Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:55 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How can I play movies
PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:54 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:51 pm
Posts: 4
Hi
I got the Archos 3 vision for xmas but I can't get movies onto that I can play. Keep getting File error. Please help


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:53 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 8:50 pm
Posts: 6
The files have to be in AVI format, this thread might help - it helped me.

viewtopic.php?f=53&t=29785

:idea:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 6:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:51 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks for the quick reply I will take a look tonight. =D> =D> =D>


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 7:54 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:51 pm
Posts: 4
Sorry I still not getting what to do. Where should I get the films from and once I have downloaded on utorrent what to I do then :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:20 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 118
Location: Gateshead
As Shaunio stated, the files should be AVI.

Are you downloading .rar files from your site? if you are then you need to unrar them, making sure that theey are AVI
and not MPEG4 etc.

If they are AVI just drag and drop into your video folder on the 3


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:38 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:51 pm
Posts: 4
I will keep trying but I don't really understand what I am trying to do. I need an idiots guide from start to finish :( :( :( :( :(


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 8:23 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 8:04 pm
Posts: 2
.avi format is essential. I wanted to play video recorded with my Archos TV+, but got no
sound; turns out that the Archos 3 cannot play the compressed form recorded by the TV+.

After much frustration, I located software called "Any Video Converter" for the Macintosh. I
use it to produce .avi format with mp3 sound. Advantage: if you set it to 320x240 (no point
in going any larger given the Archos 3 screen size), the file size is reduced by about 60%
from the original 830 MB on the TV+.

I thought I'd screwed it up because the first file had very bad sound synchronization, but
I think that was actually how the cable system delivered it. The next video file is nicely
synched.

It takes about an hour to convert an hour-long TV program on my Mac G5, however...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited