Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:57 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:51 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
This Sticky topic is a place holder for tips to new owners. I'll update this OP as we go along. I created this topic following a suggestion from a member - vohkuhl.

This topic has immediate consequences in duplication: All the Gen8s run the same Firmware. So each Gen8 forum Might be able to use the same "Newbie Tips".

On 24 Nov I've copied this Sticky topic to the Gen8 General, A101 and A70 forums. Let's see they end up.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:37 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:56 am
Posts: 7
If you don't like the view angle of your Archos, flip it :D seriously, rotate so that "archos 101 internet tablet" label is on the top. You'll see the difference


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:46 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:55 am
Posts: 30
TOUCHSCREEN DEAD SPOTS FIX ??? - WORKED FOR ME

Hi All

I also had this problem when i first received my 101 it was like icons/widgets would stick when i tried to drag them to delete or if i held down touch the middle of the screen for the "Add to home screen" option it would not work. What i did was as follows:

1.) Click here to download the 1.0.84 firmware from archos.com

2.) IMPORTANT make sure your device is plugged in - Turn off your Archos, turn it back on and instantly hold the volume down button untill you get to the white Archos recovery screen, you can now let go of the volume button.

3.) (In the recovery menu your volume up/down button moves the cursor and the power button selects the highlighted option.)
From here select -

Format System
Reformat Device
I Understand

All data (music, photos, videos, etc.), applications and settings wil be erased
Follow the on-screen instructions untill it asks you to connect your device to you computer PC
Your ARCHOS device will be detected as a 'Mobile Device' in Windows® Explorer (will appear as as a drive in "My Computer" Double-click on the Drive icon and you will see the various ARCHOS folders inside (Video, Music, etc.). Copy the firmware file you downloaded earlier (step 1.) into this area but be careful not to paste it into any of the folders there.

Follow the on-screen instructions (on Archos) untill the firmware has been installed and the setup wizard starts (like when you first turned it on from new)

4.) Once your archos has been restored its gonna need calibrating so go to

Settings > Repair & Formatting > Touch Screen Calibration.

and

Settings > Repair & Formatting > Accelerometer Calibration.

If all goes well should be silky smooth and very responsive. :)

Hope this helps...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 12:47 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:10 pm
Posts: 231
Screen shots:

As some might not know, it is possible to take screenshots on your Archos.

Do the following:

- Open Settings
- Open Applications
- Open Development
- Select 'Take a screenshot instead of suspending'.

Now your short-press on the power button will dump a screen shot on your flash card. just un-check it again to get the power button to sleep the screen again :)

Just be aware that it will take the screenshot upside down ..


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:21 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:50 pm
Posts: 164
How to format an external HDD to Fat32 so it will work on your A101.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pljbf1K6hH4

This video tutorial is great! I haven formatted anything outside of MS Dos is forever. But this helped me so I am sure it will help you. But here is a way to do so in MS DOS.

Open a command window by going to Start, then Run and typing in CMD.

command prompt

Now type in the following command at the prompt:

format /FS:FAT32 X:

Replace the letter X with the letter of your external hard drive in Windows. Windows will go ahead and begin formatting the drive in FAT32!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:47 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:06 pm
Posts: 38
Tdouble wrote:
TOUCHSCREEN DEAD SPOTS FIX ??? - WORKED FOR ME

Hi All

I also had this problem when i first received my 101 it was like icons/widgets would stick when i tried to drag them to delete or if i held down touch the middle of the screen for the "Add to home screen" option it would not work. What i did was as follows:

1.) Click here to download the 1.0.84 firmware from archos.com

2.) IMPORTANT make sure your device is plugged in - Turn off your Archos, turn it back on and instantly hold the volume down button untill you get to the white Archos recovery screen, you can now let go of the volume button.

3.) (In the recovery menu your volume up/down button moves the cursor and the power button selects the highlighted option.)
From here select -

Format System
Reformat Device
I Understand

All data (music, photos, videos, etc.), applications and settings wil be erased
Follow the on-screen instructions untill it asks you to connect your device to you computer PC
Your ARCHOS device will be detected as a 'Mobile Device' in Windows® Explorer (will appear as as a drive in "My Computer" Double-click on the Drive icon and you will see the various ARCHOS folders inside (Video, Music, etc.). Copy the firmware file you downloaded earlier (step 1.) into this area but be careful not to paste it into any of the folders there.

Follow the on-screen instructions (on Archos) untill the firmware has been installed and the setup wizard starts (like when you first turned it on from new)

4.) Once your archos has been restored its gonna need calibrating so go to

Settings > Repair & Formatting > Touch Screen Calibration.

and

Settings > Repair & Formatting > Accelerometer Calibration.

If all goes well should be silky smooth and very responsive. :)

Hope this helps...

_____________________________

Hi,
You are suggesting this if the 1.0.84 firmware update didn't take properly, yes?. I ask as it was the first thing I did when I received the 101 last Monday
but didn't do any of the above, just updated thru firmware update on 101, and seems to work fine, except for lack of ram. I am just curious would it be
even better if I did what you call out above? If so, too late I assume, since I already did the firmware update?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:10 pm
Posts: 231
bob24usa wrote:
Tdouble wrote:
TOUCHSCREEN DEAD SPOTS FIX ??? - WORKED FOR ME

Hi All

I also had this problem when i first received my 101 it was like icons/widgets would stick when i tried to drag them to delete or if i held down touch the middle of the screen for the "Add to home screen" option it would not work. What i did was as follows:

1.) Click here to download the 1.0.84 firmware from archos.com

2.) IMPORTANT make sure your device is plugged in - Turn off your Archos, turn it back on and instantly hold the volume down button untill you get to the white Archos recovery screen, you can now let go of the volume button.

3.) (In the recovery menu your volume up/down button moves the cursor and the power button selects the highlighted option.)
From here select -

Format System
Reformat Device
I Understand

All data (music, photos, videos, etc.), applications and settings wil be erased
Follow the on-screen instructions untill it asks you to connect your device to you computer PC
Your ARCHOS device will be detected as a 'Mobile Device' in Windows® Explorer (will appear as as a drive in "My Computer" Double-click on the Drive icon and you will see the various ARCHOS folders inside (Video, Music, etc.). Copy the firmware file you downloaded earlier (step 1.) into this area but be careful not to paste it into any of the folders there.

Follow the on-screen instructions (on Archos) untill the firmware has been installed and the setup wizard starts (like when you first turned it on from new)

4.) Once your archos has been restored its gonna need calibrating so go to

Settings > Repair & Formatting > Touch Screen Calibration.

and

Settings > Repair & Formatting > Accelerometer Calibration.

If all goes well should be silky smooth and very responsive. :)

Hope this helps...

_____________________________

Hi,
You are suggesting this if the 1.0.84 firmware update didn't take properly, yes?. I ask as it was the first thing I did when I received the 101 last Monday
but didn't do any of the above, just updated thru firmware update on 101, and seems to work fine, except for lack of ram. I am just curious would it be
even better if I did what you call out above? If so, too late I assume, since I already did the firmware update?


If your device does not suffer from dead spot problems, then there is no reason to do any of the above :) ... and as I read it, you don't seem to have any problems??


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:44 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 7:00 pm
Posts: 90
Location: New York
If your 101 is NOT charging, Check to see if the Charger is Plugged into the Power Socket located at the bottom of the 101 and NOT the Headphone Opening.

A couple people including myself have plugged it into the Headphone Opening (which is a perfect fit). So this seems to have happened often to different people.

NO HARM reported by anyone including me.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:54 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:38 pm
Posts: 352
just next time you put your headphones on, you are electrocuted
:p


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:47 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:27 pm
Posts: 14
SHould I do this now that I have 2.0 firmware or should I simply use the same instructions but reinstall 2.0 (w/2.2 Android)?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 11:31 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:27 am
Posts: 73
cyberdrakula wrote:
If your 101 is NOT charging, Check to see if the Charger is Plugged into the Power Socket located at the bottom of the 101 and NOT the Headphone Opening.

A couple people including myself have plugged it into the Headphone Opening (which is a perfect fit). So this seems to have happened often to different people.

NO HARM reported by anyone including me.


I've done the same, and there shouldn't be any harm.

The way a headphone socket makes a complete circuit and the way the power adapter makes a complete circuit are physically different. Luckily, there shouldn't be any way of accidentally feeding DC power through the headphone jack because of this.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:43 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:41 pm
Posts: 142
If you are used to using itunes to manage media devices then you will love http://www.doubletwist.com/. I don't personally use it but I know a lot of people that don't know much about android that prefer to use it to manage their devices.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:40 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:44 pm
Posts: 23
So how long does the initial charge take for you guys? Can I use my 101 while its still charging? It's been charging for about half an hour or so and I'm dying to use it! :lol:


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 12:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:10 pm
Posts: 231
Srontgorrth wrote:
So how long does the initial charge take for you guys? Can I use my 101 while its still charging? It's been charging for about half an hour or so and I'm dying to use it! :lol:


You can use it while it is charging with no problems .. it just takes longer to charge of course :) ... the tablet comes with some charge it in already. So fire it up and get cracking :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 3:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 7:38 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Atlanta, GA, US
Tdouble wrote:
TOUCHSCREEN DEAD SPOTS FIX ??? - WORKED FOR ME

Hi All

I also had this problem when i first received my 101 it was like icons/widgets would stick when i tried to drag them to delete or if i held down touch the middle of the screen for the "Add to home screen" option it would not work. What i did was as follows:

1.) Click here to download the 1.0.84 firmware from archos.com

2.) IMPORTANT make sure your device is plugged in - Turn off your Archos, turn it back on and instantly hold the volume down button untill you get to the white Archos recovery screen, you can now let go of the volume button.

3.) (In the recovery menu your volume up/down button moves the cursor and the power button selects the highlighted option.)
From here select -

Format System
Reformat Device
I Understand

All data (music, photos, videos, etc.), applications and settings wil be erased
Follow the on-screen instructions untill it asks you to connect your device to you computer PC
Your ARCHOS device will be detected as a 'Mobile Device' in Windows® Explorer (will appear as as a drive in "My Computer" Double-click on the Drive icon and you will see the various ARCHOS folders inside (Video, Music, etc.). Copy the firmware file you downloaded earlier (step 1.) into this area but be careful not to paste it into any of the folders there.

Follow the on-screen instructions (on Archos) untill the firmware has been installed and the setup wizard starts (like when you first turned it on from new)

4.) Once your archos has been restored its gonna need calibrating so go to

Settings > Repair & Formatting > Touch Screen Calibration.

and

Settings > Repair & Formatting > Accelerometer Calibration.

If all goes well should be silky smooth and very responsive. :)

Hope this helps...


One small change for those who got 2.2 installed or did a firmware upgrade in response to the screen prompt:

Get the new firmware instead of the one specified above:

http://update.archos.com/8/gen8/gen8_2.0.54/firmware_archos_android_gen8.aos

otherwise your upgrade will fail.

However, the non-responsiveness of the middle part of the screen is not fixed :cry: I am using a screen protector maybe that is causing it!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:31 pm
Posts: 1
Where can I buy one of these? The site says "notify me."


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:43 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 1903
Location: Nomad
eric8421 wrote:
Where can I buy one of these? The site says "notify me."


You just have to be lucky and find them at a reseller before they sell out. These always sell out within a few hours, regardless of who's selling them.

Amazon
TigerDirect
Newegg
Archos

Try all of those, just have to keep checking and hope to get lucky. There are a lot of people still waiting to get their hands on these devices.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:55 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:47 am
Posts: 2
I'm experiencing the same issues with the dead spots on the screen. The "fix" listed in previous post did not correct the problem. Just received the 101 two days ago. Running 2.2


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:59 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:47 am
Posts: 2
I've also calibrated several times, and do not have a screen protector


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Newbie Tips
PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:39 pm
Posts: 13
Location: YYC
Harfainx wrote:
eric8421 wrote:
Where can I buy one of these? The site says "notify me."


You just have to be lucky and find them at a reseller before they sell out. These always sell out within a few hours, regardless of who's selling them.

Amazon
TigerDirect
Newegg
Archos

Try all of those, just have to keep checking and hope to get lucky. There are a lot of people still waiting to get their hands on these devices.


Archos.ca also has them sporadically. Apparently all preorders will be shipping this week. Plus free shipping to US as well (I don't work there, but have bought from them before).


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited