Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:47 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 238 posts ]  Go to page Previous 18 9 10 11 12 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 5:53 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 4:45 am
Posts: 17
Archos 101 using firmware 2.1.08.

Archos 101 + nokia 5800 XM, bluetooth tethering success via DUN
Archos 101 + Sony Ericsson K610i, bluetooth tethering FAILED via DUN/PAN (UPDATE success via DUN now, see UPDATE below)

My notebook running Windows 7 can tether via the K610i using either DUN or PAN.

The K610i can pair with Archos 101 and the tethering software on Archos can retrieve APN information from the SIM card when using DUN profile. It also tried to connect to K610i as modem (because the phone ask for authorization). But after about 10 - 15 seconds, it said "Unable to connect by tethering".

During testing, I used the same SIM card for both K610i / 5800XM.

BTW, Archos have to reboot in order to enable tethering after I tried to tethering using PAN once.

K610i is listed as successfully tethered with Archos 5. But it cannot tethered with Archos 101?!

Any idea why the K610i failed?

UPDATE:
My Archos can now connect to K610i using BT DUN. Once connected, the connection is very stable. But the problem is I don't know why it works now and why it does not work before. I changed several things but I am not sure which is/are important.
(1) Enable CHAP authorization on the phone
(2) Reset the system (i.e. clear all setting and application)
(3) Use DUN (don't try PAN because it seems to me that PAN on Archos is buggy).
(4) Enter a space for user name and password.
(5) Tries several times before giving up.

Good luck if you are using K610i.


Last edited by ckwok1 on Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:00 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:55 am
Posts: 3
I am having problems tether an A70 250Gb (2.1.08) with my Iphone 3GS. Using the native bluetooth method, it works first after a reboot of the Archos, but after a wakeup from soft sleep, I'm not able to connect again. Need a full reboot of the Archos to make it work again!
Is it a hardware problem that I have with my archos because the device also rebooted few times for no reasons when blutooth antenna comes up :?:


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 10:04 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 3:41 pm
Posts: 57
Dinosaur HTC G1 rooted with Cyanogen (not official) Gingerbread 2.3
Wireless Tether for Root Users
Connecting in PAN mode

Everything Ok... some weird behavior of the tethering system (sometimes it breaks and you can't enable/disable it and have to reset the tablet) but I think is more a general problem that a phone/app relative one.

Cheers


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:17 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:20 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Kentucky, USA
I opened a "support" ticket concerning my Storm 2 and tethering here is the response:

"Do to the way our devices and Blackberry devices have been programmed they will not tether together. They are incompatible with each other.

Thank you,
Andrew H
Archos Technical Support"

Seems that Andrew H is the only person that responds to these requests. From other posts I have read it appears the Archos is working on a resolution, from his response that doesn't appear to be the case. Does anyone have any inside information or is the only solution to use another phone or hack the archos?

Thanks,

Joe


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:25 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 4:45 am
Posts: 17
lechuckthepirate wrote:
Everything Ok... some weird behavior of the tethering system (sometimes it breaks and you can't enable/disable it and have to reset the tablet) but I think is more a general problem that a phone/app relative one.


It happened when PAN mode is used and connection failed :( .


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:09 pm
Posts: 9
Archos 70 IT 8GB

Successful BT tethering with Nokia 6303 and ZTE Blade


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 12:34 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:04 pm
Posts: 6
Hi there,
I have a Nokia 5230 on Virgin and have been trying to tether it with my Archos 101 without success for some time but tonight I think I have cracked it, I found that if I have my phone logged onto the internet it tethers everytime, if I switch the internet off the phone will not tether. Even when the phone is tethered and I am using the internet on the Archos 101 it still says paired but not connected.
All I do now is from the home screen touch the 2 dots on the bottom right hand corner (don't know what they are called) on the new screen touch the BT symbol then the phone symbol and the phone tethers and away I go. Switch wireless off first.
I hope this helps. :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 2:02 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:36 pm
Posts: 407
Somebody with Samsung C3050? It's not working for me...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:02 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 4:14 am
Posts: 123
Archos really needs to wake up and add tethering for the Blackberry. There is a lot of Blackberry users out there and they'd take to the new Blackberry tablet if it was confirmed that tethering is easy with their phones. Archos would lose out big time so...

+1 for attempting to contact Archos about this issue. Dunno why it isn't fixed already in a firmware update when I read it's doable!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 1:38 pm
Posts: 26
mvl wrote:
For the most part, any phone that does bluetooth tethering is supported by Archos. Note that you'll need a data plan on the phone. So as a good summary:

Blackberry OS phones: Bluetooth tethering does not work due to a Blackberry bug. A simple workaround is possible but not yet implemented by Archos.

iPhones: Bluetooth tether works fine with iOS 4.x.

Android phones: Bluetooth tethering will never work without root, as Android doesn't support bluetooth tethering. The easiest workaround for non-rooted phones is wifi hotspot if the phone/carrier supports it. Most phones will work fine when rooted, as many tether apps are available.

Symbian phones: Bluetooth tethering works fine on all phones. Hotspot tethering will not work as Android doesn't support ad-hoc wifi.

Windows mobile phones (6.x or earlier): Will probably work, once the bluetooth DUN cabs are installed. I saw no posts confirming one way or the other.

Windows Phone 7: Don't know if it works, but with the Nokia partnership I'm sure bluetooth tether will be added soon if not already present.

Other phones: 99% of the remaining phones on the market support Bluetooth DUN, and will tether fine.


Again, this is not totally true for the Android phones. I have a Droid X with my 101, and I have never rooted any phone I've had ... and I have successfully BT tethered the thing and can do it at will even now. I've used PAN, strangely enough. Just see my earlier post in this topic.

If anyone wants help specifically (mainly with Droid X), email me at wmayo444@cox.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:25 pm
Posts: 1
Success: Sony Ericsson Zylo w20i via bluetooth.

I had to input APN data by hand, reading automatically from SIM did not provide working connection.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:45 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:27 am
Posts: 1
Success with Nokia N95 8GB (the black one) with firmware V31.0.015.
Archos 70 internet tablet update 2.1.8
non roote.
worked flawlessly.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Posts: 8
Since I made a list for myself I might as well share it. I don't plan to maintain it (feel free to copy it and add to it though) and I don't claim that it's all correct but here's what I've summerized from this thread so far:
(Format is PHONE - Connection type/APP - TABLET

Quote:
Blackberry 9630 (tour) - EVDO CDMA BT A43 non root
Blackberry 9700 PPPD rooted A70
Blackberry Storm2 v5.0.0.713 Network: Verizon Wireless BT (USB crashes) Archos 101 running Froyo 2.0.71
BB Storm 2 T Mobile UK BT A70
Blackberry Tour 9630 Verizon reliable A70 Firmware 2.0.71 (also worked under 2.0.54)
HTC Desire Wifi Hotspot (not bluetooth or USB) - connect then reboot Archos 101
HTC Desire 2.3.2 gingerbread (cyanogen mod 7) BT A70
HTC G1 rooted with Cyanogen (not official) Gingerbread 2.3 BT PAN Wireless Tether for Root Users - iffy Archos
HTC Hero OS: AOSP 0.9.8 Wireless Bluetooth DUN - sometimes 2 tries to connect Tablet: Archos 101 16GB OS: Froyo 2.2.1 (AOS 2.0.54)
HTC Hero asopMod 9.9.2 - sprint Wireless Tether 2.05-pre6 (didn't work with other versions) A70 perfect
HTC HERO with 2.2 rom (based on cyanogen 6.1) rooted "wireless tether for root users" A70S (2.2)
HTC Hero (Rooted): Android 2.2.1 - CyanogenMod-6.1.0-Hero BT Wireless Tether 2.0.6 Archos 101IT: 2.0.71 (Android 2.2.1)
HTC HD2 OS. WinMo 6.5 Bluetooth Archos 101 with Froyo
HTC Legend, Cyanogen 6.1, ROOTED Android 2.2 BT PAN A70 firmware 2.0.71 Android 2.2.1
HTC Magic (32A), rooted CM6.1 (froyo 2.2.1) BT wireless tethering v2.05 RC A101
HTC pure BT no GPS A70
HTC Slide running cyanogenmod 6.1.1 BT A70 IT
HTC TILT 2 (Touch Pro 2) BT A70
HTC Wildfire Froyo Hotspot WPA2 (others say it doesn't wifi) A70
Huawei Ideos Wifi Hotspot, not BT or USB A101
iPhone 3gs JB 4.0 Tetherme A101
iPhone4 os4.1 A70 froyo
LG enV Touch (VX11000) A70IT
LG Expo running WM6.5 Bluetooth Dragonstorm ROM Archos froyo
LG-P500 Optimus One Non-root Stock Firmwar Wifi hotspot and BT Dun - no app needed A70 both 2.1 & 2.2
LG Optimus One wireless Archos 101 2.0.54
Motorola Droid 1 Rooted, running CyanogenMod 6.0.0 \Android 2.2 Wireless Tether 2.0.2 Set to Bluetooth PAN A70 firmware 2.0.54 Android 2.2.1
Archos 101 8Gb with Froyo
Motorola Droid Incredible (Unrevoked 3.3) rooted Wifi perfect - CDMA network Archos
Motorola Droid X 2.2.1 (2.3.340.MB810) BT PAN- troublesome - not GPS Archos A70S - 2.2.1 (2.0.71)
Motorola Droid X 2.2 not rooted Bluetooth PAN (can't test wifi w/o rooting) Archos 70 with Froyo
MotoRazr2 v9 AT&T BT A43 2.0.71
Motorola Razr v3xx AT&T BT - need to reboot phone after dead zone A43 2.0.71
motorola v3i BT Archos
Nexus One rooted with Cyanogen 6.0 Wireless tether app(free on the market) wifi not tried A70 - Last Froyo update - worked like magic
Nokia 2730 BT PAN fast download - cheapest Nokia 3G Archos
Nokia 5220 Xpress Music BT DUN A101
Nokia 5230 on Virgin BT with wifi off A101
Nokia 5800 XM BT DUN A101
Nokia 6303 BT A70IT
Nokia 6555/AT&T BT Archos
Nokia 6600 slide s40 101
Nokia 6700 classic system Nokia Series 40 6th Edition Bluetooth PAN A70 firmware 2.0.54 Android 2.2.1
Nokia C6 BT Archos
Nokia E63 firmware: 410.21.010 BT needed a couple of presses A70 froyo
Nokia E71 BT no wifi A101 Froyo
Nokia E72 Os: Symbian Using standard bluetooth A101 Os: froyo update (30 nov) works well
Nokia N82 OS: Symbian, latest firmware A43 2.0.71 (Froyo)
Nokia E90 Archos 70 with Froyo effort but stable - slow 500k
Nokia N95 8GB (the black one) with firmware V31.0.015 Archos 70 internet tablet update 2.1.8 non root
Nokia N97 APN BT (may take a while to get going at first) A101, 43
Nokia N900 BT DUN Archos
OG Droid BT Sapphire 1.1.1 (FroYo) with Wireless Tether for Root Archos
omnia 2 winmo 6.5.5 Archos 101
Palm Centro BT Edge speed only A70
Palm Pre OS: WebOS 1.4.5 Archos: A70 OS: 2.2.1 - great/fast/stable
Pantech C740 (Matrix) w/AT&T BT Archos
Samsung Epix, WM 6.5 (xda rom 28008.5.3.0) on AT&T BT A70
Samsung Galaxy Spica i5700 firmware Froyo CyanogenMod 6.1.1 Alpha 8.3 (native wifi tether infrastucture mode) And 2.2 A101
Samsung omnia pro wm6.5 BT not USB Archos
Sony Ericsson K610i BT DUN - may be iffy A101
Sony Ericsson K800i BT slow A43
Sony Ericsson T630 BT A101
Sony Ericsson Zylo w20i BT APN by hand Archos
Sprint TP2 running the Energy ROM BT APN internet.com user name and password blank A101
T-Mobile Pulse / U8220 CyanogenMod 6 beta .3 & .4 Android 2.2.1 BT PAN "Wireless Tether for Root Users" A101 firmware 2.0.71 Android 2.2.1
Treo Pro Windows Mobile BT Pan no software needed (adhoc wifi so no go) A70
USCellular Touch Pro 2 with Energy ROM BT APN Uscc, username and password blank Archos
XDA Diamond BT "Internetfreigabe" Archos 70(Froyo)
ZTE Blade BT A70 IT





DOESN'T WORK
Quote:
Blackberry 8520 curve Archos
BB Curve 8900 Archos
Blackberry Curve 9300 Archos
Blackberry 9000 Archos 70
Blackberry 9700 Archos 70
Droid 1 (rooted) Froyo 2.2 bt pairs/no conn - no wifi - bt worked with os2.1 Archos
Droid Eris (Rooted) OS: Froyo 2.2 Carrier: Verizon bt pairs/no conn - no wifi A101
HTC Hero Archos - some have it working
HTC Touch Pro2 running on Boost Mobile with latest Energy ROM DUN profile but ad-hoc Archos
LG Cookie KP 500 Archos
Moto Cliq Android 2.1 (non-rooted) Archos: A70 OS: 2.2.1
Orange San Francisco (running the jellyfish 2.2 custom rom from modaco) Archos
Samsung genio s3650 Archos
Samsung GT5230W wifi, not hotspot - won't surf Archos 101 8gb +
Samsung M510 Archos
SE Xperia Mini Pro
Xperia X10 Mini w/ Android 2.1 even with barnacle A70
ZTE F188 Archos


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 9:34 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 66
Location: Canada
mr mcgoo wrote:
Since I made a list for myself I might as well share it.

A brand new user thanks you :)

Quote:
DOESN'T WORK
Blackberry Curve 9300 Archos

I find it very hard to hide my dissapointment at not finding this post before I ordered a 43it :(. Other posts hint that's it's possible if I root the tablet, but no details that I've been able to find. Anyone know if there's any chance at all that I can get it to work?

_________________
--
GROG!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 9:59 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 8
lechuckthepirate wrote:
Dinosaur HTC G1 rooted with Cyanogen (not official) Gingerbread 2.3
Wireless Tether for Root Users
Connecting in PAN mode

Everything Ok... some weird behavior of the tethering system (sometimes it breaks and you can't enable/disable it and have to reset the tablet) but I think is more a general problem that a phone/app relative one.

Cheers


Hey there,
HTC G1 CM6.1 Froyo 2.2.1 here
Have you been successful at BT Tethering a G1 to an Archos anything? I've read online supposed posts that this works but no clear instructions, youtube has been no help either. Right now I'm looking through the forum for at least some USB tether info and came across your post. Any info would be greatly appreciated!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:05 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 1:38 pm
Posts: 16
Got my Archos 70 (completely updated) to pair with my Motorola Milestone (gsm droid), but when I try to tether it, it's not listed in the "Pair a device" list. Anybody got this working?

Andrew


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 9:52 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 8
Successfull Tether (finally!) :D
Tablet:
Archos 70SIT
Android version: Archos 2.1.8 (Android 2.2.1)

Phone:
HTC Dream (G1) Rooted
Android Version: CM 6.1.0-DS (Android 2.2.1)

Notes:
*I could not do this without the Wireless tether app (if others have please tell me how, as I have a stock G1 I'd like to test). Therefore I assume that at a minimum you need a Rooted G1 with stock OS
*For the purpose of testing and to conserve battery I have disabled wifi on both devices, I don't know if that changes anything.
*Don't use the "open garden" wireless tether on the market, I couldn't get it to work (again if others have please tell me) instead get the tried and true wireless tether for root users from: http://code.google.com/p/android-wifi-t ... 2&q=Stable
*apparently regardless of whether you select prevent device from sleeping on the a70s it will sometimes lose the connection. I came back after 15 minutes and had to restart BT and tethering on the a70s (not the whole process). you may also have to restart tether on the G1 app. takes all of 1 minute. The length of time between disconnects varies (its been 45 minutes since I reconnected).

Steps:
1) Turn on BT on a70s, start wireless tether app on G1 in BT mode (Access control enabled, Discoverable on start up enabled)
2) Tap to start tether on the G1, scan for devices on a70s
3) Pair and connect to G1 from the a70s (code 1234) and allow a70s connection from the G1 (again 1234), a70s should now read paired but not connected (typical)
4) On the a70s go to the cell phone tether menu, you should now see the HTC dream (or G1) PAN profile. Select the profile then hit next.
5) Select the Tether checkbox in the cell phone tethering menu; you may have to back out and in to see the option
*at this point the phone should vibrate announcing the a70s tether attempt.
6) In the wireless tether app on the phone go to menu > access control. check the box next to the a70s MAC address.
7) Open the a70s browser and verify internet access. Thats it.

Looking for any help with a70s USB tether to the G1 (I know wifi=nono without root). If someone can produce USB tethering instructions that work with G1 I will post a vid on both.
Also if I posted this in the wrong thread I apologize in advance. Hope this helps!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 4:42 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:04 pm
Posts: 27
Has anyone tried the New LG optimus V from virgin mobile?? Seeing how its in high demand and selling like hot cakes im assuming theres someone who has one..and might have an archos as well. and has tried to tether them. http://www.virginmobileusa.com/cell-pho ... -phone.jsp get back to me as soon as possible. :D thanks in advance


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:23 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:04 pm
Posts: 6
Hi there,
I am on Virgin I could get my phone to connect to my Archoe 101 but it would not tether, however I now find that if I turn the WiFI off on the Archos and connected my phone to the internet first I am able to tether, usually first time.

Its worth a try


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 8:08 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:09 pm
Posts: 20
Archos 70IT 8GB
Phone: HTC TyTTN II [Kaiser] Windows Mobile 6.1 (s4v Rom)
Tethers perfectly with my archos and i can tether gps as well, just need an app called GPSGate on my phone, or if I'm using Android on my phone I can use GPS2Bluetooth v.2


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 238 posts ]  Go to page Previous 18 9 10 11 12 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited