Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Wed Jun 03, 2020 12:52 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:23 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3332
Location: essex uk
hi guys
thought i would let you know about the issues im currently having.
i left my a9 in standby, anyways, after 24 hours i went to reboot, the power was still flashing at this point.
the machine started up and got just past the archos screen then went off.
i changed the battery for a fully charged one and went to re boot.
no dice, the machine goes into recovery and then says its unable to repair.

i lost the recovery section when i upgraded to home premium so couldnt reset.

im now waiting for a port replicator to arrive so i can try to put on xp again - last time i tryed it wouldnt go past the first blue set up screen, but i think they may have been because no keyboard was detected.

so dont ever reboot your machine if you suspect the battery is low on the internal cells, the a9 seems to be more suseptable to crashing at this point than a normal pc. if you think the battery maybe low or have been on suspend for a long while just plug it in before you boot, it will save you heart ache and hours of your life lol.

why archos removed hybinate is beyond me, it would have stopped this crash for a start and generally make the a9 a nicer machine to use.
roy

_________________
COYI


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:02 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
This is not good. Thanks for the warning Roy.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 2:45 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:14 am
Posts: 140
Hey Roy,
I think you made a little mistake here.
Normally, if you shutdown Windows in a weird way (like you said), next time you reboot the device, it will open a menu in DOS. in that menu, there are 2 items:
1. Start windows normally
2. Repair/recover...
I don't remember exactly but it should look something like that.
If you have upgraded your OS, then 2nd option will lead to the problem you said. (unable to recover)
Therefore, when this menu appear, you MUST choose the 1st option (start windows normally)
I don't think the charger is the problem.
Regards.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 7:10 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3332
Location: essex uk
nope no joy with any options, i know the recovery menu your talking about and it wont enter that, it will just say its unable to boot then runs a scan then says it cannot fix.
nevermind i wanted to put the faster xp on eventually anyways, so when the port replicator turns up in the morning thats what i will be doing, fun :(
at least with with xp you can easily rebuild the mbr if there is a problem
the charger isnt the problem its the batterys exhausting when on standby (archos fault for removing the hybinate feature - thanks guys .....), from now on i will always completly shut down or have the thing suspend when pluged into the mains
roy

_________________
COYI


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 5:19 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:14 am
Posts: 140
hey roy,
archos driver sucks in XP.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:13 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3332
Location: essex uk
hallua wrote:
hey roy,
archos driver sucks in XP.

what driver? maybe there is a hacked driver i can play with...
im still waiting on the postman to drop off my port replicator so i still have a dead 9 sitting here, i didnt realise just how much i used the little thing, every time i post now i have to use this old big beast as the mrs has my samsung nc10
roy

_________________
COYI


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 1:18 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:14 am
Posts: 140
In my experience with XP on the 9, its bluetooth and wifi drivers suck. Graphic also bad. It took me too long to rotate the screen. I did not feel ok with those at all. I think the only thing the 9 needs is an SSD and Opera. People blame gadgets like A9 sucks on Win7, I found Win7 is perfect (ofcourse with an SSD on those).
if you have got an USB hub, you can install XP from the USB stick. The hub is needed for the keyboard.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited