Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Fri Apr 03, 2020 9:03 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 622 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 532 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: new firmware 2.3.26
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
PoisonBinky wrote:
Charbax wrote:
PoisonBinky wrote:
Various audio apps are still crippled by this firmware, as with 2.3.20. These all worked fine under 2.1.08. But now my A32 goes into deep sleep after the screen times out even if Google Listen is still playing a podcast. Same thing happens with MediaFly OnAir.


Try this temp solution, Wakelocker app: viewtopic.php?p=203801#p203801



Thanks Charbax. I briefly tried that but it wasn't quite what I wanted so I wrote my own yesterday. I whipped up a quick icon-sized widget to toggle a CPU wakelock on and off with a tap (with a 3hr timer in case I forget to turn it off). It works but I'm annoyed I had to do it when all this stuff worked correctly two firmwares ago. Grrrr!


Please do share your apk so we can also test your wakelock widget.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:18 pm
Posts: 30
still no flash :(


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:05 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 3:18 pm
Posts: 52
miketheman wrote:
still no flash :(


Flash Player has been available for a while now. I don't think it's an OS built in but it can be found in the ApsLib for download.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:06 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:18 pm
Posts: 30
rscheller wrote:
miketheman wrote:
still no flash :(


Flash Player has been available for a while now. I don't think it's an OS built in but it can be found in the ApsLib for download.


The glitchy one that doesn't work .. yep ... got it .... =D>


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 8:02 pm
Posts: 37
miketheman wrote:
rscheller wrote:
miketheman wrote:
still no flash :(


Flash Player has been available for a while now. I don't think it's an OS built in but it can be found in the ApsLib for download.


The glitchy one that doesn't work .. yep ... got it .... =D>



Flash ver 10.2 works really well, atleast to 10.1


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 3:44 pm
Posts: 37
miketheman wrote:
rscheller wrote:
miketheman wrote:
still no flash :(


Flash Player has been available for a while now. I don't think it's an OS built in but it can be found in the ApsLib for download.


The glitchy one that doesn't work .. yep ... got it .... =D>


Works fine here ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:15 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 3:18 pm
Posts: 52
miketheman wrote:
rscheller wrote:
miketheman wrote:
still no flash :(


Flash Player has been available for a while now. I don't think it's an OS built in but it can be found in the ApsLib for download.


The glitchy one that doesn't work .. yep ... got it .... =D>


Flash Player 10.2 is available in the Android Market as well but of course that source is unofficial as far as Archos is concerned.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:17 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 12:23 am
Posts: 90
miketheman wrote:
rscheller wrote:
miketheman wrote:
still no flash :(


Flash Player has been available for a while now. I don't think it's an OS built in but it can be found in the ApsLib for download.


The glitchy one that doesn't work .. yep ... got it .... =D>

search for surprise flash, i have this one running and it is 10.2 and runs everything perfectly.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:46 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:18 pm
Posts: 30
vertig0730 wrote:
...

Flash ver 10.2 works really well, atleast to 10.1


Works muchy better than 10.1, agreed - but still not as good as it should be.
Also it isn't on the Apps lib - I got it from a .APK on the net

What we really need is what archos promised and continues to promise - fully supported Flash that doesn't need you to click on a little flash icon to enable each time.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 3:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
miketheman wrote:
vertig0730 wrote:
...

Flash ver 10.2 works really well, atleast to 10.1


Works muchy better than 10.1, agreed - but still not as good as it should be.
Also it isn't on the Apps lib - I got it from a .APK on the net

What we really need is what archos promised and continues to promise - fully supported Flash that doesn't need you to click on a little flash icon to enable each time.


Fly to Adobe headquarters and ask the Adobe CEO to speed things up.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 3:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 6:35 am
Posts: 22
I installed this update and decided to let the unit stay on charge. It was at 70% and only went to about 91% but was beeping telling me the battery was full. I unplugged it and it went straight to 100%. We'll see how it acts. Don't think there was anything in this update to address the battery drain issue. Hopefully this won't turn into the iTouch issue that has resulted in having to basically keep it on charge constantly or keep all wifi turned off.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 3:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 6:35 am
Posts: 22
miketheman wrote:
vertig0730 wrote:
...

Flash ver 10.2 works really well, atleast to 10.1


Works muchy better than 10.1, agreed - but still not as good as it should be.
Also it isn't on the Apps lib - I got it from a .APK on the net

What we really need is what archos promised and continues to promise - fully supported Flash that doesn't need you to click on a little flash icon to enable each time.


My Flash 10.2 is also working great. The only page I have a problem with is trying to look at the weekly ad for Best Buy.

Do you have it checked for on demand? Mine loads all flash instantly. No download icons.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 3:43 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:59 am
Posts: 31
Youtube 480p videos are not smooth. Does Anyone have the same problem?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 3:56 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:16 pm
Posts: 100
Charbax wrote:
Fly to Adobe headquarters and ask the Adobe CEO to speed things up.


That's on the planet Neptune, right? Seems appropriate for the expectations they have that Flash will ever not be complete junk on mobile devices.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 4:36 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 7:31 pm
Posts: 94
Location: New Jersey
downlinx wrote:
is the battery drain fixed?


Battery is back to reporting 100% after full charge. Haven't worked with it enough to notice if the battery is lasting longer or not.
Used my 101 for about 45 mins this morning and battery went from 100% to 97%. About normal for me so far.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 4:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 4:36 pm
Posts: 28
fbott wrote:
downlinx wrote:
is the battery drain fixed?


Battery is back to reporting 100% after full charge. Haven't worked with it enough to notice if the battery is lasting longer or not.
Used my 101 for about 45 mins this morning and battery went from 100% to 97%. About normal for me so far.



Still charges to 95-97% on my Archos 70.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 4:44 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 1:15 am
Posts: 25
I hope that your version number 2.3.36 means Android 2.3 :D

Archos, thanks for the hard work and the continous update! Although it may not be the perfect version we wanted, but at least we know that your guys are working hard and getting near to it!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 4:45 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:57 pm
Posts: 5
Happy to see the display fix. Looking forward to giving it a shot later.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 4:49 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:16 pm
Posts: 100
Herman000 wrote:
I hope that your version number 2.3.36 means Android 2.3 :D


It doesn't.

kide wrote:
Still charges to 95-97% on my Archos 70.


In many modern rechargables, charging a battery from 95 to 100% requires more energy and is more destructive than the previous 80-90%. So lots of laptops and phones and stuff just stop there.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 5:02 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 12:23 am
Posts: 90
only issues i have run into are the accelerometer is dog slow on rotation of the screen (takes about 10 sec to rotate) and archos remote doesnt recognize when downloaded from the market.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 622 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 532 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited