Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon May 25, 2020 9:16 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 707 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 636 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:30 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:51 pm
Posts: 139
Allen:

Thanks for the lucid explanation - perfectly clear now and I can't wait until himself produces the aforementioned image. Turns out, that for the $, the 7HT is quite a nice gadget - will tide me over until a good Windows tablet emerges.

oldest geek!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 4:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Hi Former CEO,

You're very welcome. After researching Windows Tablets and seeing the price drop on the Archos 9, from $550 to $400. I took the plunge. I'm glad I did. I'll replace it as soon as a better tablet comes out. The same as replacing the 7HT.

For now I'm very satisfied with the A9. Thursday, my new jwin bluetooth stereo headphones came in and it works with my A5A, my iPad and my A9. Nice!!!

I'm running Win7 Starter Edition on the A9 and won't change any time soon. The A9, for me, is a great intro tablet for Windows tablets. Kinda like the way I see the 7HT as a great intro to Android tablets, at least when it first came out.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 7:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 4:04 pm
Posts: 27
Are there any Google apps in this ROM? My 7HT will be here today and I am trying to decide which ROM would be best for me. I have to have GMail, Google Cal and contacts. I am torn between:

* Operation Unbrickable: The quest for Google Apps, v 3.0
* Operation "I still haven't bricked this?: The quest for root, v 2.0 (version 2.1 installation seems a little harder and unsure if Google apps are included in the ROM)
* Yet Another Root'd update.img available, v 0.04

I would like to have the market, but since I am new to the 7HT, I really don't know what to expect and if it is really needed.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Robert


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 7:37 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 4:24 pm
Posts: 30
Quick question:
Is possible to have Google market without additional things like gmail etc...
Because after I installed SirDom firmware (the one with just gmarket) my archos started to wake up more often than it was before...
It seems like all "additional" google "services" wake ups it...
But gmarket is cool :) ....

I'm thinking about returning to original one... But this seems to be fine (it has NFS preinstalled to watch video)...

Dmitry.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 7:40 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 4:24 pm
Posts: 30
realsol wrote:
Are there any Google apps in this ROM? My 7HT will be here today and I am trying to decide which ROM would be best for me. I have to have GMail, Google Cal and contacts. I am torn between:

* Operation Unbrickable: The quest for Google Apps, v 3.0
* Operation "I still haven't bricked this?: The quest for root, v 2.0 (version 2.1 installation seems a little harder and unsure if Google apps are included in the ROM)
* Yet Another Root'd update.img available, v 0.04

I would like to have the market, but since I am new to the 7HT, I really don't know what to expect and if it is really needed.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Robert


Hey Robert,
I you don't need "root" and increased app space (default about 30mb) go with The quest for Google Apps, v 3.0 - it works well and install quickly... I have it, works without any problems :).

Yet Another Root'd update.img available, v 0.04 - does not have gmarket yet...

The quest for root - it's not harder ... it's just contains to stages :).

Dmitry.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 8:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 4:04 pm
Posts: 27
Thanks DMitry;

With the "The quest for root", v2.0, it looks like it has the Google Apps. Doesn't mention if it has the Market or not. Does it? Does version 2.1 of this ROM still have the Google Apps and Market?

Thanks for your help. UPS should be here anytime. Broke my Ankle on Tuesday, so I have plenty of time this weekend to play.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 9:27 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 12:51 am
Posts: 204
UPDATE:

Still more testing to do, everything works fine when it overwrites itself, it is going from stock rom or from some other rom that I have to make sure of and from a blank /flash. Nothing worse than releasing some software and having a million people saying they are having problems, that happens anyway, but I can try to minimize it. :) I have the wifi mod included, and it does preserve wifi settings between flashes, extra apk files get copied over to flash/Apps. I have various scripts available in the recovery image to avoid typing cat /proc/mtd followed by a reference to /dev/block/mtdblockX over and over again, instead it's format.sh cache or mount.sh userdata.

App size will be slightly less to accommodate another system partition and keep the same offsets as Sirdom's 0.21 rom. If this becomes a problem we can go with another offset for /flash. I am working with the theory that it is the size and not the offset that causes issues with partitions, I have tried various sizes, but multiples of 0x1E000 seem to work better than random values. I have run multiple tests with the badblocks utility and it always returns clean results unless the partition is off in the numbers, having 2048 bad blocks seems suspicious to me, 193 or 5893 something maybe, not a binary border.

I did up a wakelog application to log how long the tablet sleeps at a time. It will be included, but you can check it out HERE.

As for market, with the system read write you can add that after flashing, so perhaps some markethack file ala the 5 inch internet tablet would work with it so it could just be another add in under /flash/Apps. I too would prefer just the market and not all of Google's API's, but not sure that is possible.

I would recommend people get familiar with ADB in case things go wrong, you can get it by installing the Android SDK for either windows or linux, I am using ubuntu 10.04 on a netbook right now, I had it installed under Windows XP as well. Trick is to add the a7ht 0x0e79 device id to usb_adb.ini under ~/.android for linux and under documents and settings/username/whatever/.android under windows.

Cheers!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 10:14 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Aloha Himself,

Thanks for the update. Exciting stuff.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 10:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 4:24 pm
Posts: 30
realsol wrote:
With the "The quest for root", v2.0, it looks like it has the Google Apps. Doesn't mention if it has the Market or not. Does it? Does version 2.1 of this ROM still have the Google Apps and Market?

I think yes. Since it was done by SirDom after Quest for google apps, so I'm pretty sure there are all google apps package inside including gmarket...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 3:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 12:51 am
Posts: 204
Hi,

I left my tablet on all last night and WakeLog, see above, reports that it didn't wake up once. It was just suspended, no lock on, wifi was enabled, and AppsLib is installed.

388 minutes, 6 seconds. Whatever that is in hours..

So, my guess is that short of installing something that wakes up the tablet, it's fine.

Cheers!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 3:54 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 430
Location: Derby, UK
Himself wrote:
Hi,

I left my tablet on all last night and WakeLog, see above, reports that it didn't wake up once. It was just suspended, no lock on, wifi was enabled, and AppsLib is installed.

388 minutes, 6 seconds. Whatever that is in hours..

So, my guess is that short of installing something that wakes up the tablet, it's fine.

Cheers!


WOW, even more reason to say..."can't wait for you update.img"

_________________
Archos Elements Titanium 97HD


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 5:52 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 12:51 am
Posts: 204
Uhm, check the first post of this thread? :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 6:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 430
Location: Derby, UK
Wow, that was quick.

Thanks to Himself, I'm downloading as I type and will report back.

Again thanks.

_________________
Archos Elements Titanium 97HD


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 6:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 430
Location: Derby, UK
Finished downloading and now flashing.

Been through Red Smoke twice and now on Grey Smoke Gears.

Looking good.

_________________
Archos Elements Titanium 97HD


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 6:52 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 11:05 am
Posts: 21
Could you please include ad-hoc support? See patches from other threat. Thanks in advance
viewtopic.php?f=59&t=36728


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 6:55 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 430
Location: Derby, UK
Finished.

Worked perfectly.

SDCard Mounted straight away.

App Space=140Mb

_________________
Archos Elements Titanium 97HD


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 7:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Thanks for the report ViPaSoft! Seems like Himself has done a great job.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 7:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 12:51 am
Posts: 204
Avenger 2.0 wrote:
Could you please include ad-hoc support? See patches from other threat. Thanks in advance
viewtopic.php?f=59&t=36728


Hi,

Just use the scripts in that thread, I already made the changes to boot.img for that.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 7:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 430
Location: Derby, UK
No Market is the only fault, (fault in the liberal term). Anyone know of a market app? I've tried MARKET4ARCHOS and it doesn't install

What is the size of the new wallpaper. I only have 800x480 installed. Does the movable wallpaper work with any.

Works really smoothly.

_________________
Archos Elements Titanium 97HD


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 7:39 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:51 pm
Posts: 139
Just installed V0.15 - very nice indeed and showing 133 Mb out of 157 Mb in AppManager 0.5. Had a few force closes with Archos' music app otherwise nothing else seems wrong. Very smooth.

BTW, does anyone know where android music player stores playlists? I can't seem to find them - I prefer the Google app over the Archos music app (although both are cumbersome). Can anyone recommend a good mp3 player app - I have absolutely no need for getting stuff online - I just want to use mp3's on my SD Card.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 707 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 636 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited