Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Thu Apr 02, 2020 12:44 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 6:06 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 12:17 am
Posts: 14
So do i uninstall Security Center Platform or Security Center or do i uninstall both? When i uninstall these the Anytime upgrade should work right?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 8:30 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 1:08 am
Posts: 34
You will need to uninstall the HP Security Centre (both). This is the application that you created a system image with. **If you uninstall this application, you will lose the ability to restore the device.** The reason why this will cause the anytime upgrade to fail is because it will not proceed if it detects a 'recovery partition'.

You will need to disable the Microsoft Security Essentials processes in Windows itself using Administrative Tools: System Configuration, Modify boot settings. I am still not sure to this day if it was the root cause of my upgrade issues, as I was not systematic in making changes to my setup because I was growing frustrated with the 3.5hr install/reversions...

When I upgraded, it took approximately 10 minutes for the screen to change from 'verifying key' to 'updating Windows'. There will be three or four system resets, and then percentage progress. You won't know if you are successful until you pass 38%. This is approximately 1.5 hours in. If it is unsuccessful, you will have to wait approximately 2 hours for the system to revert.

Also, you should have updated all your drivers to the latest available from the archos.com site, and you should also have downloaded all required updates through Windows Update.

Good luck!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:51 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:58 pm
Posts: 268
I don't know if this would help but when I did the Anytime Upgrade on my A9 I used a USB drive with Win7 set for Home Premium [see this url for reference http://tinyurl.com/msmorz]. I took about a half hour (if that) to complete the process. I wish now that I documented the process but just wanted to get it over and done with at the time.
I wonder if there is a problem with network communications causing the 38% stoppage. Even at that, the Port Replicator might not work because it needs drivers to function.

_________________
SteveB
A9 Win7HP
A32 A70-8v6 UD1.6


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited