Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Tue Dec 10, 2019 5:29 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 214 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 511 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 3:29 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:18 pm
Posts: 6
I tested both with i8042.noaux=1 and i8042.nomux=1
They both appear to work as in the touchscreen and trackpoint both seem to give some feedback, even though I was unable to calibrate it and get the axis right


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:42 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 74
rsousa wrote:
I tested both with i8042.noaux=1 and i8042.nomux=1
They both appear to work as in the touchscreen and trackpoint both seem to give some feedback, even though I was unable to calibrate it and get the axis right

You don't (or should not?) have to use =1. i8042.noaux or i8042.nomux will suffice. I was able to calibrate the touchscreen while booted with i8042.nomux


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 1:01 pm
Posts: 5
Just using i8042.nomux seems to get the touchscreen and mouse working, but unfortunately the touchscreen is recognised as a trackpad, and hence I get relative motion. Is there any way to force the touchscreen to go into absolute mode?

I've tried on karmic, lucid and mint 7, all with the same results. Has anyone managed to get a working solution? I would try installing intrepid, but for some reason the installer hangs. If anyone could confirm that it works on intrepid, I would be happy to try the install again. I don't really want to use Fedora as I feel more comfortable with apt/deb based systems.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:03 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:18 pm
Posts: 6
Try to install the drivers from here http://210.64.17.162/web20/eg/drivers.htm


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:07 pm
Posts: 24
How long time work archos9 with Linux?
I have - 2h.50min maximum (Ubuntu & Fedora)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:45 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:18 pm
Posts: 6
I never tried it continuously but if I recall correctly, a fresh battery charge estimates about 4h.
I'll checkit later today when I get home.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 9:59 pm
Posts: 3
Can someone confirm if the onscreen keyboard is built into the unit or if the button just calls the windows 7 one? I'm seriously considering one of these but I'd prefer to run Ubuntu9.10/Mint8 or newer at least as a dual/tri boot.
Also I wonder if swapping the HD for a solid state would improve battery life? This is the first thread on the forum I've read so I'll poke around some more but the touch screen in linux would be be a deal setter for me.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:39 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 94
JoeAvery2 wrote:
Can someone confirm if the onscreen keyboard is built into the unit or if the button just calls the windows 7 one? I'm seriously considering one of these but I'd prefer to run Ubuntu9.10/Mint8 or newer at least as a dual/tri boot.
Also I wonder if swapping the HD for a solid state would improve battery life? This is the first thread on the forum I've read so I'll poke around some more but the touch screen in linux would be be a deal setter for me.


the onscreen keyboard is running in windows 7, if you run linux you need to use another one


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:59 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:07 pm
Posts: 24
http://florence.sourceforge.net/english.html

best on screen keyboard


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 8:25 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 9:59 pm
Posts: 3
vl4doman wrote:
the onscreen keyboard is running in windows 7, if you run linux you need to use another one

Thank you, and thank you Sigurd for the OSKeyboard link.

Too bad that arch didn't try to have a built in OSK, I can envision a small flash chip or micro, maybe the touch screen controller, that when the keyboard button is pressed it pushes up a built in OSK that any OS would interpret as a real USB or built in keyboard.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:38 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:07 pm
Posts: 24
I build a deb-package Florence Keyboard for Ubuntu 9.10

link for download = http://depositfiles.com/files/gmmm02aed


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:20 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:06 am
Posts: 5
Did anyone of you try Moblin? Maybe the IVI Version which has GMA500 support?

http://moblin.org/
http://moblin.org/projects/2.1-ivi-fc-release


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:18 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:07 pm
Posts: 24
No GMA500 support in 2.1
Promise in 2.2


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:08 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:06 am
Posts: 5
The IVI version of Moblin has GMA500 support.

http://moblin.org/projects/2.1-ivi-fc-release

Unfortunately this version does not have the new UI because it is designed for car systems and most car vendors want their own gui anyway. Maybe it is possible to use the drivers of the 2.1-IVI release for the normal 2.1 release.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:30 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 74
I've tried the ivi version a while ago and got a garbled screen. I'm not sure is the GMA500 driver was actually loaded but normally there are specific parameters in xorg.conf needed to get it working, at least that's the case with the Poulsbo driver from rpmfusion.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:06 am
Posts: 5
I'm currently building a customized moblin 2.1 release with the drivers from the IVI version. I will give it a try as soon as my Archos 9 arrives (hopefully tomorrow).

I read in another thread that you got your touchscreen to work. Which driver did you use, the egalaxy one?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 8:21 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 74
Temar wrote:
I'm currently building a customized moblin 2.1 release with the drivers from the IVI version. I will give it a try as soon as my Archos 9 arrives (hopefully tomorrow).

I read in another thread that you got your touchscreen to work. Which driver did you use, the egalaxy one?

Yep, I used the binary driver from eeti.com.tw. I just checked, there are new drivers (version 3.00.3719 from 2010/01/20). Will check them out if anything changed (probably only support for newer X versions).


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 9:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:07 pm
Posts: 24
2lintweaker:

How you run psb driver in FC11?
I have this leads to a crashing X and bla-bla messages in dmesg after insmod psb. (((
xorg.conf is correct (autocreated by psb-config-display)
Ubuntu9.10 and mandriva2010 - same effect = crashing X or suspend black screen.
I used FC11 after a full update system (include rpmfusion)

what magic? :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:16 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 74
Sigurd wrote:
2lintweaker:

How you run psb driver in FC11?
I have this leads to a crashing X and bla-bla messages in dmesg after insmod psb. (((
xorg.conf is correct (autocreated by psb-config-display)
Ubuntu9.10 and mandriva2010 - same effect = crashing X or suspend black screen.
I used FC11 after a full update system (include rpmfusion)

what magic? :)

It was a bit fiddly to get going because of mixing i586 and i686-PAE packages which was a bit messy. I am not sure if I am using the auto created xorg.conf or a manually created one, I think it's the latter. Maybe you can check out http://www.happyassassin.net/2009/08/10/intel-gma500-poulsbo-on-fedora-11-repository-with-working-3d-compiz-support/ for some tips.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 7:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:52 am
Posts: 36
Location: Vienna, Austria
For all of you interested in Ubuntu 9.10 on the Archos 9:

I managed to install it an get Bluetooth, WiFi, Sound up and running without problems. Bluetooth and Sound worked out of the box, for WiFi I just temporary plugged in a cheap WiFi adapter I knew ubuntu would work with, clicked my way to "System, Administration, Hardware", Ubuntu told me I had Broadcom WiFi and suggested downloading the propriatry drivers, I did, plugged out the WiFi USB adapter I had used for downloading the Broadcom drivers, rebooted, everything worked fine!

Now Display Drivers, Touchpad and mousepad to go...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 214 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 511 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited