Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Fri Jan 24, 2020 8:16 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: mainboard broken!
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:49 pm
Posts: 3
Hey everyone,

Does someone have a spare archos 5 it (harddrive version). Or does anyone know if I could buy a new mainboard for my archos. I love the device and I want to use it again.

If nobody knows it, i'll put mine on sale for some hardware if anyone wants it ;)

Please help me out with it.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: mainboard broken!
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:50 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm
Posts: 1019
Where are you?

When you say "spare", do you mean fully working, or do you want to gat spares from it?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: mainboard broken!
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 9:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:49 pm
Posts: 3
I'm living in The Netherlands, with spare i mean the full mainboard, i don't like to solder the tiny bits... and i even don't know which part is broken...

And yes the mainboard does have to work, otherwise it will be useless for me.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: mainboard broken!
PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 6:01 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:08 am
Posts: 82
You can still find a few of these out there... mainly on Ebay, but some retailers still have some in stock. I'd buy a new device, personally... and then "part out" my old device. There's a lot of demand, especially around here, for the bits and pieces of these devices. Or you may keep the old device for a spare-parts supply for yourself.

I'm sure that you'll never find a replacement PCBA by itself at this point, unless it's from someone else "parting out" another failed device. If someone smashed their screen, for example, the mainboard will likely still be in good shape. But the mainboard and storage drive would need to be kept together unless you've installed an "unlocked" OS, I believe.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: mainboard broken!
PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2012 11:55 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:49 pm
Posts: 3
Yes that was exactly what I was hoping for, not that someone broke his device. But when, that he wants to sell the mainboard.
Surely I can forget it, i'm flying to Ecuador Monday-morning, don't think I will have a spare one by then.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited