Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Tue Mar 26, 2019 5:32 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 4:34 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
See how easy it is to install the Google Marketplace on the new Android Froyo firmware. This video also features Google Voice Actions, Installing Angry Birds from the Google Marketplace and playing some Asphalt5:

Image

Watch the video here: http://archosfans.com/2010/12/01/google ... and-newer/


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:05 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:25 pm
Posts: 53
The youtube problem can be solved quite easily:

1. Download, install and start "android terminal emulator" from

Market
2. Enter below lines in the app and finish each line with an enter

cd /data/test/froyo/system/app
rm YouTube.apk

3. Close the app (back out) and reboot
4. Download YouTube from Market.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:38 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 551
azmo wrote:
The youtube problem can be solved quite easily:

1. Download, install and start "android terminal emulator" from

Market
2. Enter below lines in the app and finish each line with an enter

cd /data/test/froyo/system/app
rm YouTube.apk

3. Close the app (back out) and reboot
4. Download YouTube from Market.


You're mixing up commands for installing before there was an apk.
1) download the aApps4Archos2.apk file
2) select in the file manager and install
3) reboot and enjoy


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:03 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:25 pm
Posts: 53
Youtube not working in gapps apk.

Cannot be updated in market.

With the commands i posted it works.

So no mixing up here :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:16 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 8
I also tried the commands but it sais: 'no such file or directory' when i'm trying the remove command.

what can i do to resolve this??


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:30 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:07 pm
Posts: 653
You need root for that.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 8
I used z4root and the terminal, and still the same.
"No such file or directory"
So i still can't use youtube....

Edit: Never mind, it worked. You have to be very specific about the characters and type YouTube.apk with the two capital letters


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:33 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:25 pm
Posts: 53
of course, this is linux after all.
and you do NOT need root. i didnt have root and my youtube works like a charm. it wasnt my idea btw got this somewhere on this forum but thought it might be interesting to have it tight in this thread as well.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:18 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 5:41 am
Posts: 284
Now we know where was Charbax all these days :D
Man your gaming skills on these tables are getting better every time you make video.

_________________
Board A70S-v7+8GB Class2 w~7mb/s


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:02 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 8:17 pm
Posts: 14
That other thread seems to imply this is still a work in progress. there are links to a few apks but it doesnt appear that any link really has a 100% good file. If I am mistaken maybe update this shorter thread with a link to a proper file.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:59 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:30 pm
Posts: 144
Location: USA
New Market/Apps installer - http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=42390&start=0


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 8:39 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 2:59 pm
Posts: 4
Work great! thanks a lot


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 7:14 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 7:04 pm
Posts: 2
gApps4Archos2.apk worked just fine for me on my Archos 101 tablet. There is a lot of misinformation on the Internet that the Archos Tablets do not allow use of Market.

This is untrue and we should mirror this fact as much as possible so people can use the killer productivity Apps out there including:

Youtube.
The built in brower.
Flash 10.1
SWF 1.3 which is important to play some videos on some sites.

For example, CNBC plays videos just fine on my Archos 101. Not possible on my iphone because Jobs says no to flash!

Also can load Nook on the native Appslib and Kindle using Market. These are apps are huge with people who use this device as a book reader.

Am disappointed with Firefox Fennec. It is SLOW and would expect some time before Fennec is as fast and Snappy as the built in browser.

Opera on Archos 101 is also a disappointment.
-----

Looking forward to suggestions for even better browsers out there.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 8:17 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 7:04 pm
Posts: 2
azmo wrote:
The youtube problem can be solved quite easily:

1. Download, install and start "android terminal emulator" from

Market
2. Enter below lines in the app and finish each line with an enter

cd /data/test/froyo/system/app
rm YouTube.apk

3. Close the app (back out) and reboot
4. Download YouTube from Market.



Your Youtube fix worked great


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:27 pm
Posts: 14
azmo wrote:
The youtube problem can be solved quite easily:

1. Download, install and start "android terminal emulator" from

Market
2. Enter below lines in the app and finish each line with an enter

cd /data/test/froyo/system/app
rm YouTube.apk

3. Close the app (back out) and reboot
4. Download YouTube from Market.

I got 'path not found' after entering in the first line - do I proceed? My youtube app won't open and the web version works well w audio but the video is about as choppy as it can get and still move. Does this fix that?

EDIT: DON'T FORGET THAT SPACE NEXT TO CD IN THOSE INSTRUCTIONS!!
Now that I'm not relegated to using the web based youtube, the app is smooth as silk!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:27 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:25 pm
Posts: 53
yes of course you need the space.

i am always astonished how many people never used a console (dos/windows/linux/...) before.. am i really THAT old?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 11:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:03 am
Posts: 29
install went smoothly..took 2 reboots..but runs fine...Plays Aquariuk live wallpapers fine.. 5 STAR RATING.
HOW CAN I REMOVE THE ANDROID SYMBOL AND THE CHANGING HELP (REARRANGE YOUR HONE SCREEN ETC)..ONCE WAS ENOUGH??? PLEASE


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 11:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:03 pm
Posts: 273
Location: Warsaw, Poland
read all tips from that widget =]


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 12:21 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:00 am
Posts: 13
yankee wrote:
install went smoothly..took 2 reboots..but runs fine...Plays Aquariuk live wallpapers fine.. 5 STAR RATING.
HOW CAN I REMOVE THE ANDROID SYMBOL AND THE CHANGING HELP (REARRANGE YOUR HONE SCREEN ETC)..ONCE WAS ENOUGH??? PLEASE


Long press, drag and drop into garbage (the drawer symbol changes into the trash can.)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 1:05 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:28 pm
Posts: 40
Just curious, does installing this void warranty? (Archos 32)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited