Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 10:25 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 136 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
In the recent press release on support for paid-for apps in AppsLib, Archos is detailing some of the screen resolutions of the 8th generation of Archos portable tablet devices:

Quote:
AppsLib is currently looking to locate and process new applications for hosting on ARCHOSÔÇÖ next generation of Internet Tablets, soon be announced. The five new ARCHOS Android Tablets will feature touchscreens ranging from 2.8ÔÇÖÔÇÖ to 10ÔÇÖÔÇÖ in width with resolutions including QVGA (240 x 320) with LDPI density, FWVGA (854x480) with HDPI density, WVGA (800x480) with MDPI density and up to the maximum WSVGA (1024x600) with MDPI density.


What this means is Archos Generation 8 is probably going to have devices with screens around these sizes and resolutions:

- Archos 3 Android Gen8 = 2.8" QVGA 320x240 LDPI density

- Archos 4 Android Gen8 = 3.5" or 3.7" or 4.0" or 4.1" or 4.3" FWVGA 854x480 HDPI density

- Archos 5 Android Gen8 = 4.8" WVGA 800x480 MDPI density

- Archos 7 Android Gen8 = 7" WVGA 800x480 MDPI density or 7" WSVGA 1024x600 MDPI density

- Archos 10 Android Gen8 = 10" WSVGA 1024x600 MDPI density

Questions could be following:

- How many of these, are any of these using capacitive touch screens?

- Can Archos use Pixel Qi on the Archos 10 Android, it would make it beat iPad on every comparative review, last 50 hours on the battery, be usable outdoors, be usable for reading a lot, support wide viewing angles and anti-glare with capacitive touch is possible! They should do it!

Do you have better ideas of what may be the actual screen sizes, screen types and resolutions which Archos is likely going to be using on the 5 new Android tablets to come? Post here.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
Here's the list of AMOLED devices, any chance one of these screen sizes and resolutions could use AMOLED? http://www.oled-info.com/devices

My guess is Archos still uses LCD on all the devices, it's cheaper, and the 854x480 only exists in LCD I think, probably the same kind of screen as on the Motorola Droid (3.7") or on the Sony Ericsson X10 (4").


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 10:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 8:01 pm
Posts: 31
I hope the device that has the screen with the resolution 854x480 has a 3.7inch screen because then it could be a awesome alternative to the iPod touch. I have a archos 5 internet tablet and i love it but for people with an ipod a 3.7 archos would be great


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 5:31 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 5:24 am
Posts: 1
"ARCHOSÔÇÖ next generation of Internet Tablets, soon be announced"

Could this mean that an announcement about the release of Generation 8 is on the horizon? Sooner rather than later?

Another clue - J&R just dropped their price $100.

I have been sitting on the fence as to whether I should buy someone's used 5 Internet Tablet or wait for the next Gen. I think the announcement will be made before the end of the month and there's no reason to rush into anything now.

_________________
Marvin-SS


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 6:51 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Aloha Marvin-SS,

Welcome to our forum!

I just checked Amazon USA and the price there for the 32G A5A is $276, almost $100 less then their $370 long time price. If history holds the Gen8 devices may not get to the USA until mid-October.

I have a 32G A5A and an 8G 7HT and plan to add a Gen8 tablet or two. The A5A with the latest 2.0.21 is a very powerful Android 1.6 tablet. Many times I use both tablets at the same time.

The 7HT came with some major flaws from a naive Home Owner's perspective. With guidance from the ArchosFans.com Support Forum all these flaws are easily eliminated. I expect the Gen8 devices will also be released with some minor flaws. I also expect Archos to quickly release FirmWare updates as they've done with the A5A.

Ordering an A5A now AND a Gen8 tablet later may be a good option.

For those who do order the A5A now if you go to our forum's main page and order through the Amazon links on the top left our forum gets a small percentage referral fee, so you're helping to support our forum with your Amazon purchase through our link.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 4:16 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: NY
I could totally understand how AllenPapapetrou could recommend anyone to get the A5A; especially now since the prices have dropped considerably and just about all of the major flaws have been addressed through FW updates. BUT - one would have to be pretty desperate to get one of these tablets now knowing that the next generation of tablets, which are virtually guaranteed to be more powerful and offer more features, is right around the corner.

I was one of these people. I had skipped from getting this generation's tablets since I was un-satisfied as a whole with the last two generations (605 and the originally 5) of players and I don't regret it for a moment. Now I wait anxiously hoping that Gen 8 is where Gen 7 is currently but with even more stability and the ability to play ALL h.264 MKV HD videos instead of just some (because of high bit rates) as is the case in the current generation of players.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 8:44 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1773
Location: Honolulu
Don't forget cameras, which to me is higher priority than capacitive touch.

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 10:00 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
viking wrote:
Don't forget cameras


If they decide to include video cameras, that could probably be 720p ones since that is supported by the new processor.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 6:52 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:40 am
Posts: 7
I hope some models will have 3G as promised; that's why I am patiently waiting for Archos. I need a good MID that is always connected.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 3:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
Image

Updated guess:

- Archos 3 Android Gen8 = 2.8" QVGA 320x240 LDPI density = $100

- Archos 4 Android Gen8 = 3.7" or 4.3" FWVGA 854x480 HDPI density = $150

- Archos 5 Android Gen8 = 4.8" WVGA 800x480 MDPI density = $200

- Archos 7 Android Gen8 480p edition = 7" WVGA 800x480 MDPI density = $250

- Archos 7 Android Gen8 600p edition = 7" WSVGA 1024x600 HDPI density = $300

- Archos 10 Android Gen8 Pixel Qi = 10" WSVGA 1024x600 MDPI density = $350

All should/could/would have capacitive screens.

All may have 720p camcorders on the back. Mini-jack microphone input on the side? Bt Microphone can be used?

All may add electronic compass maybe also gyroscope sensors to the mix.

All may have 3G options, all can function in constant connectivity for VOIP usage, smart phone replacement mode.

All may add physical Home, Menu and Back buttons to the side.

All may playback MKV high profile 720p at full bitrates, can be formatted EXT3 or FAT32 in firmware.

All may have MicroSD or SD card slots.

Some may have mini-HDMI output and USB host on the side.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 4:05 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 8:01 pm
Posts: 31
Do you really think they have capacitive touch screens or cameras? I think that maybe the archos 5 and 10 will have a capacitive screen but that would be it, and maybe the archos 10 will have a front facing camera.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 7:49 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 6:52 pm
Posts: 7
Location: The Netherlands
I am curious whether all those models will be available in different memory(/harddrive?) configurations .
To me it would seem to complicate matters for manufacturing and keeping enough of every version on stock .

Of course I'm not responsible for Archo's logistics department ;-) , so perhaps I shouldn't moan about it.

Also I find it hard to believe there's a market for a 3" 320x240 tablet, unless it will be offered REALLY (and I do mean REALLY) cheap. To me a 3" tablet would just be a "phone that can not call". I am not yet convinced Android is the most suitable OS for a device that can only used for media playback on a small low-res screen. I could be wrong though!

I can't wait on the final details though... I really love my Archos 5 IT and can't wait to see hardware upgrades and am very interested in the bigger models.

Best regards, Vincent


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 4:10 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
vincent wrote:
I am curious whether all those models will be available in different memory(/harddrive?) configurations .
To me it would seem to complicate matters for manufacturing and keeping enough of every version on stock.


Sure but Archos is very good at having many capacities in stock.

My guess 3/4 will have 8GB, +$20 for 16GB, +$50 for 32GB

5/7/10 will have 16GB, +$50 for 32GB, +$50 for 320GB, +$100 for 64GB, +$100 for 640GB, +$200 for 1TB


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:41 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Posts: 1773
Location: Honolulu
These projected features are just amazing, that is if they aren't years away when they become more common or commoditized. Any speculation on the timeframe for gen 8 release, and what factors might determine which models are avail first?

I sense their current 10" (actually 9) line is the most dated, so would they replace that first or would it come last due to being the most technically complex? Would high end options like terrabyte storage come last? Or is it all up to the economy or snags in availability in things like software or memory components?

_________________
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
If there is a widely available 1TB 2.5" hard drive using same power consumption and in the same size as current 500GB that Archos is using on Gen7 and if the price is not too high and if availability is good, then they will use it.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 4:23 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:59 am
Posts: 2880
Location: Toronto, Ontario
I would love a 1TB Archos, but the price isn't realistic right now. A 1TB 2.5'' HDD goes for about $175 alone.

_________________
Gr.9 tech lover


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 8:23 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 2:51 am
Posts: 178
Interesting that external (USB) 1TB 2.5" drives are more widely available and are much cheaper than internal ones. On Newegg, the lowest cost external 1TB 2.5" is $100, whereas there is only one internal (WD) model for $170.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 2:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:59 am
Posts: 2880
Location: Toronto, Ontario
H.P. wrote:
Interesting that external (USB) 1TB 2.5" drives are more widely available and are much cheaper than internal ones. On Newegg, the lowest cost external 1TB 2.5" is $100, whereas there is only one internal (WD) model for $170.


That's actually true! I never noticed that until now.

So maybe 1TB might be feasible.

_________________
Gr.9 tech lover


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 3:03 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
Maybe only WD is making them and they would like to use it exclusively for their WD Passport line of products for the first few months. We would perhaps also need to check which hard drives Archos has used for Gen7, Gen6, possibly they would only work with certain brands for some reason. So the 1TB one would have to be available by that brand Archos has worked with on previous products.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 6:29 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:59 am
Posts: 2880
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Charbax wrote:
Maybe only WD is making them and they would like to use it exclusively for their WD Passport line of products for the first few months. We would perhaps also need to check which hard drives Archos has used for Gen7, Gen6, possibly they would only work with certain brands for some reason. So the 1TB one would have to be available by that brand Archos has worked with on previous products.


Archos will work with every brand, but Archos wants the manufacturer to put a special unique serial on the hard drive so we can't replace the HDD ourselves.

_________________
Gr.9 tech lover


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 136 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™