Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon Jan 27, 2020 10:49 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:05 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 1:45 am
Posts: 6
Hi Archos fans,

Can you please help with some questions on the A5IT?

I recently got an Archos 5 IT 500GB(or A48IT not sure). Really like it, except that it feels like having a small running motor in my hands all the time.

I also have an Archos DVR station that works fine on my old A5IT 32GB. But sadly this does not fit in my 500GB.

-Is there a different version of the DVR Station for the 500GB device?

-I want to remove android and put SDE. Can I use my DVR station with the SDE?

Thanks
m


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:11 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 1:45 am
Posts: 6
Figured out the answer to one:

-Is there a different version of the DVR Station for the 500GB device?
--->The 500G version has a dock adapter. In the DVR station, the doc fitting the 32gb can be removed and the one fitting 500GB can be put in.
Pretty neat.

IF someone knows, pls help with my 2nd query.

Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:05 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:59 pm
Posts: 513
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Should fit either model. Just take out the adapter and the 500gb should fit ok with careful placement.

Edit - noticed you answered this already. Be careful with sde. When there were many around here to help it was ok but if you run into trouble you will likely be on your own these days. Not sure if dvr works with sde.

_________________
Andrew
500gb a5a
G9 80 16gb 4.0.28


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 12:23 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 1:40 pm
Posts: 2
Small running motor is of course the hard drive motor. It sometimes stop.

I did upgrade my 5IT to SDE and Froyo and Gingerbread.

Upgrading to SDE doesn't make you earn something other than losing the unit's warranty. Everything is working as they should. BUT,

If you upgrade yor Android to Froyo or Gingerbread, you will lose everything including the Archos Tools, bluetooth, AND your docking station will become a big and very expensive BATTERY CHARGER.

After the upgrade, you will feel that your entertainment gadget is not entertaining you anymore you will see yourself always dealing with bullshit problems. Your device will become a laboratory test device which have no other use.

In a few days, after having angry times with what you had done to your lovely unit, you will downgrade the unit to its original state and feel happy ever after. :)

I absolutely not recommend these upgrades.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited