Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 9:43 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: kindle app
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:38 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:32 am
Posts: 3
I have an Archos 7 home tablet. I can't figure out how to download the kindle app & tech support didn't seem to have a clue. Can anyone help me?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: kindle app
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:26 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster
I looked it up and Kindle needs Android 1.6 to run. If you have the V1 with stock ROM you have 1.5.
So it will not show in the applibs or even in the Android market if you have a 1.5 custom ROM.

_________________
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: kindle app
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:32 am
Posts: 3
I have Android 2.1 Eclair.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: kindle app
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:31 pm
Posts: 6
I just received my Archos 7 (Eclair) tablet. It's Model A70BHT, 8 GB, Firmware version 1.0.0. I managed to get the Kindle app totally by guesswork. Somehow, I got the Amazon store onto the tablet - thru the applib, I think. Then I kept typing in Kindle until I got a screen that let me download the Amazon Kindle. I've put two book on the Archos as a trial today, and it works fine.

I still don't understand how to put movies onto the tablet. Can anyone help me? As you can tell, I need the instructions to be in basic simple language - think of it as telling your great-grandmother how to do it!


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: kindle app
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 2:21 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:32 am
Posts: 3
It sounds like we have the same one. I'm still unable to get the Kindle on mine. I have no idea what I'm doing obviously. I could be the GREAT grandmother!


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: kindle app
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 8:03 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster
Ok, let me do the steps for grandmothers :D

1. Do you have a micro SD-card for you device (memory to be inserted into the slot next to to the power switch) ?

Image
See here a micro SD-card with SD adapter.

If you have one put it in (I think it should be face to front) and push it carefully until it clicks in.
If you have none, buy one (8 to 32 GB make sense, dependend on what you would like to put on it).
It should be formattted in FAT32. You can see this by putting the card in the card-reader of your PC (take the SD adapter if necessary).

2. You can now either directly put the movie on the card from your PC or have the card inserted in your Archos and connect it to the PC. The external drives showing up in the explorer belong to the flash ram and the sd-card. First method will be easier and quicker.

3. When you reenter the card into the Archos the media library will be updated. If you now start your music/video/media-player it will list up the corresponding files. Tap to start.

_________________
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: kindle app
PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:46 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:31 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks. I could probably handle this movie download with your instructions - if I knew how to get them on to my home computer first???


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: kindle app
PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:31 pm
Posts: 6
I think this is how I got the Kindle to my tablet: Amazon.com: Appstore for Android. There seems to be as hiccup every so often. I had a book on the tablet, and the next time I tried to read it, I had a message that I would have to remove it and download it again. But it does work, and I do have a book on the tablet that I downloaded from Kindle.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: kindle app
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 7:17 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster
Another hint for you two (and probably for everyone else who reads this thread :D ).

I am using a software (freeware) called Calibre.
If you happen to come across some ebooks (free or any other 8) ) as PDF-documents, you can easily transform these into the .epub-format with this software.
You can add the cover and edit all the tags that show up later in the ebook-reader.

Highly recommend even for unskilled users.

_________________
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: kindle app
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 6:57 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:31 pm
Posts: 6
I've downloaded Calibri into my home computer, moved a book from my Kindle library into the Calibri site, clicked on the "Convert E-Book" button and watched the wheel turn. To move the book to the reader, I connected the Archos7 to the computer. Nothing. Where is the "Send to Device Button" supposed to appear? (From instruction book: "Once youÔÇÖve admired the list of books you just added to your heartÔÇÖs content, youÔÇÖll probably want to actually read one. In order to do that youÔÇÖll have to convert the book to a format your reader understands. When first running calibre, the Welcome Wizard starts and it will have setup calibre for your reader device. Conversion is a breeze, just select the book you want to convert, and click the ÔÇ£Convert E-bookÔÇØ button. Ignore all the options for now and just click ÔÇ£OKÔÇØ. The little icon in the bottom right corner will start spinning. Once itÔÇÖs finished spinning, your converted book is ready. Click the ÔÇ£ViewÔÇØ button to read the book.

Now if you want to read the book on your reader, just connect it to the computer, wait till calibre detects it (10-20secs) and then click the ÔÇ£Send to deviceÔÇØ button. Once the icon stops spinning again, disconnect your reader and read away! If you didnÔÇÖt convert the book in the previous step, calibre will auto convert it to the format your reader device understands."


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: kindle app
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 5:43 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:16 am
Posts: 9
If you are trying to use Calibre to convert an ebook purchased from Amazon, it won't work. Calibre is great at converting pretty much any format, but not if the file is DRM protected. Amazon books are DRM protected so you can only read them on Kindles or Kindle applications. The same is true for any ebook purchased from Barnes & Noble and probably every e-book vendor. However, there are tons of free books on the internet that are legally available and can be converted to pretty much any format using Calibre so you can read them on pretty much any device.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: kindle app
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 5:38 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 6:37 pm
Posts: 7
I have the apk file on a sd card but can't install it. It can't be installed. I have Android 2.1 eclair. Help!


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™