Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Sat Nov 01, 2014 12:39 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 11:59 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 8:01 pm
Posts: 31
The the generation products are coming out is September. I know this because in Archos's Financial Press releases for the results for the first half of 2010 they said , ARCHOS is releasing a complete new range of android tablets for September.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 10:07 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Last year, September turned into mid-October... :D Judging from history going a few years back, Archos' release dates are usually optimistic. The real date is whenever the containers from China finally hit the docks and then actual units start hitting retailers' shelves, and then that's not likely to be simultaneous for all models.

I say this now in a desperate effort to avoid a flood of 'Why can't I buy one yet, it's supposed to be out already!' threads, knowing they're going to happen anyway... :D

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 1:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:41 pm
Posts: 573
nz wrote:
yes, 5.1

Thanks for the clarification.

nz, please note that MKV Header Compression is now enabled by default in MKVMerge (as used by most encoders) so a lot of videos coming out now and in the future are using it.

It has been causing a lot of problems with hardware devices (such as WDTV, Popcorn Hour) not supporting it. Its not a major problem since they can just be remuxed without it if need be, but obviously the 'average' user doesnt know how to do this, it would be better if it was natively supported.

Just a heads-up in case you werent aware of it.

_________________
Owner of: A5IT,A5IMT,605wifi,AV500


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 2:24 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
A solution for DTS audio would be nice too. A significant amount of HD MKV movies out there use DTS audio as far as I know. Hopefully Archos and TI at least can provide a DTS audio plugin as well.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 2:45 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:59 am
Posts: 2880
Location: Toronto, Ontario
+1 to both posts above.

_________________
Gr.9 tech lover


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 4:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:41 pm
Posts: 573
Charbax wrote:
A solution for DTS audio would be nice too. A significant amount of HD MKV movies out there use DTS audio as far as I know. Hopefully Archos and TI at least can provide a DTS audio plugin as well.

Correct. Once you get into the 4.4GB kind of movie size, its is kind of 50/50 between DTS and AC3.

And in the 6.5GB and 8GB size and upwards, DTS (@1500kbps) is pretty much in 99% of releases.

Now this was not such a big problem with the A5A because it could not really handle these size of movies anyway (video bitrate is too high). But I expect the Generation 8 devices to handle them perfectly, so it becomes important to have DTS support.

_________________
Owner of: A5IT,A5IMT,605wifi,AV500


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 5:59 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:15 am
Posts: 46
The Archos 32 has been posted @ B & H's online store with an approximate release date of September.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/7 ... DROID.html


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 6:37 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:47 pm
Posts: 210
Either I'm silly or thats a tiny screen?

Is it going to really be worth it, i sure hope they continue to upgrade the current devices.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 6:52 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
SWDT wrote:
Either I'm silly or thats a tiny screen?

Is it going to really be worth it, i sure hope they continue to upgrade the current devices.


They are making Gen8 tablets from 2.8" to 10", you choose the size you prefer.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 7:44 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
I notice that none of the pre-order sites have images. What's up with that?

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 7:55 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Because Archos hasn't released a press kit yet and these yahoos are improperly posting embargoed info? :D

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 8:55 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Never?!? Seems like halloween in August - almost real - not.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 9:21 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 5:30 am
Posts: 16
Charbax wrote:
A solution for DTS audio would be nice too. A significant amount of HD MKV movies out there use DTS audio as far as I know. Hopefully Archos and TI at least can provide a DTS audio plugin as well.


The archos 5 already decodes 5.1 dts.

http://www.freeimagehosting.net/image.p ... 0ab064.jpg

Edit: Sorry about the blur.

Code:
General:
Filename: cbgb-losers.mkv
Filesize: 4.37 GiB
Format: Matroska
PlayTime: 01:37:00.630
Application: mkvmerge v4.1.1 ('Bouncin' Back') built on Jul  3 2010 22:54:08
Application: libebml v1.0.0 + libmatroska v1.0.0
1 video stream(s), 1 audio stream(s), 1 subtitle stream(s).

Video Stream 0:
Length: 01:36:54.791
Frames: 139555, 23.976 fps, 
Codec: V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC (Family: )
Dimensions: 1280x536, AR: 2.35

Audio Stream 0:
Codec: DTS, A_DTS,
Sampling Rate: 48 KHz
Channel(s): 6 channel

Subtitle Stream 0:
Codec: S_TEXT/UTF8, UTF-8 Plain Text


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 12:25 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:41 pm
Posts: 573
dizzy1 wrote:

The archos 5 already decodes 5.1 dts.


As far as im aware it doesnt.

Just because it recognizes the DTS stream and displays it in the media info doesnt mean it decodes it. Are you saying that it actually plays that audio stream for that movie through the headphones?

_________________
Owner of: A5IT,A5IMT,605wifi,AV500


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 12:42 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 5:30 am
Posts: 16
Yes the audio in the movie does play.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 12:58 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
v_c wrote:
dizzy1 wrote:

The archos 5 already decodes 5.1 dts.


As far as im aware it doesnt.

Just because it recognizes the DTS stream and displays it in the media info doesnt mean it decodes it. Are you saying that it actually plays that audio stream for that movie through the headphones?


Perhaps Archos added DTS playback in one of the recent firmwares and forgot to write it in the changelog?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 2:59 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 5:30 am
Posts: 16
No idea but it works.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 12:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
I hope the DTS people don't find out, they're going to want their licence fees!

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 4:57 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:41 pm
Posts: 573
dizzy1 wrote:
Yes the audio in the movie does play.

Wow, I stand corrected. Sorry for doubting you! :)

_________________
Owner of: A5IT,A5IMT,605wifi,AV500


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:15 am
Posts: 46
Probably not groundbreaking news, but amazon has posted a product description for the 32:

Quote:

The ARCHOS 32 is a sleek Android device with a 3.2-inch touchscreen and 8 GB of on-board memory. Smaller than a pack of gum, the ARCHOS 32 will play multiple video and music formats, download Android apps to fit your lifestyle, connect to the Internet, and even shoot video with its built-in camera.

Play a variety of video and music formats, surf the web, or shoot some video. Click to enlarge.

Sleek and stylish, with a 3.2-inch touchscreen.

Access the AppsLib store, an Android app marketplace where you can download multiple apps while connected to Wi-Fi.

Great Hardware
The ARCHOS 32 is a real eye-catcher, with its 3.2-inch TFT touchscreen LCD that boasts a WQVGA (400 x 240) resolution and 16 million colors.

It's also got the power to back up those looks, with an 800 MHz Arm Cortex A8 processor with DSP, and 3D OpenGL graphics acceleration.

An Excellent Media Player
The ARCHOS 32 features music, video, and photo applications that allow users to browse through the album covers to locate and instantly access their media. Plus, the ARCHOS 32 is able to play a variety of music, photo, and video formats. This means far less headaches with file conversion--simply drag and drop files directly from your computer to the device and enjoy.

* On the audio front, you'll get support for MP3, WMA, WAV, AAC, OGG, and FLAC formats out of the box, along with a plug-in available for AC3 5.1.

* For video, the ARCHOS 32 will play MPEG-4 HD, MPEG-4, H.264 HD, WMV9/ACP, and MJPG codecs with the following filename extensions: AVI, MP4, MOV, 3GP, MPG, PS, TS, VOB, MKV, FLV, RM, RMVB, ASF, and WMV.

* Even with images, the ARCHOS 32 delivers, with support for JPEG, BMP, PNG, and GIF files.

Android Apps
Since the ARCHOS 32 is an Android-based device, it provides access to all kinds of applications. The AppsLib store is an Android application marketplace where you can download multiple apps while connected to a Wi-Fi network. You decide what your product should do for you by choosing from the thousands of available apps. Social media, entertainment, weather, traffic, news, and games are now just a click away.

Built-in Video Camera
The ARCHOS 32 gives you the ability to make memories wherever you choose. With a built-in video camera, you can easily record video or take pictures. Within minutes, you can upload and share your personal memories on your social networks.

Surf the Internet
Using a Wi-Fi connection, you can surf the web as efficiently as you do on your computer, thanks to the ARCHOS 32's speedy processor. Easily zoom in and out by double-tapping on the screen or by rotating the product horizontally.

USB 2.0 Device
The ARCHOS 32 is a USB 2.0 device, so it will connect and charge using your computer's USB port. This makes file transfer fast and easy as well, with drag-and-drop ease.
What's in the Box
ARCHOS 32, earphones, standard USB cable, quick start guide, and legal/safety notice.
Product Description
The ARCHOS 32 is an exciting 3.2" touch screen Android device. Smaller than a pack of gum the ARCHOS 32 is able to play multiple video and music formats, download applications to fit your lifestyle, connect to the Internet and shoot videos with its built-in camera.


Image


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™