Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Fri Jan 24, 2020 9:32 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:16 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 10:39 am
Posts: 20
Could anyone run overclocking UrukDroid on Archos 70it?

I tried UrukDroid 1.6/1.5-Install.rar and 1.6B1-kernelSOCUV.tbz2 on this page:
http://sauron.pourix.com/UrukDroid/UrukDroid-1.6/

Nomal 1.6/1.5 works fine. But after replacing zImage and initramfs with the
overclocking version, boot sequence stops on the way leaving a message:
UrukdDroid 1.6/1.5 Rootfs: Init....

Thank you in advance.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:02 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 11:41 am
Posts: 79
Guys - start reading, not posting only :/

http://code.google.com/p/urukdroid/wiki ... pugovernor


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:06 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:58 pm
Posts: 268
Yes, it is very easy followings Sauron's guide. You need a rooted file manager and a terminal app for pre testing. I found that using my Ubuntu box with a root file manager I could modify cpugovernor easier than on a half of a 7" screen. Besides, I could not save the modded file when working from the A70.
Currently running UDRC7, max_freq=1100000, max_vsel=68. Running well. I did test 1200000 at 68 but it locked up. It seems the best results are with 1100000.

_________________
SteveB
A9 Win7HP
A32 A70-8v6 UD1.6


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 10:39 am
Posts: 20
Thank you all.
I had thought the OC module is kind of "overclockable" module that users have to set the actual speed after boot via config file or applications such as setcpu.
But the fact is that the module is already overclocked so as to run at 1.1GHz by default.
And unfortunately my cpu can't afford to run at 1.1GHz, so it doesn't even boot up with OC module.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 7:18 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:58 pm
Posts: 268
aaaaaaa wrote:
Thank you all.
I had thought the OC module is kind of "overclockable" module that users have to set the actual speed after boot via config file or applications such as setcpu.
But the fact is that the module is already overclocked so as to run at 1.1GHz by default.
And unfortunately my cpu can't afford to run at 1.1GHz, so it doesn't even boot up with OC module.


This is not true.
First you need to access cpugovernor.config with a rooted file and text manager and change enable_overclock=0 to enable_overclock=1
Then you need a rooted terminal app to run the command "etc/uruk.d/cpugovernor stats". This will confirm that Overclock is Enabled.
Then you can use the same rooted terminal app to run the commands "echo 66 > /proc/overclock/max_vsel" and "echo 1100000 > /proc/overclock/max_rate" to temporarily set the cpu voltage and frequency. If you screw up a reboot will get you back to the default. I am currently running 68 and 1100000 which is stable for my A70.
Last! Once you settle on STABLE overclock settings you can use your rooted file and text manager and change cpugovernor.config file to uncomment the vsel and rate lines and put in your stable numbers. Now you will have overclock on reboot. Also now when you enter setcpu the max will be 1100000 (or what ever) and the 2 slower speeds will be displayed.
Of course you can read http://code.google.com/p/urukdroid/wiki ... pugovernor for this information. It was not easy for me at first to figure out but I did (and I'm a noobee).
Good luck.

_________________
SteveB
A9 Win7HP
A32 A70-8v6 UD1.6


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 1:08 pm
Posts: 17
Thanks for the detailed explanation.
It helped me to overclock.

However, after reboot the overclocking resets.

Perhaps I don't understand correctly the term "uncomment"?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:21 pm
Posts: 403
When you see a #, that means all following text in that line is a comment and not executed.
If you remove the #, the line now gets executed.

_________________
A70 8gb Urukdroid 1.6
Nexus 7


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 10:39 am
Posts: 20
Thank you for your detailed explanation, steveb625.
Sorry to be late to report.

I knew normal Urukdroid 1.6 is "overclockable" and disables overclocking by default.
I reinstalled normal 1.6, edited /system/etc/uruk.conf/cpugovernor, and tried some combinations of max_rate and max_vsel.
It turned out my cpu operates fine at (1100000 & 55) or (1000000 & 40 or lower), and it doesn't seem to reach the limit yet.

regards,

ps. I wonder why with OCUV-module (zImage, initramfs) the system hangs during boot though, I know now, it can operate at its default overcloking settings, (1100000 & 68).


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 3:42 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 1:08 pm
Posts: 17
Thanks frank,
as simple as that :)
It works now


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited