Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:59 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 214 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 711 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2010 8:55 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:53 am
Posts: 78
Again,

I found this :
http://linux-tipps.blogspot.com/2009/12/x-video-finally-works-linux-on-msi-wind.html
http://linux-tipps.blogspot.com/2009/12/vaapi-accelerated-hd-video-on-msi-wind.html

It confirms that psb drivers on recent kernels don't really fit on the A9 (and MSI Wind u110 which share the same problem).

I'll stick on 8.04 ... too lazy to take time recompiling :(


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 8:53 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:33 am
Posts: 39
screenshots are always fun...

Image
Normal desktop with florence. As you can see florence covers the screen and sits in the way often.
Firefox has grab-and-drag, meerkat and fission loaded as extensions.

Image
Rotated using the blue arrow icon. It actually launches a script that also moves the icon-panel to the bottom.
Also look at how 'maximus' does a nice job hiding the window frames and optimizing screen realestate. I had to patch maximus because it always forced florence to show the window frame.

-Yves


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 10:25 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:53 am
Posts: 78
Thanks, quite motivating !

Is "maximus" a part of Netbook Remix packages ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 3:08 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:33 am
Posts: 39
From the documentation it's clearly written by someone at Canonical. License is GPLv3

-Yves


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 11:08 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:33 am
Posts: 39
I patched florence some more so it could act as a panel. it pushes the window like it does with some applications on windows.
The nice thing about this is hat it is now much more handy to have a giant onscreen keyboard.
Image

-yves


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 9:52 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:53 am
Posts: 78
Hi,

yvesdm3000 > The ubuntu 8.04-4 installer doesn't show my HDD, that's crazy ...


lintweaker > I managed to compile kmod-psb against my Fedora11 2.6.30 kernel with the modification I mentioned a few post above and ... It works ! I can detail if someone is interested.



Next step : touch screen ... the calibration software works, but is really really slow. It's unusable.


To continue ...


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 6:24 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:33 am
Posts: 39
Did you use the remix flavour?
That is the one with all the poulsbo stuff in it...

http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download-netbook

I also added the dell repository for the psb packages, including working 3D:

user@tabletpc:~$ cat /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://netbook-remix.archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ hardy main universe multiverse restricted
deb-src http://netbook-remix.archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ hardy main universe multiverse restricted

deb http://netbook-remix.archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ hardy-updates main universe multiverse restricted
deb-src http://netbook-remix.archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ hardy-updates main universe multiverse restricted

deb http://netbook-remix.archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ hardy-security main universe multiverse restricted
deb-src http://netbook-remix.archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ hardy-security main universe multiverse restricted

deb http://netbook-remix.archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ hardy-netbook-base main universe multiverse restricted
deb-src http://netbook-remix.archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ hardy-netbook-base main universe multiverse restricted

deb http://netbook-remix.archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ hardy-netbook-remix main universe multiverse restricted
deb-src http://netbook-remix.archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ hardy-netbook-remix main universe multiverse restricted

deb http://netbook-remix.archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ hardy-dell-mini main universe multiverse restricted
deb-src http://netbook-remix.archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ hardy-dell-mini main universe multiverse restricted

deb http://netbook-remix.archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ hardy-dell-mini-proposed main universe multiverse restricted
deb-src http://netbook-remix.archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ hardy-dell-mini-proposed main universe multiverse restricted

user@tabletpc:~$

I only had to add the egalax driver and compile wl.ko myself. There was a big issue with the shipping wl.ko, i will post a more complete howto in a couple of days. I will reinstall it anyway as i need to update the firmware. There is some firmware that fixes the sunlight issue. For a long time i noticed the touchscreen freezing from time to time, i assumed it was the beta version of the eGalax driver, now i know it is an external factor: the sunlight that shines on the optical mouse

-Yves


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 5:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 5:29 pm
Posts: 7
I look forward to the guide. I might join in on the party, once my Archos 9 gets here.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 11:01 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 2:29 pm
Posts: 18
yvesdm3000 wrote:
do you have the psb kernel modules installed? This is what i have on my remix 8.04:


I've not got anything installed at the moment - I'm trying to install Mandriva 2010.0 from the Live USB.

It claims to be PSB compatible out of the box.

Because it's on the Live USB, and because I can't even get into the installer without it dropping the X Server session, I can't go any further!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 12:23 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:33 am
Posts: 39
I just installed Ubuntu netbook 10.04 which is pretty recent.
These are the steps i took (i simplified somewhat since i also had to figure things out):

1. Download ubuntu-netbook 10.04. Follow instructions at
http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download-netbook
and build a USB-stick using their instructions.

2. Download the wireless firmware files and put them on the USB-stick too. There are numerous ways to do that. Using my other ubuntu machine i installed them there first using this command:
apt-get install firmware-b43-installer
Resulting firmware files will be in /lib/firmware/b43.
Copy the b43 directory onto the stick

3. Bring the stick to the Archos-9, boot from it and install ubuntu 10.04

4. Copy the b43 directory from the stick to /lib/firmware

5. Reboot and setup your WIFI network connection

6. You should be in a semi working ubuntu now, in VESA mode.
Install the Poulsbo VGA drivers using this command:

wget http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1338581/Gma500/ ... o_lucid.sh && bash ./poulsbo_lucid.sh

(source of this information: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/HardwareSupport ... rdsPoulsbo)

7. I added this section to xorg.conf to be able to use ctrl-alt-backspace in case something goes wrong

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "DontZap" "False"
EndSection

8. Reboot: Working poulsbo !! Pretty nice snappy user interface.

9. Open firefox and go to

http://home.eeti.com.tw/web20/eGalaxTou ... Driver.htm

and download the touchdriver. I used the beta version.

Perform these commands in a terminal shell:
cd Downloads
tar vxfz eGalaxTouch-XXXXXXXX.tar.gz
cd
cd eGalaxTouch32
sudo ./setup.sh

** choose PS/2

** Edit /etc/default/grub and add " i8042.nomux " to the option GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT

Perform command:

update-grub

** Edit /etc/rc.local and add this before the "exit 0" line:
if ! test -c /dev/serio_raw0 ; then
echo -n "serio_raw" > /sys/bus/serio/devices/serio1/drvctl
fi
**

10. Reboot system

I hope this helps people!

-Yves


Last edited by yvesdm3000 on Wed May 19, 2010 12:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 12:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 2:29 pm
Posts: 18
Sounds promising!

I currently have Ubuntu 10 installed - but have never used it as I couldn't get the graphics to work.

I am, though, now left with an un-usable Archos 9... the power port on the side seems to have broken inside and I can't charge!
Spoke to Archos and I should receive instructions today on how to send it away for repair under warranty.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 7:48 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:53 am
Posts: 78
How ..

Still stuck with my touchscreen problem ... so, I'll give it a try

Thanx Yves


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 8:03 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:53 am
Posts: 78
Yves,

Could you post your xorg.conf eGalax part ?

I got this error :
(II) XINPUT: Adding extended input device "egalax" (type: egalax)
[dix] couldn't enable device 2
[dix] couldn't enable device 2

Seems that nomux option doesn't do the job under Fedora ...


PS : sorry, but I got the "redhat" spirit due to my job, so I can't stop trying :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 10:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:33 am
Posts: 39
This is my part in xorg.conf

## Touch Configuration Beginning ###
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
InputDevice "EETI" "SendCoreEvents"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "EETI"
Driver "egalax"
Option "Device" "/dev/serio_raw0"
Option "Parameters" "/var/lib/eeti.param"
# Option "ScreenNo" "0"
EndSection
## Touch Configuration End ###

make sure /dev/serio_raw0 exists and is the right device. You'll absolutely need the nomux kernel option. serio_raw0 gets created after doing this:

if ! test -c /dev/serio_raw0 ; then
echo -n "serio_raw" > /sys/bus/serio/devices/serio1/drvctl
fi

It might be serio0 or serio2 in your case, it seems to depend on what kernel you're running.

In my original ubuntu 8.04 installation (non upstart, old initscripts) it was not good to put it in rc.local as it was run after gdm started so i put it in the gdm start wrapper. In the new upstart event based startupscripts way, rc.local works like a charm.

To check if it is the right device, you can cat the device, if any data comes back when touching the screen, you're good.

-Yves


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 10:52 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:53 am
Posts: 78
Okay,

/sys/bus/serio/devices/serio1/drvctl is the AUX PS2 port, I think this is good.

/dev/serio_raw0 is not created by the modification of rc.local, so ... In fact, the touchscreen is /dev/event3 (got it via cat'ing it).


I'll try to find the right file to put those lines.

Thanks for the tips.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 6:16 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:33 am
Posts: 39
can you issue this command:

echo -n "serio_raw" > /sys/bus/serio/devices/serio1/drvctl

and see jf you have a /dev/serio_rawX ?

also make sure there is a module serio_raw in lsmod ?

I'm pretty sure /dev/event is a different interface and wont work...

user@tabletpc:~$ cat /sys/bus/serio/devices/serio*/description
i8042 KBD port
i8042 AUX port
user@tabletpc:~$
user@tabletpc:~$ lsmod
Module Size Used by
aes_i586 7268 1
aes_generic 26863 1 aes_i586
sco 7885 2
fbcon 35102 71
tileblit 2031 1 fbcon
font 7557 1 fbcon
bitblit 4707 1 fbcon
softcursor 1189 1 bitblit
psb 146509 3
drm_psb 178790 3 psb
agpgart 31724 1 drm_psb
i2c_algo_bit 5028 1 psb
binfmt_misc 6587 1
ppdev 5259 0
bridge 45582 0
stp 1655 1 bridge
bnep 9436 2
l2cap 30624 3 bnep
snd_hda_codec_realtek 203168 1
snd_hda_intel 21877 2
snd_hda_codec 74201 2 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep 5412 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss 35308 0
snd_mixer_oss 13746 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 70662 3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_dummy 1338 0
snd_seq_oss 26726 0
snd_seq_midi 4557 0
snd_rawmidi 19056 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event 6003 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 47263 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
arc4 1153 2
snd_timer 19098 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device 5700 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
snd 54148 16 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
b43 157218 0
video 17375 0
lp 7028 0
uvcvideo 56990 0
mac80211 204922 1 b43
output 1871 1 video
psmouse 63245 0
soundcore 6620 1 snd
btusb 10925 0
bluetooth 49892 6 sco,bnep,l2cap,btusb
videodev 34361 1 uvcvideo
v4l1_compat 13251 2 uvcvideo,videodev
cfg80211 126485 2 b43,mac80211
serio_raw 3978 1
i2c_isch 3311 0
led_class 2864 1 b43
snd_page_alloc 7076 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
parport 32635 2 ppdev,lp
pata_sch 1963 2
ssb 37336 1 b43
user@tabletpc:~$



-Yves


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 9:15 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:53 am
Posts: 78
How

I do not have the serio module in lsmod ...

I read the eGalax manual some times ago, and tried to compile my 2.6.30 kernel with the correct parameters, but those were already set when configuring the sources. And "/sys/bus/serio/devices/serio*" was present, so I thought it was ok ...
I tried the calibration tool too (TKCal) and it starts with '/dev/serio_raw0' parameter (but does not work) even if it is not present in /dev. If I try with /dev/toto, il says "not found" ... I was happy with that.

However I began with a 2.6.29 kernel which has been updated to 2.6.30, so maybe the 2.6.30 source configuration is not representative of my compiled kernel parameters.

Damn :)

The "echo" command launched with root returns "permission denied".

For fun, I tried /dev/event3 in xorg.conf and ... it's worse. All eGalax tabs are grey when opening the software.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 9:00 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:33 am
Posts: 39
did you try the echo on any other serio like serio0 or serio2 ?

If that doesn't work then there is definitely something wrong with your kernel...

You should have this in your config:

CONFIG_SERIO=y
CONFIG_SERIO_I8042=y
CONFIG_SERIO_SERPORT=m
CONFIG_SERIO_CT82C710=m
CONFIG_SERIO_PARKBD=m
CONFIG_SERIO_PCIPS2=m
CONFIG_SERIO_LIBPS2=y
CONFIG_SERIO_RAW=m

and do a modprobe of serio_raw

-Yves


-Yves


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 5:09 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 5:04 pm
Posts: 3
Got working around and i finally was able to run UNR 9.10 with wifi, poulsbo AND touchscreen working as it should
(not like a touchpad with absolute clicking stuff). It was a long way to get it all but it is quite easy when you got all the good links !
I will make a small tutorial on "How to get a working UNR 9.10 on your Archos 9 tablet ?" pretty soon (hopefully this w.e.).

Cheers


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 7:39 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:53 am
Posts: 78
It works ! My touchscreen works !

The only missing thing was the modprobe. Thanx again to yvesdm3000.

The serio_raw was not loaded. But when I load it via 'modprobe serio_raw', I lose my trackpad (as mentionned earlier in the post) and the line added in the '/etc/rc.local' creates the /dev/serio_raw0 device.

So, I finally added two lines in my /etc/rc.local :
modprobe serio_raw
echo -n "serio_raw" > /sys/bus/serio/devices/serio1/drvctl

And my xorg.conf file is pointing the /dev/serio_raw0 device.


But I don't know why this module is not loaded by default.

Compiz and Touchscreen are working with my Fedora 11, I'll play now with HD (mplayer & vaapi).

By the way, Ubuntu seems to be the easiest way ...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 214 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 711 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited