Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Thu May 28, 2020 8:23 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New firmware 1.0.70
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 5:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:58 am
Posts: 585
Location: La varenne / France
GEN 8: FIRMWARE 1.0.70

* Video: improved HD playback performance
* Video: improve MKV support (header compression)
* Video: support MPEG1 in MKV
* Video: improved lip sync
* Music: solve some MP3 tags displayed not correctly
* Camera: improve compatibility with fring video calls
* Photoframe: allow to play photos from a SD card or through USB host
* Photoframe: fixed menu cleared and redrawn when opened quickly after launching the application
* File manager: new multi selection mode
* Wi-Fi/Bluetooth: fix some reconnection issues after suspend
* Bluetooth: OBEX file transfer has been fixed
* Accessories: support more keyboards/mice in USB host mode
* Display: allow touchscreen calibration under settings/repairtools for A101/A70
* Battery: improved battery percentage report
* A28: increase UI reactivity
* Keyguard: fix unlock pattern with landscape device at boot

_________________
CORSE' WEB


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New firmware 1.0.70
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:38 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: NY
cajl wrote:
GEN 8: FIRMWARE 1.0.70

* Video: improved HD playback performance
* Video: improve MKV support (header compression)
* Video: support MPEG1 in MKV
* Video: improved lip sync


Have you applied this new firmware and if so have you noticed these video improvements?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New firmware 1.0.70
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:55 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:58 am
Posts: 585
Location: La varenne / France
yes ....
it is good

_________________
CORSE' WEB


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New firmware 1.0.70
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:33 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
Awesome, using this in upcoming video tests now.

I tried Skype on 1.0.59, it works but it's low volume for some reason, will check on this new firmware if that is fixed.

I also bought a Bluetooth headphones/headset/remote controller thing, I will test if this works awesomely.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New firmware 1.0.70
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 2:35 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 3:17 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Montreal
Just curious, what's the bluetooth device you're using?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New firmware 1.0.70
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 2:51 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
m-p{3} wrote:
Just curious, what's the bluetooth device you're using?


Media-tech MT3534, I am looking for the best possible such type of device. I'll setup a new Gen8 Accessories forum section so we can discuss about all the best accessories to use.

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New firmware 1.0.70
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 5:29 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: NY
Charbax wrote:
Awesome, using this in upcoming video tests now.

I tried Skype on 1.0.59, it works but it's low volume for some reason, will check on this new firmware if that is fixed.

I also bought a Bluetooth headphones/headset/remote controller thing, I will test if this works awesomely.


Still waiting for those video tests... :D


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New firmware 1.0.70
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
kramer28 wrote:
Charbax wrote:
Awesome, using this in upcoming video tests now.

I tried Skype on 1.0.59, it works but it's low volume for some reason, will check on this new firmware if that is fixed.

I also bought a Bluetooth headphones/headset/remote controller thing, I will test if this works awesomely.


Still waiting for those video tests... :D


My new video showcasing Google Marketplace, Bluetooth speakers, Skype, MKV 720p 5300kbit/s [email protected] with DTS audio and some 3D games is uploading right now.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New firmware 1.0.70
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 4:41 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 5:59 pm
Posts: 523
Charbax wrote:
m-p{3} wrote:
Just curious, what's the bluetooth device you're using?


Media-tech MT3534, I am looking for the best possible such type of device. I'll setup a new Gen8 Accessories forum section so we can discuss about all the best accessories to use.

http://multimedia.agito.pl/image/700x70 ... 7011.2.jpg


http://www.erwincomputers.com/er88.html

Only decent blue tooth earphones I've ever heard of.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New firmware 1.0.70
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 4:43 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: NY
Charbax wrote:
kramer28 wrote:
Charbax wrote:
Awesome, using this in upcoming video tests now.

I tried Skype on 1.0.59, it works but it's low volume for some reason, will check on this new firmware if that is fixed.

I also bought a Bluetooth headphones/headset/remote controller thing, I will test if this works awesomely.


Still waiting for those video tests... :D


My new video showcasing Google Marketplace, Bluetooth speakers, Skype, MKV 720p 5300kbit/s [email protected] with DTS audio and some 3D games is uploading right now.


I noticed in your video that when you showed the HD video list on the player it had a list of at least 3 files pertaining to the flick Inglorious Bastards. Is that because of the player's built in splitter feature for files that are above 4gb? If that's the case are all videos higher than 4gb going to appear like this in our video folder on the player (meaning a video with the same title a number of times such as in your video)?

It is VERY encouraging that it can handle this high bit rate file on the player; awaiting anxiously if it plays smoothly through HDMI as well. Great work Charbax!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New firmware 1.0.70
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 5:00 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
kramer28 wrote:
I noticed in your video that when you showed the HD video list on the player it had a list of at least 3 files pertaining to the flick Inglorious Bastards. Is that because of the player's built in splitter feature for files that are above 4gb? If that's the case are all videos higher than 4gb going to appear like this in our video folder on the player (meaning a video with the same title a number of times such as in your video)?

It is VERY encouraging that it can handle this high bit rate file on the player; awaiting anxiously if it plays smoothly through HDMI as well. Great work Charbax!


Just some quick random 200mb splitting I did to be able to test native parts of one of the 6.6GB+ MKVs I have, I did it based on the info using MKVmerge in the 720p MKV bitrate thread. I think nz said Archos will provide an easy to use splitter software, the way it'll work it'll show up as one file in Video browser mode and when playing back it will also show up as one video. My guess is the splitter software just has to be used when transfering the 4GB+ file from Windows/Mac/Linux, and that the file transfer should not take longer than it otherwise would take, so it basically isn't troublesome but just requires this splitter software to be installed on Windows/Mac/Linux first. My guess also is it beams video length in a kind of Arclib indexing file as well this is the way the video player might know the total length of the video when starting to play the first segment, unless the Archos detects and generates it by itself.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New firmware 1.0.70
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 5:39 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: NY
Charbax wrote:
kramer28 wrote:
I noticed in your video that when you showed the HD video list on the player it had a list of at least 3 files pertaining to the flick Inglorious Bastards. Is that because of the player's built in splitter feature for files that are above 4gb? If that's the case are all videos higher than 4gb going to appear like this in our video folder on the player (meaning a video with the same title a number of times such as in your video)?

It is VERY encouraging that it can handle this high bit rate file on the player; awaiting anxiously if it plays smoothly through HDMI as well. Great work Charbax!


Just some quick random 200mb splitting I did to be able to test native parts of one of the 6.6GB+ MKVs I have, I did it based on the info using MKVmerge in the 720p MKV bitrate thread. I think nz said Archos will provide an easy to use splitter software, the way it'll work it'll show up as one file in Video browser mode and when playing back it will also show up as one video. My guess is the splitter software just has to be used when transfering the 4GB+ file from Windows/Mac/Linux, and that the file transfer should not take longer than it otherwise would take, so it basically isn't troublesome but just requires this splitter software to be installed on Windows/Mac/Linux first. My guess also is it beams video length in a kind of Arclib indexing file as well this is the way the video player might know the total length of the video when starting to play the first segment, unless the Archos detects and generates it by itself.


This is AWESOME news!!! Finally a tablet (70) that will be able to play HD video (finally, most types of popular scene releases) flawlessly! Thanks again for confirming this.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New firmware 1.0.70
PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:44 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:20 pm
Posts: 73
You do realise that the Archos 5 IT could play 720p HD files. This is nothing new, hopefully the syncing should be better which
Im sure it will be.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New firmware 1.0.70
PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 5:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: NY
tscotsman wrote:
You do realise that the Archos 5 IT could play 720p HD files. This is nothing new, hopefully the syncing should be better which
Im sure it will be.


By all accounts gathered in this forum the 5 IT had the capacity to play 720p HD files but some files would show noticeable lag which to me was unsatisfactory. The new 8th generation players are showing that higher bit rate files have a much better shot at playing seamlessly quite possibly due to the much better processor.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New firmware 1.0.70
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 2:23 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:03 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Lincs,UK
also, Charbax said in his initial post 'DTS' audio - hope that wasn't just a typo


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited