Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:49 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Archos 18 vision
PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 9:16 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 9:05 am
Posts: 1
I have a newly-aquired Archos 18 Vision (A18VB) and am having problems.

Under the directory 'Music' I've created 'Classical', and under that 'Schubert', then 'Impromptus', then that directory has 8 MP3 files in it.

However whilst I can happily play them from the Archos using WMP when it's connected to my PC, it won't play them. It gives an error 'Warning - no file'. I was wondering if the very long file name is the problem e.g.

O:\MUSIC\Classical\Schubert\Impromtus\01 - Impromptu op.90 (D.899) - No.1 in C minor - Allegro molto moderato.mp3

but renaming down to (e.g.)
O:\MUSIC\Classical\Schubert\Impromtus\No.1 - Allegro molto moderato.mp3

didn't help.

Spaces are not the problem - it happily plays the demo tracks which have spaces in the file name.

However I can't find any information on maximum file lengths, nor can I find anything else that gives me a clue - I've tried Google with the error message.

Does anyone know what might be going on?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos 18 vision
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:53 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:39 am
Posts: 5
Archos 18 Vision
I have similar problems. I believe its something to do with the way Archos reads ID3 tags. Sometimes it just accepts what ever info iTunes passes over and sometimes not.

Even when I complete the tags on those files not properly cataloged to the same standard as those it does, it makes no diffference.

However the file browser does recognise what ever file structure I create thro Win Explorer, so I am thinking I wont bother with the music catalogue 'function'....non function would be a better description and just use the file browser.

I'm almost certain this a software failure by Archos, but I can find no firmware update, not suprising really since the product isn't even listed.

Its a pity really 'cause otherwise its a nice piece of kit. But I guess at under £40 there's probably not too much profit it making it work as it should, a dumb philosophy because I now wont buy an Archos tablet, or any other of their products for that matter.

UPDATED 1 March 2011

I'm using iTunes as a Media Manager (suprise suprise) iTunes uses id3v2.2 when it writes the tags it adds a comment, "iTunes_CDDB_IDs", which you can't (or at least I can't) see in iTunes.

I only discovered this when I downloaded a tag editor (there are plenty as freeware) to edit the tags, simply deleting this comment seems to allow Archos 18 Vision to read them.

But there are some anomolies,

1 the song title Archos displays is NOT the song title in the id3 tag it is the mp3 filename - fine be me since iTunes has already ready added the track number to the filename, thus making sure tracks are played in the right order.

2 the genre classification seems to have a problem with some symbols eg it does not like the / in Pop/Funk, Pop Funk or PopFunk are OK.

I havent tested colons dashes or undrscores, but now you know there is a potential issue, you'll be able to fix it if there's a problem.

3 The Title, Artist, & Album options on the Archos can display upto 17 charachters before scrolling, the max length is greater than 30, thats plenty for me, if the names are too long they just get cut off.

OK that seems like you have to do a lot of work to fix things up so they work like they should.

Fortunately you dont, iTunes allows you convert its id3 tags from the default format they use v2.2 to an earlier one, the previous version they list is v1.1.

So I tested reverting my tags to v1.1 on one cd (a new WinXP folder is created as a result), and loaded it on to the Archos, the tags were read as they should be, without me doing anything else.

So the message is, to get your tags to work on Archos 18, simply use iTunes to revert the tags to v1.1.

Its a pity Archos could not have provided this simple piece of information themselves.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos 18 vision
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 8:06 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 4:04 pm
Posts: 3
OMG this is a definite software problem. I have a postgraduate degree in IT (a UK postgrad degree - i.e not post high school in the US!, but post 5 years at University) and have done courses in software development and testing and I can tell you that the Archos 18 Vision software is the absolute worst I have ever encountered. It would be so simple to upgrade the firmware or software to solve these problems but Archos seem not to care about their MP3 players. If you don't believe me, check the forum categories. What category is your MP3 player in? General? Everything not covered elsewhere?

I have emailed Archos twice about an Archos 18 Vision I bought 3 months ago and they haven't bothered to get back to me.

I have a web site where I give massive free publicity to businesses who provide crap service and Archos are next on my s***t list.

I do think though, that the Archos 18 Vision arranges tracks, (insanely and stupidly) in order of Windows filename as long as the filenames are properly arranged alphabetically. This is sorting aimed at the lowest common denominator - people who know nothing about tagging and MP3 editing - and is making life difficult and, in some cases, impossible, for the rest of us. If you use your Archos Vision to listen to audiobooks, you are f*****d.

The ARCHOS 18 VISION seems to have been programmed for morons. RUBBISH!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos 18 vision
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 4:23 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Posts: 1
Biggest problems with the Archos 18 vision:
- files are not sorted ( 01 - intro.flac, 02 prelude.flac)
- mp3 files have no volume in the beginning, I miss
the first 2 seconds on every mp3 track (not on flac or ogg)

These are painful enough to beg for a firmware upgrade.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos 18 vision
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:39 am
Posts: 5
Its a month since my original post. I am now more familiar with the Archos Vision, I actually quite like it !! I use it for 4 or 5 hours a day mostly to listen to mp3's and sometimes to the FM Radio.

I can get all my files properly sorted by Artist/Album/Genre.

The most important thing I've learned is the importance ID3 tagging.

I use iTunes as a music manager but iTunes apparently uses an outdated version of ID3 Tags, so it is not suprising that this causes problems.

I use a freeware product Mp3tag to convert the itunes tag format since you can do a bulk conversion this is not a hassle.

If your tracks are not going into the Artist/Album/genre you want its your tags that are the problem...edit them outside itunes !!

You may have noticed that when itunes sorts alphabetically it ignores 'The' so for instance 'The Beatles' is under 'B' 'The Jam' under 'J' this seems to cause problems for Archos, the solution is simple..I just use 'Beatles' or 'Jam,The' as band name formats.

My biggest complaint about the Archos is the lack of adequate documentation.

Thro trail and error experimentation I've managed to solve alll my problems (except 1 - see below)..its tedious, dull, boring.... but it was worth the effort given the amout of use I make of the unit.

The only problem I havent resolved is how to prevent a random episode of a podcast being shuffled into my listening.

If anyone wishes to post a query here I'll see if I had that problem and what I did about it.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos 18 vision
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:39 am
Posts: 5
cats_five wrote:
I have a newly-aquired Archos 18 Vision (A18VB) and am having problems.

Under the directory 'Music' I've created 'Classical', and under that 'Schubert', then 'Impromptus', then that directory has 8 MP3 files in it.

However whilst I can happily play them from the Archos using WMP when it's connected to my PC, it won't play them. It gives an error 'Warning - no file'. I was wondering if the very long file name is the problem e.g.

O:\MUSIC\Classical\Schubert\Impromtus\01 - Impromptu op.90 (D.899) - No.1 in C minor - Allegro molto moderato.mp3

but renaming down to (e.g.)
O:\MUSIC\Classical\Schubert\Impromtus\No.1 - Allegro molto moderato.mp3

didn't help.

Spaces are not the problem - it happily plays the demo tracks which have spaces in the file name.

However I can't find any information on maximum file lengths, nor can I find anything else that gives me a clue - I've tried Google with the error message.

Does anyone know what might be going on?


I dont have much knowledge about classical music. However I dont think Archos 'sees/reads' windows folders in this way.

When I look at the folder structure on my Archos, I can see it has automatically created folders for each band/group and subfolders for each album, the filename for all my tracks includes a track number and are listed in number order....with this exception all this info comes from the id3 tags.

So for the situation you describe I think the genre tag would be classical

The artist tag would be Schubert

The album tag would be Improptus


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos 18 vision
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:39 am
Posts: 5
JazzSupahhStahh wrote:
Biggest problems with the Archos 18 vision:
- files are not sorted ( 01 - intro.flac, 02 prelude.flac)
- mp3 files have no volume in the beginning, I miss
the first 2 seconds on every mp3 track (not on flac or ogg)

These are painful enough to beg for a firmware upgrade.



My filenames are generated thro iTunes they all include a track number. The track no is not included in the id3 tag name for the track. Although I do use the track number id3 tag.

Under any given album I have no problem seeing tracks sorted into number order.

I have noted that changing a filename or track id3 tag directly on the Archos does not always change the sort order.......you need to make changes on your pc and rewrite the file(s) to the Archos.

So far as the loss of the first 2 secs, I have seen posts elsewhere that this sometimes happens to iTunes imports from cd, the suggested solution is to re import !!

So this could be a wider issue than just the Archos.

I have been trying different copying strategies to identify anomlies.

Copying 14 tracks each with a track no in the filename.

Now usually when I copy a folder I would use 'select all'...for whatever reason windows copies the 14 track first to Archos then tracks 1-13.

The windows folder is sorted in track no order, this strange behaviour does not seem to relate to file size or to the date modified or date created.

Irrespective of what I do thro Winxp to the album folder on the Archos when I disconnect the device and open the album folder on the Archos the tracks are displayed as 14 then 1-13 no suprise I guess.

So the file sort on the Archos is screwed !!

However if I click in the iTunes album folder window and highlight the last track first ie no 14 and subsequently highlight the rest in REVERSE order windows copies the files 1 - 14 and Archos displays them correctly.

[@Ariane, this reverse order approach worked for me on 130 episode podcast, so I guess it would work for audiobook chapters too]

So my simplistic explanation is that Archos does what windows has told it to do when the files are copied. To make Archos display them correctly it is not enough to make sure the source folder displays the right order you also need to check the order in which windows copies the files.

Someone with more knowledge than me may be able explain why windows behaves this way.

EDIT - a proper solution
Google has the answer !!
http://thedailyreviewer.com/xphelp/view ... 1011270043

My 'reverse order' works 'cause the file I right click on to copy is track 1....the last one highlighted and thats where windows starts its copying !!

In other words you can copy as normal PROVIDED your source folder is correctly sorted AND you right click on the file you want the copy to start with.

Ive tested this, I highlighted 8 tracks (the max for an Archos screen) right clicked on track 4.
Windows copies 4 to 8 then 1 to 3, and that is exactly the order the Archos displays.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos 18 vision
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 4:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 3:58 pm
Posts: 22
i have an Archos 1 Vision player 4gb and in a rush I STUPIDLY disconnected it from the computer beforer the message said it was safe to do so. The player still shows the songs that are on it, but when I try to play them it simply states "Attention! no file!". When I plugged it back into the comuter to have a look at the files, the file names were replaced by squares etc. The computer wouldn't let me delete the files either. I don't know what to do now. It is a fairly new player which I received as a gift so really hope that there is a simple solution. When I got the player it was recognised by the computer and there was no need to put a disc in to run a program etc so there is nothing to uninstall if that is of any use??

Dashquid
fatlossprofessional.co.uk
fatlossprof

essional

mobilehelper
securetrip
whichpetcover
google
abc
facebook
craigslist


Last edited by framework on Sun Oct 14, 2012 5:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 3:51 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 3:18 pm
Posts: 1
Hi Folks

It took me awhile to figure out how to sort the tracks. The method isn't easy but it works. It takes more than a few minutes but it's better than pulling your hair out. (I think! - IMHO).

It's easiest when the tracks are already transfered to the player.

I will try and explain here though some may need to see images to make it easier to understand. I have it all explained at my web site www.lougogan.com/archos

I will put basic info here and if you need extra help go to the site.

If you use folders
~~~~~~~~~~~
Connect the player to the computer etc. Use a file explorer program to go to that particular CD's folder. Go INTO the folder. Create a new folder and name it TEMP. Drag each track, one by one, in the order you wish them to be played into the new folder. When you are finished all you should see is the new folder TEMP. Cut that folder (select the folder, go to the EDIT menu and choose CUT). Move up in the directory (folder) tree and paste it there (it's difficult for me to explain how to do that, it depends on the file explorer program you are using). Then delete the original (now empty) folder and rename the TEMP folder to the original name of that CD etc. Before you spend more time on all the other folders check it out to make sure this works for you.

If you do not use folders
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I use folders for my music but this should work. Connect the player to the computer.

There are 2 methods:
Method 1:
When you go to the mp3 player you should see a few folders MUSIC, VIDEO, IMAGES, etc. Rename the MUSIC folder to TEMP. Create a new folder and name it MUSIC. So now you should see the folders MUSIC, VIDEO, IMAGES and TEMP. Then drag all the tracks, one by one, in the track order (not necessarily Album by Album) from the TEMP folder to the new MUSIC folder. I think it should work if, for example, you dragged all track 01s, then 02s etc together.

Method 2:
Use a file explorer program to go to the MUSIC folder. WITHIN the music folder create a new folder TEMP and drag all the tracks, one by one, to that folder. It should work correctly after that but if you want you could then, after checking all is ok, drag them from that TEMP folder back to the main MUSIC folder. I don't think it makes any difference if all the tracks remain in the TEMP folder, forever.

I hope this works for you.

After sorting out the tracks on my Archos player my life has one less frustration in it - only another few thousand more to go!

Cheers

Lou


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos 18 vision
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 6:25 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:39 am
Posts: 5
@Lou

Your solution may well work I havent tried it, and may meet specific needs I dont have. My suggestion is much simpler for most people and does work, you just need to understand the Windows (in my case WinXP), copying process.

In brief, Windows starts copying with the last file clicked, then continues in the the folder sort order. So 1. sort your Win folder as you want it to be on Archos. Then 2. Make sure your last click before copying is on the FIRST file you want to be copied.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited