Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:46 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 12:54 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 6:02 pm
Posts: 345
So when I used my HT today, I got the message that the Swype trial period has ended. I went to the website and it says that open beta is closed, but existing users can login and download the latest file. Does anyone have access to that?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 2:46 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 9:02 pm
Posts: 54
I got the same thing on my ht and my phone!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 3:26 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Diknak wrote:
So when I used my HT today, I got the message that the Swype trial period has ended. I went to the website and it says that open beta is closed, but existing users can login and download the latest file. Does anyone have access to that?

I hope Swype isn't a paid app.

Ya'll know our policy: No Free Download Links for Paid Apps.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 7:51 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 7:25 am
Posts: 132
Swype is, like many others, a paid app that comes as a trial. Somehow going beyond that trial period without paying isn't cool. But if you only offer that unmodified trial version you should be fine. Is there no ad-supported version?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 9:26 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Not much room on the on-screen KB for a banner ad... :D

Michael


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:35 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 7:25 am
Posts: 132
map002 wrote:
Not much room on the on-screen KB for a banner ad... :D

Michael

Could be arranged :P


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 2:14 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 6:02 pm
Posts: 345
me1ne wrote:
Swype is, like many others, a paid app that comes as a trial. Somehow going beyond that trial period without paying isn't cool. But if you only offer that unmodified trial version you should be fine. Is there no ad-supported version?


The last I heart, it was still in beta, so it isn't a paid app, because there is no way to obtain it. If someone is part of the beta, they can get the APK file and provide it. Once it becomes paid (if it is to be a paid app), then we can remove it from the wiki as a download.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 2:23 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 9:45 am
Posts: 197
map002 wrote:
Not much room on the on-screen KB for a banner ad... :D

I'd make the whole SPACE an ad... ;o)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 6:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 4:38 pm
Posts: 21
I also had my 'trial version' expire on my 7HT and my Nexus One, and was extremely bummed. About an hour later I received an email from Swype saying that they had opened up a new beta for Swype on the Android. Quite a coincidence, but I'm not complaining.

A few months back I had applied for the Android beta program at Swype's website, but was told that the beta was currently closed. It looks like they have reopened it, and you can apply at Swype's website if there are still spots available. Go to https://beta.swype.com and see if they are still taking applicants, they said it would probably only be for a few days. As of this moment, the link is still accepting applicants.

Their main business model is to license the software to OEMs, they still have not decided if they will offer it as a stand-alone app. So get it while you can....

Mike


Follow me on Twitter as ThatGeekGuy
http://twitter.com/thatgeekguy


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 7:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 6:02 pm
Posts: 345
wow, that site must have heavy traffic right now. It keeps timing out and taking forever to load once it finally does.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited