Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Thu May 28, 2020 3:34 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:37 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 1:08 am
Posts: 34
Hi all, first post.

I recently purchased the Archos 9. After upgrading Windows and trying to use the handwriting OCR, I discovered there is an area of the screen, approximately 1 inch tall and 3 inches wide, about 1 inch from the left of the screen edge and about 2 inches from the top of the screen edge (literally almost exactly where the handwriting window appears when it is set to float), that is extremely insensitive to touch.

I was wondering why I was having so much difficulty writing so I moved the window around and discovered other areas of the screen were responding much better. I recalibrated numerous times, did the linearization numerous times, and it didn't alleviate the problem. It is readily apparent when you open the Galaxtouch 'draw test' and do a series of loops all over the screen using constant pressure on the stylus. The line drawn is solid elsewhere on the screen, but when it hits this 'dead spot', the line breaks, or the stylus is only detected sporadically and leaves a single pixel mark.

I just received an RMA from Archos USA, but before I spend the money to courier the tablet, I was wondering if some of you could try the 'draw test' to see if it might be an 'undocumented feature' inherent to all the Archos 9 screens, or if my unit is truly defective.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 10:18 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 10:44 pm
Posts: 22
No, I don't have this "feature" on mine.
Have you tried to re-calibrate the screen?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 6:47 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 1:08 am
Posts: 34
Yes, I am running the beta HID driver available from the Archos.com site. I uninstalled and installed the older driver and I still experienced the issue. I have cleared and recalibrated the screen numerous times.

I will send it in...


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:08 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 1:08 am
Posts: 34
In case anyone is wondering, this is what it looks like:
Image

I used the stylus to create lines using equal pressure and constantly in touch with the screen.
I have this 'dead spot' in the middle, which isn't sensitive to input :evil:


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Thanks for the photo!

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited