Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Thu Apr 02, 2020 1:48 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 86 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:40 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:46 pm
Posts: 2
I spent hours on the Anytime upgrade problem, installing multiple times always stopped at 38%.

Eventually I found that if i updated all the drivers (VGA, Touch, basically everything that Archos has a driver for...) and then ran Anytime Upgrade it worked perfectly.

Since then ive carried out the instructions from Step 5 onwards and am now working happily with Win 7 Home Premium.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:39 pm
Posts: 29
Aweston wrote:
I spent hours on the Anytime upgrade problem, installing multiple times always stopped at 38%.

Eventually I found that if i updated all the drivers (VGA, Touch, basically everything that Archos has a driver for...) and then ran Anytime Upgrade it worked perfectly.

Since then ive carried out the instructions from Step 5 onwards and am now working happily with Win 7 Home Premium.


Hmmm, did you manually upgrade all the drivers or did you do it through Windows Upgrade? If manually, did you get all these off the Archos site or would you mind directing me to where best to find them? Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:45 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:32 pm
Posts: 30
I am very happy with my A9 now that I have managed to get all the features of windows 7 to work. Unfortunately I am experiencing regular hanging of the system with the only option of switching off by pressing the on/off button. Luckily I have only been surfing the web or using control panel but worries me if I want to work on documents etc.
Has anyone else experienced this problem or have ideas why it might be happening?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:59 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:39 pm
Posts: 29
Just to clarify and answer my own question above, I was likewise finally able to get Windows Anytime (Ultimate) to work only after installing all the drivers, as well as running Windows Update. In restrospect, I'm wondering if it was the system updates that fixed something and allowed it to go through. Either way, just wanted to confirm it did work.

Still having some trouble with the touch interface but I'll keep working on that.

@MikeyS, haven't had any regular hangs as of yet, but it's still early for me.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:37 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:15 pm
Posts: 2
MikeyS, I too have been experiencing frequent system freezes that require a hard shutdown via the power button. It seems that it has been when I have the system plugged in. Does this happen when you are plugged in or not. I am not sure if it is because of the system resources getting overloaded or what the deal is. Others who are having issues should comment as well.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:04 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:26 pm
Posts: 134
100% repro with the snip Tool, just try and Capture a window = system Freeze.

I Guess. its the viD Driver but im not sure


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:41 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:12 am
Posts: 10
I have Win7 Professional installed on my Archos 9. I installed Intel Media Accelerator driver 5.2.1.2020 and eGalax touch driver Win7_5.6.0.6806. Archos9 behaves better, but doesn't turn Archos 9 to a "true" Tablet PC. I can use all tools including Snipping Tool without a problem. But when I uninstall eGalax touch Win7_5.6.0.6806 and install HID_Digitizer_x86_PS2_090918_Beta-NewLogo(turns the Archos to a true Tablet). I get all kind of problems. System performance is slow. Snipping Tool freezs the Archos 9.

Now I would like to try, Win7_5.7.0.7301_091130 driver, will that fix the problem? Could it be Intel Video driver? Any thoughts?

With eGalax

Thx BV.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:52 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:32 pm
Posts: 30
I'm still having problems with the system hanging. The last time it happened, I couldn't even turnoff the A9 with the on/off button, I had to remove the battery!
The system seems to hang when l am using a scrollbar with the stylus.
Anyone got any ideas why scrolling with the stylus should cause the whole system to hang?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:16 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:12 am
Posts: 10
Looks like HID_Digitizer_x86_PS2_090918_Beta-NewLogo touch driver and latest intel video driver 5.2.1.2020 have conflicts and causing Archos to freeze. Archos 9 hangs with HID_Digitizer_x86_PS2_090918_Beta-NewLogo and intel video driver 5.0.0.2015 too. Below is my testing with different drivers:

video drivers touch driver working?

5.0.0.2015 win7_5707301091130 no
5.0.0.2015 Win7_5.6.0.6806 no
5002015 HID_Digitizer_x86_PS2_090918_Beta-NewLogo Freezes(works like a true Tablet)
5.2.1.2020 Win7_5.6.0.6806 ok(Pen and touch not crisp)
5.2.1.2020 win7_5707301091130 ok(Pen and touch not crisp)
5.2.1.2020 HID_Digitizer_x86_PS2_090918_Beta-NewLogo Freezes(works like a true Tablet)

Hopefully, if there is a better version of HID_Digitizer_x86_PS2_090918_Beta-NewLogo, then that might help.

VB


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:36 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:12 am
Posts: 10
I installed HID_Digitizer_x86_PS2_090918_Beta-NewLogo touch driver and latest intel video driver 5.2.1.2020. I also followed the steps to minimize background processes to minimum (http://snowulf.com/archives/637-Optimiz ... books.html). My memory usage is around upper 400MB to lower 500MB. I am making sure to use power supply when I am using memory hungry apps like MS Word, Mind Map tool etc etc. While on battery mode, I am planning to use Archos 9 for pdf reading and web browsing. Will keep you posted with my Archos 9 performance.

VB


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:12 am
Posts: 10
This tool seems to work great to prevent Archos 9 to freeze. It manages the memory, cpu and other resources very well. It is free for first 9 days and later it is $16.99/3yr subscription. I am trying this out. Let know if anyone out there has better alternative solution.

VB


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:24 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:12 am
Posts: 10
http://www.memoryimprovemaster.com/


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:42 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:12 am
Posts: 10
MikeyS, my Archos9 hangs, when I scroll, especially in Control Panel. This happens inspite of running that memory manager tool, I just mentioned. Anyone out there have a fix for the - scroll hang problem?

VB


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:12 am
Posts: 10
System hangs with hand recognition too.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 3:41 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:31 pm
Posts: 589
Is there any chance Windows 7 Starter can handle the tablet touch drivers? I know it doesn't come with the true tablet capabilities, but I'd like to avoid having to pay for another copy of Windows as I just bought a device with it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 5:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:12 am
Posts: 10
Looks like my Archos 9 hanging problem is fixed. This is what I had done:
1. Connect a Flash Drive to the USB on Archos (make sure the flash drive is formated). I am using a 4GB Flash.
2. In windows 7 (Professional) on Archos 9: Start->right click on Computer->click on Advanced system settings->click on Advanced Tab-> In Performance section click on Settings button->In Visual Effect Tab, select Adjust for best performance radio option. Click on Advanced Tab in Performance options window-> select virtual memory->click change button->uncheck "Automatically manage paging file size for all drives". Click on Custom size: Initial size: 1550 and Maximum size to 1550. Reboot the system. Make sure to remove the flash drive, when the system is booting or else archos 9 will look for OS on flash.
3. Once Archos 9 is up, right click on the flash drive, and click on properties, click on ReadyBoost tab and select "Dedicate this device to ReadyBoost" and make sure to use all of flash drive space (scroll the slide bar to far right in Space to reserve... section).

Now try using applications with scroll, hand recognition works great. NO HANGING BUSINESS. Let me know if ReadyBoost worked for you. This is a Vista/Win7 feature. Check this site out : http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/wind ... readyboost.

VB


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:27 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 5:05 pm
Posts: 16
I have done all of the steps as per outlined in previous posts countless times.
When I try to run HIDeGalaxTouch (V2.3.0.2115) the box opens up but none of the calibration choices are available.
They are all grayed out.
Upgraded to Home Premium

What am I doing wrong?
Thanks for any help.
P.

Everything is working fine.
I just dont get the tab on the left side for the keyboard to scroll out


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 4:31 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 5:05 pm
Posts: 16
never mind, i had not removed the original driver. now i get the tablet features turned on. however... it hangs on occasion and its not running as well.
i might just go back to what i had.
original along with grab and drag add on in firefox works great.
all i need to do is change the mouse pointer and that will do it until the HID/video drivers get better


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:34 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:26 pm
Posts: 134
the freezing can be worked arround by static set Page file and readyboost. not overly sure why this works but i guess its a memory load the graphic card is using on the system memory as I suspect it shares its emmory with the system...scrolling and big window captures demand alot of memory quickly so i guess it s conflict some wher ethere.

i plan to use a perm microsflash reader in the usb slot (sticks out 4mm) with a 16GB microSD card for readyboot and general storage. an 8GB HD movie will fit nicley on it :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:09 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 8:33 pm
Posts: 3
boysie123 wrote:
the freezing can be worked arround by static set Page file and readyboost. not overly sure why this works but i guess its a memory load the graphic card is using on the system memory as I suspect it shares its emmory with the system...scrolling and big window captures demand alot of memory quickly so i guess it s conflict some wher ethere.

i plan to use a perm microsflash reader in the usb slot (sticks out 4mm) with a 16GB microSD card for readyboot and general storage. an 8GB HD movie will fit nicley on it :)


Let us know which one works.

thanks


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 86 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited