Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:43 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 12:33 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
LarryR2 wrote:
GeoD wrote:
... Or, change the exclaimation mark to text if that's possible...

I know I'm late to this discussion, but would this ( Image ) be a reasonable icon for the spam report? I cut/pasted pieces of other icon images to make this one. It has the same file name as the exclamation point so it might just work as a replacement image.

Larry

I like it too, Larry =D>

I hope Charbax can do it.

Thanks,

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 6:27 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 3:03 am
Posts: 242
Nice job Larry. I think that would help resolve the issue.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 4:27 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 11:44 pm
Posts: 18
Can I suggest you consider a more secure bb software such as SMF? Ever since switching from phpbb to SMF I have had hardly any security related issues on any of my boards. SMF is free and has a strong community as well, so it is similar to phpbb in that respect.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:17 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:14 pm
Posts: 2
hi..i should also want to become member of ur team...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:50 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:35 am
Posts: 20
It's not really an easiest button to notice.i think it is worth considering changing it to a "Report" button.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2011 10:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 4:28 am
Posts: 22
I am a bit late on this, I know. Bit I saw the dates of the post before this an that the ! is still a !. I know you are also doing other stuff and can't do everything at once, but this seems like such a little fix and you even have the icon made for you.

I did not notice the ! either up until reading this and it would, as said in the first post, make your lives easier if people used it.

One more thing, you should also enlarge the icon maybe from it's original size so the "REPORT!" is easier to see still.

_________________
When in doubt, use duct tape


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 11:31 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:49 am
Posts: 1324
Location: Where No Man Has Gone Before: The Planet Phi-Epsilon Nudist Colony For Women
neodymium wrote:
I am a bit late on this, I know. Bit I saw the dates of the post before this an that the ! is still a !. I know you are also doing other stuff and can't do everything at once, but this seems like such a little fix and you even have the icon made for you.

I did not notice the ! either up until reading this and it would, as said in the first post, make your lives easier if people used it.

One more thing, you should also enlarge the icon maybe from it's original size so the "REPORT!" is easier to see still.


Don't let it bother you too much. I was asked to be a moderator, going on three weeks ago, and I'm still waiting, lol. :)

_________________
30GB 605WiFi (x2)/250GB A5 IMT


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 1:24 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 4:28 am
Posts: 22
I have only been here a few days, but i have been on other forums for years. On thos forums, even if there are only two moderators and one admin, things still get done fairly quickly. the fastest moving forum is probably old.casualcollective.com. you may not have heard of it, but they are running there own type of forum while developing games at the same time. things there go pretty quickly.

I don't know, maybe they have a different system of editing things, but there are updates all the time, and every feew weeks a major update.

_________________
When in doubt, use duct tape


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 2:08 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3332
Location: essex uk
its not moderators that change the forum design, the mods run the board, admin do the editing etc and in a forum of this size more caution has to be taken to save data loss, also you get problems with compatiblilty of newer boards etc which is always the sticky point for any changes / upgrades.
the board will be upgraded very soon

_________________
COYI


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 9:01 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 4:11 pm
Posts: 29
Spam posts are deleted quick but posts about Archos 7 Home Tablet v2 that is months old are not moved to the right forum.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 1:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:49 am
Posts: 1324
Location: Where No Man Has Gone Before: The Planet Phi-Epsilon Nudist Colony For Women
Snurrbo wrote:
Spam posts are deleted quick but posts about Archos 7 Home Tablet v2 that is months old are not moved to the right forum.


Perhaps that is because many of the spam posts are reported to the mods, whereas misplaced posts are not (just a guess). I find it frustrating that folks can't be bothered to check out all the forum sub-sections to find the correct one to post in regarding their specific model. It isn't exactly rocket science. :)

_________________
30GB 605WiFi (x2)/250GB A5 IMT


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 8:18 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 4:11 pm
Posts: 29
SHADO wrote:
Snurrbo wrote:
Spam posts are deleted quick but posts about Archos 7 Home Tablet v2 that is months old are not moved to the right forum.


Perhaps that is because many of the spam posts are reported to the mods, whereas misplaced posts are not (just a guess). I find it frustrating that folks can't be bothered to check out all the forum sub-sections to find the correct one to post in regarding their specific model. It isn't exactly rocket science. :)

Maybe but if I see this also moderators should. Isn't it theirs job to handle such things?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 11:11 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:01 am
Posts: 1725
Location: Richmond VA USA
Maybe but if I see this also moderators should. Isn't it theirs job to handle such things?

Dang dude, talk about petty ingrates. :roll:


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 3:50 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 1903
Location: Nomad
The best way to solve the problem of something being in the wrong area, is to hit the report button on it. In the report, just simply say that it's in the wrong section, and we'll take care of it.

Sometimes as moderators we miss things. We can't be on the forums all day every day scanning to ensure that everything is in the proper location.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 12:41 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:49 am
Posts: 1324
Location: Where No Man Has Gone Before: The Planet Phi-Epsilon Nudist Colony For Women
Snurrbo wrote:
SHADO wrote:
Snurrbo wrote:
Spam posts are deleted quick but posts about Archos 7 Home Tablet v2 that is months old are not moved to the right forum.


Perhaps that is because many of the spam posts are reported to the mods, whereas misplaced posts are not (just a guess). I find it frustrating that folks can't be bothered to check out all the forum sub-sections to find the correct one to post in regarding their specific model. It isn't exactly rocket science. :)

Maybe but if I see this also moderators should. Isn't it theirs job to handle such things?


Yes, I'm sure it is part of their duties. But the mods can't be expected to read every thread or post ever made. No one is perfect, and the mods help out here out of the goodness of their hearts/love of Archos products, in their spare time. I for one can't thank them enough for the work they do here, making it a much better place to visit.

Mods: Kudos to you guys for doing an often thankless job!!! =D>

_________________
30GB 605WiFi (x2)/250GB A5 IMT


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 12:20 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3332
Location: essex uk
thanks guys, it is quiet often thankless, we dont get any pay etc for often spending many hours clearing up the boards.
ive been very ill for the last week or so so havent been pulling my weight as a mod, but luckly we have an excellent team that will spend thier time taking up the slack of any missing mods.
we are responsible for moving posts, but as pointed out its physically impossible to read each and every post made, as i write this there are no reports in the mod panel, so how we are expected to move posts in the wrong area without actually knowing they are there is beyond me. if you spot a post in the wrong area report it, were not soothsayers....
roy

_________________
COYI


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 1:18 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 4:11 pm
Posts: 29
roylovelock wrote:
if you spot a post in the wrong area report it, were not soothsayers....
roy

Of course You're not. No one is. I just thought you should see them when they have subjects like this:
Owner Reviews - 7HT V2
GPS on Archos 7 Home Tablet v2
Which one? Archos 7 HT v2 or Coby Kyros 7015
Archos 7 HT V2 : how many MHz for the CPU ?

There were a few more earlier but they are moved so Image

I didn't know that reporting was the way to handel such thing. Now when I know I will do my part to make it easier for you.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 6:54 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 1903
Location: Nomad
Feel free to report anything that you see that isn't right. The more you guys help us out, the cleaner the board will be, and the easier it will be to find information.

Also, we will (and do) appreciate the help when someone spots something that we missed. ;)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 5:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
Some moron XXXX up the initial wiki page and used it as a spamming page. I restored it to it's original version.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Just in Case....
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 6:49 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 1019
Since you're happy doing it, you may want to sort out this page http://wiki.archosfans.com/index.php?ti ... ewbie_Tips


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited