en&#firm

Easy, described at page.. Firmware 2.3.20..
Just ingore that is writing at page that is 2.3.26.. there is still an old one :-)

M.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: A101 keeps rebooting
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 5:17 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:38 pm
Posts: 352
don't quite understand your solution.
You installed the firmware from the Archos site, rather than over the air update?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: A101 keeps rebooting
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 7:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:15 pm
Posts: 6
warlock257 wrote:
don't quite understand your solution.
You installed the firmware from the Archos site, rather than over the air update?


I'm in the same boat...I don't quite understand what maaarek is saying.

Anyhow, this hasn't happened to me at all today. It happened several times yesterday and is very frustrating. I got an OTA this morning for an update to plugins pack and I installed it. I also turned on screen lock (not sure if/why it would affect this) and it hasn't happened today. Hoping it's fixed now!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: A101 keeps rebooting
PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 4:38 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 1
I have exactly the same problem, even after full reinstall and trying to install the firmware from the archossite. Very, very annoying. Has anyone found a working solution?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: A101 keeps rebooting
PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 3:34 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:44 pm
Posts: 26
Same thing happening here. What's up with the endless bootloop? I was trying to show off my tablet to potential buyers but they were turned off by the fact that my tablet was going on the fritz.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: A101 keeps rebooting
PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 10:32 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 8:25 pm
Posts: 129
Location: UK
I am also getting this,

I am using the latest version of URUKDROID (1.0) though.
(never had the problem when using standard install, or on 0.7 of urukdroid)

I get an error sometimes when I put it into standby
'sorry! the process system is not responding' and it reboots.

then it reboots every time the screen times out or if i put it
into standby manually.

I have no idea if its related to urukdroid or if its the same problem you are
getting on standard archos firmware?

_________________
Archos 101 UrukDroid 0.7


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: A101 keeps rebooting
PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:25 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:20 am
Posts: 2
Hi. I bought the Archos 101 several days ago and after updating to the latest firmware this rebooting cycle started happening to me as well. At first I thought it was only the power button locking up but after thoroughly checking it the cycle still happens. The only thing I could do was press the power button continuously to shut it down then turn it back on again.

I hope this gets resolved in a future update (and soon I hope).


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: A101 keeps rebooting
PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:57 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:42 am
Posts: 26
I had this too yesterday and found somewhere that this might be related to moving out of range of a wifi point.
Now if I'm on the move I disable wifi to see if the issue returns

cheers
b


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: A101 keeps rebooting
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:17 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:20 am
Posts: 2
That could be possible. But it happened one time at home where we have wifi. Then again it is possible that the Archos got disconnected from our home network during that time.

We'll see.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: A101 keeps rebooting
PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:07 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 10:45 pm
Posts: 119
Mine is doing the same and keeps doing it until either battery is flat or you hold the power button down and do a hard reset, I e-mailed Archos about it over 2 weeks ago but no response. Are they stopping A101 support now I wonder, if there's no update which fixes this my next tablet will not be an Archos.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: A101 keeps rebooting
PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2011 6:28 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 1903
Location: Nomad
FSki wrote:
Are they stopping A101 support now I wonder, if there's no update which fixes this my next tablet will not be an Archos.


They said earlier this week that there would be a firmware update within two weeks... so no.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: A101 keeps rebooting
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 8:02 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 1:04 pm
Posts: 1
Had the same problem. I kept the power-button pressed for more than 10 seconds; problem solved ... but I don't know why.
I feared I would lose all my settings, but no! Nothing was lossed.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: A101 keeps rebooting
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 4:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 3:41 pm
Posts: 1
I have literally had this thing for less than an hour and the screen froze then rebooted but froze while it was rebooting on the archos logo. I don't know how to fix it. I read the 14 little pages of the manual and I held down the button for 10 seconds like it said and turned it back on but it did it again and i'm fed up. I have been trying for 3 hours now to get this to work but I cant even get it past my security code before it crashes. I ordered this brand spanking new so I don't understand why it is having so many problems. I read online that the a101 titanium got very good reviews so I ordered it. so far its been a piece of crap. i'm very unhappy with my purchase. my brother ordered a tablet that wasn't a brand name off of amazon and it has been working flawlessly. I ordered this one because I was afraid that the not brand name one wouldn't work but I was wrong. if anyone could help me with this problem I would really appreciate it. I cant really get past my security code though so if there is anything I could do with buttons I would really love to hear it!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: A101 keeps rebooting
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:37 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1795
Location: Honolulu
This is not the titanium section. I dont have experience with that type, but probably you can a better manual on archos.com with a more extreme type of error recovery procedure using vol button.

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited