Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 7:34 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Unlocking my G9 101
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:51 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:52 pm
Posts: 10
I have a problem with my G9 101 and hope there's the expertise here to help solve it.
I downloaded and installed a firmware update from Archos and now the device won't unlock.
Tried all the usual, switching on/off, holding down the power button but there aren't many options.
Ideas please will be gratefully received :?
Bob


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Unlocking my G9 101
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:58 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:42 am
Posts: 23
Give this a try ;
Push and keep the power button pushed for at least 20 or 30 seconds.
Else, keep the volume button and power button pushed simultaneously for 20 seconds, or until the machine reboots.
If that doesn't help repeat but make sure no sdcard inserted.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Unlocking my G9 101
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:55 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:52 pm
Posts: 10
Thanks sb but neither have worked.
Have now tried just about all possible combinations of the switched available!
Any other thoughts pleeeeeease
Bob


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Unlocking my G9 101
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 3:13 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:42 am
Posts: 23
Have you tried connecting the tablet to your pc? This sometimes helps with weird behaviour.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Unlocking my G9 101
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:35 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:52 pm
Posts: 10
Thanks again for the idea but it hasn't worked. However, does give access to files etc on the tablet and I wonder if it may be possible to reload the update (or take it off!) via the pc? Any ideas?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Unlocking my G9 101
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:01 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1773
Location: Honolulu
The archos.com firmware download page tells how to slap it from your pc into tablet root.

Sticky topics in general gen9 area tell how you can recover other original files from an archos ftp site if they are gone. Your discussions will work better in that area because firmware isnt 101 specific.

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Unlocking my G9 101
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:22 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:52 pm
Posts: 10
Ok, that's great, I'll give it a try.
Thanks


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Unlocking my G9 101
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:56 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:52 pm
Posts: 10
Successfully downloaded update via a pc as per instructions and tablet confirmed installed and reboot - but it hasn't solved the problem.
Any other thoughts please.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Unlocking my G9 101
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 12:45 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 1019
bob wrote:
Successfully downloaded update via a pc as per instructions and tablet confirmed installed and reboot - but it hasn't solved the problem.
Any other thoughts please.

Ok, time to be specific, tighten up your comments, and go through this step by step. In your opening post, what exactly do you mean by "... and now the device won't unlock"? It's not a phone, you don't "lock it".

When you switch on the device, what screens are shown, and what do they say? What exactly is on the final screen on which you end up?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Unlocking my G9 101
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:52 pm
Posts: 10
At switch on the screen shows date and time on the left and on the right, a circle with a padlock in it.
Method to 'unlock' the device is to touch and drag the padlock out of the circle.
However, doing this no longer 'opens' or 'unlocks' the device so it is not possible to move from this initial screen.
Thanks for your interest.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Unlocking my G9 101
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:49 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 1019
Thanks, I understand now - I'm a bit slow :(

I didn't read the title of your post properly, or I'd have seen that your post is in the wrong forum. This forum is for the G8 101's. This "locking and unlocking" circle is a feature of Android Ice Cream Sandwich and later, which is not available for the G8 101's :(

You might want to try re-posting in this forum viewforum.php?f=85 to gain a bigger, more appropriate audience. While I HAVE used ICS and Jellybean, I have no technical knowledge of it - sorry :(


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Unlocking my G9 101
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 2:27 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:52 pm
Posts: 10
Thanks for this advice Jamie, I'll do that (I didn't realise I'd posted in the wrong area #-o )
Thanks again for your interest
Cheers
Bob


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™