Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:15 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:08 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:59 am
Posts: 35
Tested work on my Archos 70,If anyone need help,maybe I can mail your one from China....
Cable is very cheap,about 3~4$,but oversea post fee maybe costly


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:12 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
From what I understand you need a Micro A male to A female for USB Host

So whachu talkin' 'bout dude :?:

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:54 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:59 am
Posts: 35
AllenPapapetrou wrote:
From what I understand you need a Micro A male to A female for USB Host

So whachu talkin' 'bout dude :?:

Allen


I got micro B male to a female for usb host,and it worked....
BTW, what's the difference between Micro B and Micro A


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:33 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
highland wrote:
AllenPapapetrou wrote:
From what I understand you need a Micro A male to A female for USB Host

So whachu talkin' 'bout dude :?:

Allen


I got micro B male to a female for usb host,and it worked....
BTW, what's the difference between Micro B and Micro A

I've given Reference links at the end of this post.

Bottom Line:
1. Both the USB port and the USB cable supplied for the A70 and 7HT are identical
2. The supplied port is a USB micro AB femaie
3. The supplied cable is USB A male - USB micro B male for USB Client Not Host
4. Using either the A70 or 7HT as a Host requires a USB A female - USB micro A male cable or adapter

I've spent some time with this post because USB micro B vs micro A has caused a lot of confusion in the 7HT forum. Some folks like myself bought the micro B only to find it did not work for Host mode.

So highland, I suggest that you actually have a micro A cable not a micro B cable regardless of what the seller and the packaging says. (A number of 7HT Forum posters found this out the hard way.)

The only cable or adapter which should allow the A70 to act as a USB Host device is:
    USB A female - USB micro A male


I would love to be wrong because I have a USB A female - USB micro B male which doesn't work on my 7HT and if I am wrong it will work on my A70 (next Monday I find out).

Micro B vs Micro A Male Connector:
1. Micro B -
    * Pin 4 floats
    * Connecting Client Devices to Host Devices
    * Ex: Connect 7HT to a PC as a disk drive
2 Micro A -
    * Pin 4 Connects to Pin 5 (Signal Ground)
    * Connecting Host Devices to Client Devices
    * Ex: Connect 7HT to a Keyboard or Mouse

The Tech Specs at Archos.com show the same spec for the A70 and 7HT USB Host Mode: optional micro B/A adapter sold separately.

References:
1. Archos A70 Tech Specs -
Quote:
Interfaces
ÔÇó USB 2.0: Mass Storage Class (MSC)
ÔÇó Micro SD (SDHC compatible) on flash version
ÔÇó USB Host: Mass Storage Class (MSC) (adapter micro B/A sold separately)
ÔÇó HDMI output5 (Mini HDMI / HDMI cable sold separately)


2 Archos 7HT Tech Specs -
Quote:
Interfaces
ÔÇó USB 2.0 Slave: Mass Storage Class (MSC)
ÔÇó USB 2.0 Host: Mass Storage Class (MSC) ÔÇô Connect a mass storage device or keyboard & mouse (adapter micro B/A sold separately).
ÔÇó Micro SDHC card


3. WikiPedia USB micro A and B Pinouts -
Code:
Pin    Name    Cable color    Description
1       VCC      Red            +5 V
2       DÔêÆ       White          Data ÔêÆ
3       D+       Green          Data +
4       ID       none           permits distinction of A plug from B plug
                                  * A plug: connected to Signal Ground
                                  * B plug: not connected
5       GND      Black          Signal Ground


4. YouTube Video from davomrmac showing Archos 70 supplied USB A male and USB micro B male cable at 4:20

5. YouTube Video from davomrmac showing Archos 70 USB micro AB port at 5:54

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 5:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 5:41 am
Posts: 284
In A70 you can plug micro A and micro B, but only micro A (OTG) will bring host "magic" to it. 5th pin is grounded and tels the device that USB needs to be in host mode, nothing else. micro B has 5th pin flying, no connection, and device will recognize it as slave and act as if was a flash usb drive connected to a PC.

This was posted like million times already. It would be much easier for user if Archos made all this a software solution. Plug the device in it it asks if it should be host or slave. plug it to PC ask should it be host or slave... or hardware switch :)

I was about to order damn cable from Archos, 24 euros with shipping. not gonna happen :D

_________________
Board A70S-v7+8GB Class2 w~7mb/s


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Yes, the USB port on the A70 is micro AB as I stated in my prior post.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 2:05 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:59 am
Posts: 35
Alright,I can not tell the difference from the appearance between a and b,but at least,mine is working :p


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:13 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:09 am
Posts: 1
Does anyone know if you can connect webcams through USB to the Archos IT. Some new webcams have come out in HD :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 6:13 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
I don't think there are any drivers. And why would there be since so many Android tablets have builtin webcams.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 9:13 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 3:36 pm
Posts: 2
:?: So would this one work?
http://cgi.ebay.ca/Micro-male-USB-femal ... 3a601d5323


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 2:39 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 5:41 am
Posts: 284
It would not work, it is a micro B
Micro A has a rectangular shape (all corners 90 deg), B has 2 sides rounded...

Quote:
It works fine on Nokia N810.
which, I've read somewhere, has 5th pin grounded on the device which is not allowed by USB standards.


Chowmix12 wrote:
Does anyone know if you can connect webcams through USB to the Archos IT. Some new webcams have come out in HD :)

Most of these devices have serial Webcams build in (vga), USB are not supported due to lake of driver support for Android OS. However, Android is Linux based OS and in theory could be hacked and those drivers could be installed. I've never seen someone try this on Android tablet / phone.

_________________
Board A70S-v7+8GB Class2 w~7mb/s


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:05 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Ominous wrote:
It would not work, it is a micro B
Micro A has a rectangular shape (all corners 90 deg), B has 2 sides rounded...

which, I've read somewhere, has 5th pin grounded on the device which is not allowed by USB standards.

Read my descriptive post above. Pin 5 is always grounded by USB standards.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 8:43 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 2:00 pm
Posts: 21
Hi Allen,

Just wondering since the cable connection is important, what if someone can make a cable with a micro-b male but he connects the pin 4 to pin 5, the cable should allow hosting to occur right? Since the Archos 70 has a micro-AB female on it, so a micro-A or micro-B will work.

Not sure why can't Archos just supply the cable and not to get the users so up tight about what cable is suitable. :?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 9:18 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Aloha Bonn,

Welcome to our forum :)

Bonn wrote:
Hi Allen,

Just wondering since the cable connection is important, what if someone can make a cable with a micro-b male but he connects the pin 4 to pin 5, the cable should allow hosting to occur right? Since the Archos 70 has a micro-AB female on it, so a micro-A or micro-B will work.

Himself, a regular 7HT forum poster, posted photos of converting a micro B male connector to micro A. Several 7HT members have done the same.

Not sure why can't Archos just supply the cable and not to get the users so up tight about what cable is suitable. :?

Good question: ARCHOS Add $5 to the A70 price and save us all the trouble.

Archos sometimes seems to do the dumbest things, and other times they are just brilliant.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 7:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 5:41 am
Posts: 284
Image
http://www.amazon.de/Adapter-USB-female-Micro-male/dp/B00407GYVS/ref=pd_rhf_p_t_4
What are the chances that this one would work?
Anyone in EU/Germany could try this one out?

_________________
Board A70S-v7+8GB Class2 w~7mb/s


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:06 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 1:59 pm
Posts: 2
hi, can anyone check this

http://europe.nokia.com/find-products/a ... otg-ca-157


and this too :-)


http://europe.nokia.com/find-products/a ... dmi-ca-156


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:00 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Ontario, Canada
Could you use a female A to female A adapter like this:

http://www.amazon.com/USB-Gender-Change ... B000BSN4UY

on the end of the cable supplied by Archos?

This would change the male B end to a female A.

_________________
A80S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES.1.1


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 5:41 am
Posts: 284
Provided cable by Archos is slave, so no, it would not work as a host.


muebu wrote:


I've found that one online too, but I could not find it in local stores. I'm waiting on report from Austria/Vienna if it works.

_________________
Board A70S-v7+8GB Class2 w~7mb/s


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 6:59 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 2:00 pm
Posts: 21
Ominous wrote:
Image
http://www.amazon.de/Adapter-USB-female-Micro-male/dp/B00407GYVS/ref=pd_rhf_p_t_4
What are the chances that this one would work?
Anyone in EU/Germany could try this one out?


Actually I bought this but it doesn't work. Not sure why. But when I cut it up, I found that the configuration is very different from the usual micro plugs. The pin 3 and 5 are so close together. I doubt one can really solder it properly without sorting both. That's what I saw in the split up connector but I guess it may differs with other manufacturers.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 9:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:40 am
Posts: 476
I just ordered this one, we'll see in a little while if it works.

http://www.opentip.com/Electronics-Comp ... 70546.html

_________________
A7-160gb/A7o-8gb


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited