Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 5:14 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 6:59 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 6:20 pm
Posts: 1
I have searched everywhere could not find anything. Is there anyway to force all apps on portrait mode? I have tried couple of apps recommended in the forum, but they are basically shortcut for automatic rotation. iPad has the Orientation lock, though it is not an iPad it does not make sense to not have that feature. Lying down and using the Tablet is a big pain. Thanks for any input


Last edited by Harfainx on Sun Jul 10, 2011 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Foul Language - Please read the RULES before posting


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 7:19 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:58 am
Posts: 60
I doubt it. For one thing, a programmer may choose to only allow his app to run in the landscape mode, and then what? I have written a card game for Android and the only way to get everything to fit on the screen is in the landscape mode, so I have it set to only run in landscape.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 9:18 pm
Posts: 23
I posted a thread about this but came across the same obstacles you are facing. I needed it because I chat lying on my side and hated typing in landscape mode. However, I came across MessagEase which actually solves that problem. If that is your problem, I recommend MessagEase (available on the Market)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 10:15 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 9:53 pm
Posts: 1
i just got this problem solved. all you need to do is download the software names Orientation Control from market place. it cost $0.99, aand it really works. hope this helps.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 9:47 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:02 am
Posts: 111
gamfan321 wrote:
i just got this problem solved. all you need to do is download the software names Orientation Control from market place. it cost $0.99, aand it really works. hope this helps.


Wow, it works. thanks.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:12 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 1019
I just tried this on my A70, and all it did was lock it in Landscape Mode, which is exactly what the Archos Settings option does :(


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:34 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:02 am
Posts: 111
jamie41 wrote:
I just tried this on my A70, and all it did was lock it in Landscape Mode, which is exactly what the Archos Settings option does :(


Are you sure you are using it right? I am typing this message in the portrait mode now on my A70. And when I turn it, it will not rotate anymore.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:39 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:02 am
Posts: 111
Make sure you need to use the Forced Portrait Mode, not the Portrait Mode.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 11:49 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 1019
racky wrote:
Make sure you need to use the Forced Portrait Mode, not the Portrait Mode.

Thanks, you're right, I was using Portrait Mode Rather than Forced Portrait Mode. I can't see the point of the 2 settings. Surely the whole ponit of this app is to "Force" portrait? Seems odd to me.

Thanks again.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:02 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:02 am
Posts: 111
You are welcome. The name Portrait Mode is kind of misleading in this program. It should be called the Original Mode or No Auto-rotate Mode . For the A70 or A101, the original orientation is landscape, that is why when you set it that way , it locks it at landscape mode. For the phone size devices, like A43, the original orientation is portrait, then if you set it to no auto-rotate mode then you will get the portrait mode. And obviously, the programmer wrote this program mainly for phone size devices, not tablets.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:02 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 1019
Ah, that sounds sensible. What are you doing in THIS forum. Lost?

:)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:16 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:02 am
Posts: 111
Just come to pickup some tips, and give out some too. This program is really a must-have app for the gen8 tablet. :)


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™