Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Tue Nov 19, 2019 11:06 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Tablet will not power up
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 9:42 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 9:32 pm
Posts: 1
I bought my wife an Archos 70 Internet Tablet in September 2011. She has been unable to get the tablet to power up for the past several days. Someone told her to attach the tablet to the computer and to "leave it until the green light goes on," but that has been unsuccessful. Any suggestions?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 9:48 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 5:19 pm
Posts: 17
The tablet can not be powered up by the PC. Put it on the DC and if it's not powering up try to warm it (yes just warm it with your room heater or air conditioner) and it will power up. Seems like the tablet is sensitive to cold, I had this problem myself.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 12:28 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:42 pm
Posts: 27
If the warm heater solution above doesn't work, and I've seen many posts on different forums claiming it does, then from what I've read I think the "plugged into PC USB" solution also included having the charger plugged in as well i.e. Plug in the charger and also connect to PC.

I've had a similar issue occasionally on both of ours and, although I've never needed to try either of the above solutions, I've found that plugging in the charger then waiting 5 or so minutes before holding down the power button for 10 seconds to "reset" the device (not a factory reset) has worked every time.

My issue was usually caused by the battery running down and completely discharging if I accidentally left it on for a few days and didn't notice. Now I use deep sleep, which is brilliant, and make sure the power light goes out before putting it on the shelf. For my 4yr old son I have set it to automatically deep sleep on timeout.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 4:50 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 5:19 pm
Posts: 17
I've a question about the deep sleep. The device goes to deep sleep if its enabled as soon as the screen goes off?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 4:59 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:42 pm
Posts: 27
Not quite, the device tries to suspend running processes before going into deep sleep, some processes can cause delays or prevent it. The WakeLocks tab in System Monitor shows processes that may be preventing deep sleep.

On my sons Archos 70 I have deep sleep set on screen timeout as he tends to put it down and go play something else spontaineously. Whereas on mine I prefer to just "power off" to deep sleep, always checking the power light goes out when I do. If not I try again or check System Monitor.

Hope this helps

(typed from my Archos 70 IT)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited