Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:23 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 199 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Android 2.1 ROM BETA 3
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:13 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:08 pm
Posts: 62
I open a new topic because I think it will be cleaner use one topic for publishing rom and users reporting bugs and continue using the "Porting AOSP above 1.5 to A7HT" for tech talk.

This image is based in lefeudedieu rom for Apad and wouldn't be possible without effort of many individuals that doesn't resign to have to buy new hardware to upgrade because some chinese lazy programmers doesn't want to give good support to their products. So everyone hail to kornyone, lefeudedieu, theplague, lakehousetech, fkcoder, mikelelere and many others that have made this possible.

Image needs serious testing, any report will be welcome. Also, we don't take any responsibility if this bricks your device, makes it explode or anything.
Also, I have only tried to update through RKAndroid , dunno if it will work ok on a direct update.

Modified from Lefeu's ROM:

Default language changed to English.
Modified touchscreen initialization parameters on boot.img so 7HT touchscreen works properly.
Changed ADW for original Launcher.
Changed LatinIME to original rk2818. This seems to not complain every system start -more testing needed-.
Replaced Market and other Google Apps for the ones used on Archos Gen8 2.1 devices. This allow us to use the internal storage on Market correctly. Testing on this apps to confirm everything works ok is needed.

Current known bugs:

Video. Kornyone, I know you are the man for this task ;)

Any help fixing the bugs will be welcome.

Currently works:

Seems like almost anything else. Please report the bugs you find.

Archos 7HT Android 2.1 Beta 3

NOTES:

- after flashing this image with RKAndroid, I always need to set the power button to the center and press the Reset button in the back or it will not power on. Don't know if it is a problem with my device or it really needs to be done this way.

- When configuring Market, it will reach a point it goes back to Home screen. Long press Home button and select the Market process. It will take you back to the Market app and ask you to Accept the license agreement.

_________________
aka MaDMaLKaV everywhere else.


Last edited by specialb on Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:20 pm, edited 9 times in total.

Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:59 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:25 pm
Posts: 290
Thanks for all the effort guys, this is amazing! I'll try it out as soon as I can

EDIT 1
One idea: for the market, you could try and contact the guy who wrote the APK for the 2.1 build on the Archos 70, it should work with little or no modifications, what do you think?

EDIT 2
Quick question (I can't help it, I'm working but I can't wait to finding it out for myself tonight hehe): how stable and fast is this build? Is it much better that the 2.2.1 that you were working on? Is the touchscreen responding as good as with the latest Archos firmware?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:10 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:08 pm
Posts: 62
pmarin wrote:
Thanks for all the effort guys, this is amazing! I'll try it out as soon as I can

EDIT 1
One idea: for the market, you could try and contact the guy who wrote the APK for the 2.1 build on the Archos 70, it should work with little or no modifications, what do you think?

EDIT 2
Quick question (I can't help it, I'm working but I can't wait to finding it out for myself tonight hehe): how stable and fast is this build? Is it much better that the 2.2.1 that you were working on? Is the touchscreen responding as good as with the latest Archos firmware?


As for Market, I have no experience with that and working on other things, so I will wait to someone step on that.

For speed, is quite fast. Stability, I haven't used it that much time to swear it is stable, but I still haven't seen any stability issue.

_________________
aka MaDMaLKaV everywhere else.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:33 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 11:07 am
Posts: 58
Hello,

great job specialb,

delighted to share knowledge :)

A community Archos thank you, without whom I could not come to this work.

Not really I use it for two days and really no stability problems.

The programs run very fast and compatibility is great.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:25 pm
Posts: 290
specialb wrote:
As for Market, I have no experience with that and working on other things, so I will wait to someone step on that.


I'm sure Himself can help us out with that and the extra app space :)


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:02 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:10 pm
Posts: 9
Firmware seems to work well. Very snappy considering it is 2.1. Great work and a big thank you to everyone who spent time on it!!

I'm not able to download anything from the preinstalled market(non-google) on it. Could be due to partition sizes from all my firmware flashes recently though.


EDIT: If anyone has the no space issue, try formatting the A7HT and then reflashing. Fixed it for me.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:18 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks to all of you for all your work.

By the way, how does one re-format the A7HT?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:08 pm
Posts: 62
Can you guys tell me if you internal flash memory mounts ok on PC? MY SDCard does but internal memory doesn't.

_________________
aka MaDMaLKaV everywhere else.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 1:25 pm
Posts: 18
great! looks like there is still hope for the AHT7!! i manage to install opera mobile, i have no problem with sdcard or internal memory. it runs kind of slow and no video is watchable, but hopefully some of you amazing guys will fix it. A big thanks to you all how work with making aht7 usable!

These are my summary/suggestion

- No video
- CPU tweak possible?
- Aldiko No access to SD card error.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:29 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:08 pm
Posts: 62
CPU tweak will require to compile our own kernel and that is not posible actually, hopes this situation about the kernel sources get solved soon. I'm working in polishing the Internal and SD recognition a little, gonna try Aldiko and see if I can fix it. Also, Gallery also seems to don't work

Is your internal memory accesible when you connect your device to a PC?

PS: are you installing Aldiko from Appslib?

_________________
aka MaDMaLKaV everywhere else.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:46 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 1:25 pm
Posts: 18
can┬┤t access the memcard via pc from now. thats strange, i was able to format and moved some mp3s when i was installing 2.1 (going from V 0.27 SamJr Yar). some new folders where created on memcard, same as lays on the internal mem. dont know what thats means.. :) anyway keep up the good work.. going to play around with this build and try out some more apps. overall im impressed! so far! :D


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:49 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 8:15 am
Posts: 18
Congrats on the beta guys! Ill be watching the forum even closer now lol! hopefully the video bug will be fixed soon thats my main use for this device. Thanks again for the work! :D =D>


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:27 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:08 pm
Posts: 62
Updated link on first post. Now it is rooted correctly and there should be less conflict between internal memory and sd card. Still can't get internal memory to mount ok on PC :(

_________________
aka MaDMaLKaV everywhere else.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:57 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 5:16 pm
Posts: 9
Great work! The ROM is almost usable. Things to fix (besides the ones already mentioned)

1) my microphone does not work correctly, seems like the frequency is set incorrectly
2) display calibration does not work
3) USB mode in settings does not work

I wish I could contribute somehow. Are there tasks you need help with?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:54 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 4:58 am
Posts: 28
Wow, just wow! I am currently selling my A7HT and this post is making me reconsider it.

It feels fast and polished. Keep the good work

Decisions, decisions...


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:34 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 8:59 pm
Posts: 2
Echolink works good but the sound for TX (sending out) over wlan is very bad. :shock:
Echolink is a software for ham-radio operators.
I think there is a problem with the soundchip driver ?
The voice like a slow robot....

Echolink needs a Firmware 1.6 or higher so i am searching about a good
Firmware like 1.6 or 2.1/2.2.
Are there a good and stable software for 1.6 avaible ? :?:

Sorry my english is not good! :cry:

Carsten with Archos 7HT
DG5BAA


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:45 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:42 am
Posts: 1
excuse me ~who can tell me how to use this file to update my archos 7 ht to android 2?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:06 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 1:25 pm
Posts: 18
found on forum.

1. Download RKAndroid from http://hiapad.com/?p=801&lang=en#more-801
2. Lock the screen (push the power button to the right)
3. Press the reset button (its located on the back of your 7HT) for a few seconds
4. Connect the Archos through USB. If its not recognised, you have to install the drivers manually (they are bundled with RKAndroid, on the Drivers folder. I wasn't able to install in a 64bits Vista setup, but it works in a 32bits Windows)
5. Open RKAndroid, select the update.img file, and press Update
6. Follow the instructions and wait for the program to finish
7. Disconnect the tablet from USB, unlock it
8. Wait for the new image to finish installing


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:18 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:18 pm
Posts: 22
I'm having trouble with the Kindle application. It isn't able to download/open any of the books on the "archive" section. Also, without access to internal device, it may not be possible to add books manually.

When I first installed, I had a message that the SD card was damaged. After I few tries I realized that what I needed to do was to take the card out, then under "settings" press format SD card, and then insert card, and now it reads it fine.

Someone suggested here (and in some of the other entries in the forum) that re-formatting the A7HT would help with space (i.e., by getting rid off the clutter from multiple flashes). I have seen some of the suggestions in the other entries of the forum how to go about it, but the instructions are a bit above my head. Would it be possible for someone to create a package that we could run from Windows (for instance, using RKAndroid) in order to re-format the device prior to flashing the roms?

Thanks again for all your dedication and hard work.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Android 2.1 ROM BETA
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:26 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 11:07 am
Posts: 58
Hi,

I managed to integrate all Google applications, the market works perfectly.

And this is the last Market v2.2.6 :
Image

v2.2.6:
ÔÇó Refund window changing to 15 minutes
ÔÇó New carousel with featured apps on main page
ÔÇó Widgets and Live Wallpapers categories added
ÔÇó Related content added to app page
ÔÇó Single page app viewing, all info in one place
ÔÇó Max size for apk files increased from 25 MB to 50 MB


A few loose ends to upload a new beta 2.1.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 199 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™