Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 5:49 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2011 2:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 2:08 pm
Posts: 5
Hi folks, newbie looking for advice on my new toy. I have a number of ebooks as mobi files save onto my sd card. I have copied the files over into the Kindle folder but they are not showing when I open the application.

Suggestions please.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2011 2:38 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:50 pm
Posts: 69
Are you looking in the On Device screen? I've noticed that sideloaded .mobi files often don't show up in the Home screen until after you have opened them from the On Device screen.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:39 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 2:08 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks but please clarify what you mean by 'On device Screen'. All I have done is copy mobi files from SD card into Files/Kindle and then open Kindle application but they are not shown. My Archos is unable to open the files direct off the SD card.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:54 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:21 pm
Posts: 403
There are different tabs along the top for "Home", "On Device", "Archive", and "Store".
Try looking in the On Device tab instead of Home.

_________________
A70 8gb Urukdroid 1.6
Nexus 7


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 3:09 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 2:08 pm
Posts: 5
Hi, yes I have opened the Kindle app and selected 'On Device' from the top bar but the books are not there.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 3:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 6
Hello,

if I remember correctly you have to put the mobi files in the correct 'Kindle' folder on your device.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:30 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 1019
neils31 wrote:
Hello,

if I remember correctly you have to put the mobi files in the correct 'Kindle' folder on your device.

You're right. But the op said "I have copied the files over into the Kindle folder", so we've assumed he was speaking carefully. When you open your file manager, on an unrooted device, when you scroll down you will see the folder called "Kindle". That's the correct folder, not some folder "inside" that one.

Then you have to reboot to force Kindle to "sync" those files.

Then as Frank said look in "On device", then you should see them in "Home".


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 2:08 pm
Posts: 5
Aha, the only thing I haven't done was a reboot as I thought this reset the system and I would lose the apps I had installed. Will try this tonight.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 1019
daveb157 wrote:
Aha, the only thing I haven't done was a reboot as I thought this reset the system and I would lose the apps I had installed. Will try this tonight.

Err... you do realise I said "reboot" and not "reset"? Don't go resetting your device, that's not what I said.

If you DO understand what I meant by reboot, how could you possibly think that a reboot would "reset the system and I would lose the apps I had installed"? Rebooting is just turning the thing off and back on again. You can't possibly think that switching the thing off would cause you to lose everything on it? You don't lose anything on a PC when you switch it off.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 2:53 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 2:44 am
Posts: 1
Hi - u can see some how to videos including how to videos at adam's site at http://ereaderreviewsinfo.com

has one that covers what button to push to see the files you copy from your computer

u have to push the files thru Amazon - their service will convert them into a format that a Kindle can use and display on the screen

likely you have not done it thru Amazon if u can't see them; can't just copy thru the usb cable


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 5:01 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 6:13 am
Posts: 79
I had a bunch of mobile books from back in the mobipocket days. I looked up the procedure for removing the dem and the used calibrecto convert then to standard snooker format.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 5:05 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 6:13 am
Posts: 79
That should have read removed the dem with calibare.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:28 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 1019
Or possibly even Calibre?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:05 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 2:08 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks for the advice but I still had no joy in getting the saved files to show as On Device in the Kindle app. Have since resorted to converted them with Calibre and using Kobo ereader which works fine.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:20 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 6:13 am
Posts: 79
ya I can't spell.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 1019
:)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:04 pm
Posts: 3
hi frnds.... i have an archos 70 internet tablet 8 gb.. i got that from my relation; there is no android os in it write now but it has some other platform running, more specifically it is running an AVAZ project created for mentally retarded people.. somehow i got it... but i dnt knw how to format it so that i can run froyo in it...


and wen i press power+volume key as suggested above.. it simply halts to a black screen.. doesn't enter into any mode..

and also wen i connect it to the pc the driver will n't get detected automatically.. so how to deal with it? so that i can connect to the pc..


pls help out.. it has been with me since past one year... but i havn't made a single use of it...


thanks in advance,...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited