Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sat Sep 21, 2019 3:33 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:06 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
3x more CPU and 3x more RAM, this forum should hopefully crash much less often from now on.

This last month for example, this site has had 1 hours 8 mins downtime because of heavy traffic and insufficient CPU and RAM on the server.

Sorry about that. Page load times should also be faster now.

Next step:

- Forum redesign with support of Q&A registration (instead of the crappy image captcha) and support for Polls again. Any particular colors you would like to see change? I am looking to re-customize the Hestia phpbb3 forum template, if anyone would like to help with that you can contact me.

- ArchosFans.com blog redesign, that design is really old, 4 years old or something, needs to be upgraded to a nicer theme that better supports Disqus comments. I wonder if Forum threads can more nicely be integrated somehow in wordpress blog posts. Also allow forum users to more easily suggest blog posts.

- IRC Chat #archosfans on freenode if possible to be integrated with the forum (display number of people in chat, on mouse-over display usernames in Chat)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:28 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:30 pm
Posts: 25
Now upgrade phpbb so we can use thee tapatalk app here.
Please.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 4:34 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 1903
Location: Nomad
Generally web-hosting (even a heavily visited forum) shouldn't require too much space, or resources... I hope you're not getting too much (and therefore over-paying).

Everything seems nice so far though, great job, as usual Charbax. =D>


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:18 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 4:16 pm
Posts: 156
It is ALOT faster now! Thanks Charbax!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 6:00 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1795
Location: Honolulu
Charbax wrote:
Any particular colors you would like to see change?

I like background in shades of pale blue or light turquoise rather than white/grey. Maybe you have seen that on forums and wondered why it is so nice... it is because the eye can't focus blue as well as other colors so the background kind of recedes away, instead of blaring like shrill white. Pale beige kinda works too.

How about activating RSS so we can list all posts across categories in most recent first order? Or have RSS show all posts in the Gen8 area regardless of model type (more work).

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 6:01 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:34 pm
Posts: 207
Thanks Dude - just in time for the deluge of posts when the 70 & 101 finally arrive ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 2:25 am
Posts: 38
Location: NYC
viking wrote:
Charbax wrote:
Any particular colors you would like to see change?

I like background in shades of pale blue or light turquoise rather than white/grey. Maybe you have seen that on forums and wondered why it is so nice... it is because the eye can't focus blue as well as other colors so the background kind of recedes away, instead of blaring like shrill white. Pale beige kinda works too.

How about activating RSS so we can list all posts across categories in most recent first order? Or have RSS show all posts in the Gen8 area regardless of model type (more work).
i agree on the color, quite hard to see links.

TS


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:54 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
It would be nice to have the BBcode option turned ON in Private Messages.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 7:09 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:47 pm
Posts: 51
I suggest changing the registration system. The authentication system is really hard to use. After 5 or 6 tries, I decided that that it "this" was going to be my final attempt and i got the text code correct.

Won't make much difference for those of us that have already registered, but I'd bet money that fixing the registration system will double the number of new registrations you get. I've seen others complain about it too.

Just my 2¢

That being said, I'm enjoying the site. Glad to have such a strong community for the Archos line.

_________________
-=Bock Bock=-
Archos 101 16GB


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 7:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 5:41 am
Posts: 284
You can use http://www.google.com/recaptcha if you are gonna go again with captcha, is should not be hard to implement and it's free.
I've told you those two methods of accessing irc visitors number on pm.
As far as wordpress & bb integrations goes I could ask around.

bdw I think that 3xRAM&CPU is overkill but it doesn't hurt :)

_________________
Board A70S-v7+8GB Class2 w~7mb/s


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:51 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 6:08 am
Posts: 60
I don't mind the White and Grey backgrounds, but when you're browsing the boards the words should have colors. Like Red or Blue.

Maybe a new logo? Maybe a logo contest???



Maybe?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 5:05 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Ominous wrote:
You can use http://www.google.com/recaptcha if you are gonna go again with captcha, is should not be hard to implement and it's free.
I've told you those two methods of accessing irc visitors number on pm.
As far as wordpress & bb integrations goes I could ask around.

bdw I think that 3xRAM&CPU is overkill but it doesn't hurt :)

Capacity planning, Ominous. It may be overkill today, however two years from now it may be just adequate. Charbax did an upgrade in May before the 7HT came out. I figure he'd like to avoid another upgrade for a couple of years. And Archos keeps adding devices while the old ones stay around. Folks who buy the Gen8s may still have older devices and be active in the newer and the older forums.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 1:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 6:40 pm
Posts: 36
it woul be grea if you could add smileys from here http://im-smiley.com/


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 4:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 5:41 am
Posts: 284
AllenPapapetrou wrote:
Ominous wrote:
You can use http://www.google.com/recaptcha if you are gonna go again with captcha, is should not be hard to implement and it's free.
I've told you those two methods of accessing irc visitors number on pm.
As far as wordpress & bb integrations goes I could ask around.

bdw I think that 3xRAM&CPU is overkill but it doesn't hurt :)

Capacity planning, Ominous. It may be overkill today, however two years from now it may be just adequate. Charbax did an upgrade in May before the 7HT came out. I figure he'd like to avoid another upgrade for a couple of years. And Archos keeps adding devices while the old ones stay around. Folks who buy the Gen8s may still have older devices and be active in the newer and the older forums.

Allen


I don't know if this is his private server or managed hosted. If it is not his, than it's a waste of money. But since it's here...

_________________
Board A70S-v7+8GB Class2 w~7mb/s


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 12:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 3016
Location: Sweetyland
Since the forum update, my forum pages often take ages to load. They get stuck on the message in the browser status bar:

"Waiting for pagead2.googlesyndication.com"


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 10:43 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
sweetypie wrote:
Since the forum update, my forum pages often take ages to load. They get stuck on the message in the browser status bar:

"Waiting for pagead2.googlesyndication.com"


You mean right now?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:15 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 3016
Location: Sweetyland
If by right now, you mean you've changed something since I posted that message - then No. I guess it's not doing it so much now. Although it did just stop for about 10 seconds on api.viglink.com. But, on balance, it's better.

I'll keep trying and post again after some more experience.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
What browser are you using?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 8:59 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 3016
Location: Sweetyland
Firefox 3.6.10

EDIT:

Recently, using Firefox on my laptop, I've also had a redirection problem - to http://www.epoclick.com. I had put it down to a problem on my laptop, but now I was just redirected to www.epoclick.com on my Archos, when clicking on a thread link in the A5 IT forum.

This is the first time I've had any kind of "malware" issue on my Archos.

Has the Archosfans forum website become infected?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 7:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 3016
Location: Sweetyland
This evening, back to "Waiting for pagead2.googlesyndication.com" for long periods.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited