Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Wed Jun 03, 2020 2:35 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: touch screen outside
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 7:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:52 am
Posts: 7
has anyone else had trouble using the touchscreen outside? I can still use the optical trackball, but the touchscreen does nothing. if i go back in the house, it works fine again.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: touch screen outside
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 7:44 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
I haven't checked. I live in Hawaii. What are the outside conditions where you live?

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: touch screen outside
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 7:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:52 am
Posts: 7
right now it is overcast and not terrible bright. but if I go out side the touch instantly stops working, come back in, works again. I hought maybe the opticle mouse was causing it ( light saturated or something) but even if I cover it, the touch is no worky.

I just checked, and infact, if you hold it under a lamp, it wont work either. any bright light effects it


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: touch screen outside
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:13 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 3:42 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Glendale, Arizona
The sunlight issue is a known one.

Go here -- http://www.archos.com/support/support_t ... g=en&#driv
and under drivers, download the new bios which fixes this problem.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: touch screen outside
PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 11:14 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:11 pm
Posts: 175
Location: The Netherlands
yup it's the sunlight, put some blacktape on your mousepad and the touchscreen will work properly outside.
Btw, the bios driver didn't help for me.

_________________
Archos 9 owner


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: touch screen outside
PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 3:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 3:42 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Glendale, Arizona
The bios fixed mine. I use it in an airplane cockpit in direct sunlight all the time.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: touch screen outside
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 6:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 6:30 pm
Posts: 4
The new bios driver fixed this problem for me too. Runs smooth now outside.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: touch screen outside
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 4:46 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:11 pm
Posts: 175
Location: The Netherlands
i updated it and it still won't work properly in the sunlight.
Did you guys download the Bios driver from the Archos site?

_________________
Archos 9 owner


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: touch screen outside
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:42 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 3:42 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Yes

Here is another link to the page.

http://www.archos.com/support/support_t ... g=en&#driv


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: touch screen outside
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 1:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:11 pm
Posts: 175
Location: The Netherlands
piperkid wrote:
Yes

Here is another link to the page.

http://www.archos.com/support/support_t ... g=en&#driv



I installed it again, and it works.
Thanks

_________________
Archos 9 owner


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited